sachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Conant will remain in England for about a month and Mr. Hovde will stay there as permanent secretary.

The White House statement said that "first-hand observation of recent English scientific research and experience is important for the prosecution of America's program of research on problems of national defense.

"As such collaboration proceeds, other American scientists will be sent from time to time to study different phases of British scientific research of interest to the United States and exchange information through the medium of the National Defense Research Committee.

"It is the duty of the National Defense Research Committee to 'correlate and support scientific research on the mechanics and devices of warfare.' Dr. Conant's mission is essential to that function."

Besides Dr. Conant, other technical members of the committee are Dr. Vannevar Bush, head of the Carnegie Institution of Washington and of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, who is chairman; Dr. Richard C. Tolman, California Institute of Technology; Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Conway P. Coe, United States Commissioner of Patents; Dr. Lyman J. Briggs, director of the National Bureau of Standards, and Dr. F. B. Jewett, president of the National Academy of Sciences.

RECENT DEATHS

DR. FRANK CRAIG JORDAN, professor of astronomy and director of the Allegheny Observatory, Pittsburgh, and Mrs. Jordan, died in a fire that occurred in their

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the Founders Day exercises of Temple University, Philadelphia, on February 14, an honorary degree was conferred on Dr. Henry A. Pilsbry, special curator of the department of Mollusca of the Philadelphia Academy of Natural Sciences.

Dr. ALDEN H. MILLER, who was recently appointed to succeed the late Dr. Joseph Grinnell as director of the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology of the University of California at Berkeley, has been elected a corresponding member of the Zoological Society of London.

DR. PAUL DYER MERICA, assistant to the president of the International Nickel Company, received at the British Embassy, on February 10, a platinum medal awarded by the Council of the Institute of Metals of Great Britain in recognition of "distinguished services to nonferrous metallurgy." Dr. Merica originated the "precipitation theory" of hardening, developed in connection with research on aluminum alloys. home at Pittsburgh on February 15. Dr. Jordan was seventy-five years old.

DR. WILLIAM WEBBER FORD, professor emeritus of bacteriology at the Johns Hopkins University, died on February 10 at the age of sixty-nine years.

SAMUEL HENSHAW, director emeritus of the Harvard Museum and of the Harvard Museum of Comparative Zoology, died on February 5 at the age of eighty-nine years. He retired in 1927 after serving as director of the Harvard Museum since 1918 and of the Museum of Comparative Zoology since 1912.

DR. DE LISLE STEWART, lecturer in astronomy at the University of Cincinnati, president of the Cincinnati Astronomical Society, died on February 8 in his seventy-first year.

DR. WENDELL T. BUSH, professor emeritus of philosophy at Columbia University, who was connected with the university from 1905 until his retirement in 1938, died on February 12 at the age of seventy-four years.

DEATHS in England include: Dr. William Bulloch, professor emeritus of bacteriology at the University of London, a fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine, on February 11, in his seventy-third year; Frank Thomas Paul, professor emeritus of surgery at the University of Liverpool, on January 17, at the age of eighty-nine years; Dr. Miles Walker, for twenty years professor of electrical engineering on the faculty of technology of the University of Manchester, on January 22, at the age of seventy-three years, and Dr. D. Robertson, since 1902 professor of electrical engineering at the University of Bristol, on January 8, at the age of sixty-five years.

THE Marconi Memorial Medals of the Veteran Wireless Association were awarded at the sixteenth annual dinner in New York on February 10 to Major General J. O. Mauborgne, chief signal officer of the United States Army, and Admiral Leigh Noyes, director of naval communications. A plaque was presented to James L. Fly, chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, and Marconi Memorial Scrolls of Honor were awarded Richard Nebell, radio aid to the signal officer of the Second Corps Area, and David Karp, for meritorious service in the world war. G. H. Clark, former president of the association, received the Marconi Medal of History.

THE Association of American Geographers at its annual meeting, which was held at the State University of Louisiana, elected Dr. Griffith Taylor, of the University of Toronto, *president*; and Dr. Forrest Shreve, of the Desert Laboratory, Tucson, Ariz., *vicepresident*.