H. Cameron, Dr. Walter B. Cannon, Dr. Anton J. Carlson, Dr. McKeen Cattell, Dr. Russell L. Cecil, Dr. A. E. Cohn, Dr. E. H. L. Corwin, Dr. Waite A. Cotton, Miss Dorothy Deming, Dr. Robert L. Dickinson, John Dorr, Dr. George Draper, Dr. Rolla E. Dyer, Dr. Martha Eliot, Dr. Kendall Emerson, Dr. Maxwell Finland, Dr. Morris Fishbein, Dr. Thomas Francis, Jr., Leslie Frank, Dr. Robert T. Frank, Walter S. Frisbie, Dr. John F. Fulton, Dr. Edward S. Godfrey, Jr., Dr. S. S. Goldwater, Dr. Leonard Greenburg, Dr. W. K. Gregory, Dr. Howard W. Haggard, Dr. John Hardenbergh, Dr. Charles G. Heyd, Dr. I. Seth Hirsch, Dr. Elliott P. Joslin, Dr. H. E. Kleinschmidt, Dr. George W. Kosmak, Dr. A. J. Lanza, Dr. Alfred J. Lotka, Dr. T. Archibald Malloch, Dr. Harvey B. Matthews, Dr. Leo Mayer, Arthur Miller, Dr. J. A. Miller, Dr. John R. Mohler, Dr. Ralph Muckenfuss, Dr. C. W. Munger, Dr. J. Oppie McCall, Frederick Osborn, Dr. Francis M. Rackemann, Dr. W. C. Rappleye, Dr. Paul Reznikoff, Dr. Cornelius P. Rhoads, Dr. Thomas M. Rivers, Dr. Milton J. Rosenau, Dr. George Ruhland, Dr. James R. Scott, Dr. Henry C. Sherman, Professor J. M. Sherman, Dr. Henry E. Sigerist, Dr. W. G. Smillie, Dr. W. F. Snow, Dr. Wm. S. Tillett, Dr. Philip Van Ingen, Dr. Augustus B. Wadsworth, Dr. W. Frank Walker, Dr. George B. Wallace, Dr. C.-E. A. Winslow, Dr. Abel Wolman.

THE TWENTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE DIVISION OF PETROLEUM CHEMISTRY OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

THE Division of Petroleum Chemistry of the American Chemical Society will celebrate its twentieth anniversary by sponsoring a two-day symposium on "Analytical Methods Used in the Petroleum Industry" at the one hundred and first national meeting of the society to be held from April 7 to 11 in St. Louis.

Nineteen research reports by technologists from all parts of the country will be presented at the symposium, at which J. K. Roberts, of Chicago, research director of the Standard Oil Company of Indiana and chairman of the division, will preside. New designs for a fractionating column, an instrument to measure the viscosity of opaque liquids and a filtration cylinder will be described, together with modifications of accepted analytical techniques.

The application of chemical methods to exploration for petroleum will be discussed at a general meeting, which includes a program of ten papers. An anniversary dinner will be held by the division on the evening of April 8.

The division, of which Cary R. Wagner, chief chemist of the Pure Oil Company, Chicago, is secretary, was organized with thirty charter members in April, 1921, during a national meeting of the society at Rochester, N. Y. The first chairman was Dr. Thomas G. Delbridge, of the Atlantic Refining Company, Philadelphia.

The division now has nearly 700 members and since

1928 has sponsored seven national symposia on the problems and contributions of petroleum chemistry. With the American Petroleum Institute Committee on Hydrocarbon Research, the division maintains a "hydrocarbon bank" of pure hydrocarbons available for research, conducted by Professor C. E. Boord, of the Ohio State University.

A detailed account of the history of the division is given in the *News Edition* of the American Chemical Society.

THE CHICAGO MEETING OF THE FEDER-ATION OF AMERICAN SOCIETIES FOR EXPERIMENTAL BIOLOGY

THE Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, under the presidency of Dr. Andrew C. Ivy, professor and chairman of the department of physiology at Northwestern University, will meet at the University of Chicago from April 16 to 19.

The five scientific societies composing the federation will participate in the meeting. They are the American Physiological Society, of which Dr. Ivy is also president; the American Society of Biological Chemists, presided over by Dr. William C. Rose, professor of biochemistry at the University of Illinois; the American Society of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, presided over by Dr. Eugene M. K. Geiling, professor and chairman of the department of pharmacology at the University of Chicago; the American Society for Experimental Pathology, presided over by Dr. Shields Warren, assistant professor of pathology at Harvard University Medical School, and the American Institute of Nutrition, of which Dr. Thorne M. Carpenter, director of the nutrition laboratory of the Carnegie Institution in Boston, is president.

The Stevens Hotel on the Lake Front will serve as headquarters. Garage and open air parking places at moderate prices can be found within one block of the hotel. All scientific sessions and demonstrations, including the Joint Session of the federation and the Annual Smoker and Dinner, will be held at the hotel.

The Institute of Nutrition will hold its scientific sessions on Wednesday, April 16. The Joint Session of the Federation will be held on Thursday morning, April 17, after which the constituent societies will hold scientific sessions. On Thursday evening at nine o'clock the local committee will provide an informal smoker. The annual dinner will be held on Friday evening at seven o'clock.

In conjunction with the meeting of the federation, the American Association for Cancer Research will meet from April 15 to 16, and the American Association of Immunologists, from April 16 to 17. Dr. Burton T. Simpson, associate professor of pathology at the University of Buffalo, will preside over the