cept for an interval of four years has been associated with the department of mining and metallurgy since 1900.

THE AMERICAN MEDICAL ASSOCIATION AND THE ANTI-TRUST LAW

ACCORDING to press reports a Federal jury on April 4 found the American Medical Association and the Medical Society of the District of Columbia guilty of Anti-Trust Law violation, but acquitted eighteen individual defendants in the case. The jury deliberated about eleven hours.

The government charged that the two organizations and the individual physicians entered into a conspiracy in restraint of trade and interfered with operations of the Group Health Association, a cooperative organization giving medical service to government employes for a monthly advance fee.

Defense attorneys contended that the practice of medicine was not a "trade," as defined in the Sherman Anti-Trust Act. Defense witnesses testified that they did not act in conspiracy in declining to cooperate with Group Health.

The original defendants in the indictment, returned in December, 1938, included the Harris County Medical Society, Texas, and the Washington Academy of Surgery, but Justice Proctor ordered their acquittals on the ground of insufficient evidence.

On April 5 the counsel for the American Medical Association announced that it would contest the verdict.

Among those acquitted are the following officers of the American Medical Association: Dr. Olin West, secretary and general manager; Dr. Morris Fishbein, editor of the *Journal* of the association; Dr. William D. Cutter, secretary of the Council on Medical Education and Hospitals; Dr. Rosco G. Leland, director of the Bureau of Medical Economics, and Dr. William C. Woodward, formerly director of the Bureau of Legal Medicine and Legislation.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Academy of Arts and Sciences has awarded the Rumford gold and silver medals for 1941 to Dr. Vladimir Kosma Zworykin, director of the Research Laboratory of the Radio Corporation of America, in recognition of his work on photocells and their application, the development of television and of the electron microscope.

THE bronze medal for distinguished literature in the field of nature was presented to Louis J. Halle, who wrote "Birds Against Men," by the John Burroughs Association at the annual meeting of the association which was held at the American Museum of Natural History on March 29.

THE Wildlife Society has made its annual award for the outstanding paper of the year 1940 to Dr. Paul L. Errington, Mrs. Frances Hamerstrom and F. N. Hamerstrom, Jr., for their research bulletin on "The Great Horned Owl and Its Prey in North Central United States." The award is in the nature of an engrossed scroll and a citation in *The Journal of Wildlife Management*.

FOR his series of studies in the financing of European school systems, Dr. Fletcher Harper Swift, professor of education at the University of California at Berkeley, has been given an award of merit by the American Educational Research Association. This work was made possible through grants from the General Education Board and the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

At the annual general meeting of the British Institute of Chemistry the Meldola Medal was awarded to Dr. Ewart Ray Herbert Jones, assistant lecturer in organic chemistry in the Imperial College of Science and Technology.

THE British Institution of Mechanical Engineers has awarded the Hawksley Gold Medal to Dr. F. D. Smith and bronze replicas of the medal to his coauthors, E. H. Lakey, H. Morgan and C. A. Luxford, for the following papers: "The Admiralty Cathode Ray Oscillograph Engine Indicator" by F. D. Smith, E. H. Lakey and H. Morgan; "Basic Principles in the Design of Cathode Ray Oscillograph Engine Indicators" by F. D. Smith and "Stress Measurement by Magnetostriction" by F. D. Smith and C. A. Luxford.

DR. RICHARD LIGHTBURN SUTTON, JR., assistant professor of dermatology at the Medical School of the University of Kansas, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh. Dr. Sutton's father, professor of dermatology at the School of Medicine, is also a fellow of the society.

At the annual meeting on March 31 of the members of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science, Dr. Ivor Griffith, dean of pharmacy at the college, was elected to the presidency of the institution. He succeeds Dr. Wilmer Krusen, formerly director of Public Health of the City of Philadelphia, who has served as president of the college since 1927 and has been elected president emeritus.

DR. I. SCHOUR, of the Dental College of the University of Illinois, was elected to the presidency of the International Association for Dental Research at the recent St. Louis meeting. Other officers for the cur-