teen Germans, eleven French, seven Poles, five Russians, five Austrians, three Norwegians, two Spaniards, one Belgian, one Czech, one Italian and one Swiss. Among them were physiologists, biochemists, mathematicians, psychiatrists, neurologists, economists, statisticians, historians, philosophers and philologists, all of whom had occupied distinguished places in European universities. One was a Nobel prize winner; nearly all had international reputations.

The restrictions imposed on the conquered countries of the continent are such that only a small proportion of its productive scholarship can be thus salvaged. But if the conception of the world-wide republic of knowledge is to be kept alive, efforts of this kind, hopelessly inadequate as they may be, are not without importance.

AWARD OF PRIZES OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

PRIZES of \$1,000 each "for outstanding contributors to chemical research" have been awarded by the American Chemical Society and will be presented on April 7 at the opening session of the one hundred and first national meeting in St. Louis, Mo.

Dr. Claude S. Hudson, of the National Institute of Health, U. S. Public Health Service, Washington, D. C., is the second recipient of the Borden Company Award in the chemistry of milk. Dr. Hudson, who is known for his work in the field of sugar chemistry, will deliver the medal address on "Milk Sugar" before the Division of Sugar Chemistry and Technology on April 10.

Dr. David Rittenberg, thirty-four years old, of the School of Medicine of Columbia University, will receive the sixth award in biological chemistry, of Eli Lilly and Company, for his "brilliant work on isotopes as tracers in chemical reactions." Dr. Rittenberg has worked with Professor Rudolf Schoenheimer, of the School of Medicine, using atoms of heavy hydrogen and heavy nitrogen produced in the laboratory of Professor Harold C. Urey. The Lilly Medal address on "Application of Stable Isotopes to Biological Chemistry" will be given by Dr. Rittenberg before the Division of Biological Chemistry on April 8.

Dr. Hudson, who last year won the Theodore William Richards Medal of the Northeastern Section of the society for conspicuous achievement in carbohydrate chemistry, has devoted his entire career to sugar chemistry, having published his first scientific paper on the mutarotation of milk sugar in 1903 at the age of twenty-two years. He has developed methods for estimating the amount of cane sugar in solution and for concentrating the yeast enzyme invertase.

The Borden Award was founded in 1938 to stimulate fundamental research in the chemistry of milk in the United States. The first recipient was Dr. Leroy S. Palmer, of the University of Minnesota. This year's nominating committee for the award consisted of Professor Walter H. Eddy, of Teachers College, Columbia University; Dr. Palmer, and Dr. C. A. Browne, of the U. S. Bureau of Agricultural Chemistry and Engineering, Washington, D. C.

The Lilly Award, which goes to investigators of thirty-five years of age or under, was established in 1934 by Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, to "promote interest in fundamental research in biological chemistry and to recognize young men and women in a way which should mean much to the progress of this field in the United States." Previous recipients were Dr. Willard M. Allen, of the University of Rochester; Dr. Harold S. Olcott, of the State University of Iowa; Dr. Abraham White, of Yale University; Dr. George Wald, of Harvard University, and Dr. Eric G. Ball, of the Johns Hopkins University. The nominating committee for the Lilly Award included Professor G. O. Burr, of the University of Minnesota; Dr. Ben H. Nicolet, of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, and Dr. M. L. Crossley, of the American Cyanamid Company, Bound Brook, N. J.

LECTURES ON INFANTILE PARALYSIS

IN April a series of six lectures on Infantile Paralysis by outstanding medical authorities will be presented at Vanderbilt University. These lectures are sponsored by the National Foundation for Infantile Paralysis, of which Basil O'Connor is president.

Dr. Ernest W. Goodpasture, head of the department of pathology at Vanderbilt, is supervising the arrangements. Eminent authorities from all parts of the country will be brought to the university to give lectures which have been designed to cover thoroughly the entire field of the disease.

The schedule as arranged by Dr. Goodpasture is as follows:

April 7. The History of Poliomyelitis, Dr. Paul F. Clark, professor of bacteriology, School of Medicine of the University of Wisconsin.

April 8. The Etiology of Poliomyelitis, Dr. Charles Armstrong, senior surgeon, U. S. Public Health Service.

April 9. Immunity of Poliomyelitis, Dr. Thomas M. Rivers, director of the hospital of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

April 14. Pathology and Pathogenesis of Poliomyelitis, Dr. Ernest W. Goodpasture, professor of pathology, School of Medicine of Vanderbilt University.

April 15. Epidemiology of Poliomyelitis, Dr. John R. Paul, School of Medicine of Yale University.

April 16. Treatment and Rehabilitation of Poliomyelitis Patients, Dr. Frank Ober, assistant dean, Harvard University Medical School.

The lectures will be held in the amphitheater of the Vanderbilt Medical School at 8 o'clock each evening,