of Cape Town (to be presented by some American technologist).

"Methods for Determining Particle Size Distribution," L. T. Work, Metal and Thermit Corporation, and Herbert Schweyer, Columbia University.

"Surface Area of Portland Cement," Paul S. Roller, physical chemist, Eastern Experiment Station, U. S. Bureau of Mines, and P. V. Roundy, Jr., cooperative fellow, American Instrument Company.

"RCA Electron Microscope," James Hillier, RCA Laboratories.

AWARD OF THE LAMME MEDAL OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ELEC-TRICAL ENGINEERS

THE 1940 Lamme Medal of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers has been awarded to Comfort Avery Adams, consulting engineer of the Edward G. Budd Mfg. Co., Philadelphia, "for his contributions to the theory and design of alternating current machinery and his work in the field of electric welding." The medal and certificate will be presented to him at the annual summer convention of the institute, which is to be held in Toronto, from June 16 to 20.

The Lamme Medal was founded as a result of a bequest of the late Benjamin G. Lamme, chief engineer of the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, who died on July 8, 1924, to provide for the annual award by the institute of a gold medal (together with a bronze replica thereof) to a member of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, "who has shown meritorious achievement in the development of electrical apparatus or machinery" and for the award of two such medals in some years if the accumulation from the funds warrants. A committee composed of nine members of the institute awards the medal.

Mr. Lamme made similar bequests to the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education and to the Ohio State University, providing in the former for the annual award of a medal "for accomplishment in technical teaching or actual advancement of the art of technical training," and in the latter for the annual award of a medal to a graduate of the Ohio State University in any branch of engineering for meritorious achievement in engineering or the technical arts. The three organizations adopted a common obverse for their medals, and each prepared a suitable reverse.

Previous awards of the Lamme Medal of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers were: 1928, Allan B. Field; 1929, Rudolf E. Hellmund; 1930, William J. Foster; 1931, Giuseppe Faccioli; 1932, Edward Weston; 1933, L. B. Stillwell; 1934, Henry E. Warren; 1935, Vannevar Bush; 1936, Frank Conrad; 1937, R. E. Doherty; 1938, Marion A. Savage; and 1939, Norman W. Storer.

THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF MINING AND METALLURGICAL ENGINEERS

THE American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers was held in the Engineering Societies Building, New York, from February 7 to 20.

The Medals and Honors of the institute were presented at the annual banquet at the Commodore Hotel on the evening of February 19. The list follows:

The William Lawrence Saunders Gold Medal to Herman C. Bellinger, "for distinguished service to the mining industry during the period of its modern development, as engineer, manager and executive officer of important mining companies. For his contribution to the arts of mining in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia and South America, and particularly for the successful initiation and adoption of improved methods, practices and procedures at the Chuquicamata copper mine in Chile."

The Anthony F. Lucas Medal to Conrad Schlumberger, posthumously, and Marcel Schlumberger, his brother, "for development of the art of electrical coring or electrical logging. Electrical logging has proved of immense value in interpreting underground structure, locating faults, thereby assisting in the finding and production of oil. Utility of shotgun perforation, stage-cementing and various other inventions are subsidiary to and dependent upon successful electrical coring."

The Charles F. Rand Gold Medal to Robert Crooks, "for his pioneering leadership during a period of active growth and development of a world-wide enterprise involving the mining of nickel ores, the metallurgical treatment thereof and the expansion and diversification of world markets for nickel products. For his able direction of the corporation encompassing these activities, which has established an enviable record in its relations with employees, stockholders and with the public."

The Robert W. Hunt Awards for 1941 to Alden B. Greninger and Alexander R. Troiano, for their paper, contributed to the institute, entitled "Crystallography of Austenite Decomposition," and to G. E. Steudel, for his paper, contributed to the institute, entitled "Effect of the Volume and Properties of Bosh and Hearth Slag on Quality of Iron.".

The J. E. Johnson, Jr., Award to Karl F. Hoffmann, for his paper, presented to the institute, entitled "Manufacture of Low-silicon Pig Iron Using High Blast Temperatures."

The Division Award for 1941 of the Institute of Metals was presented at the dinner to S. E. Maddigan and A. I. Blank, for their paper entitled "Recovery and Recrystallization in Long-time Annealing of 70–30 Brass." Dr. Maddigan is research physicist, and Mr. Blank, research assistant, at the Chase Brass and Copper Company, Waterbury, Conn.

A PROPOSED SOUTHERN SCIENTIFIC SOCIETY

AT the meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science on March 29 and 30, 1940, it was agreed that the Ala-