Surgeons of New York City, and Dr. G. W. Corner, of the Carnegie Institution, were elected to the board, and the latter to the chairmanship of the Scientific Advisory Committee, Arthur W. Page, under whose presidency the association's activities were developed to a high degree, having resigned due to pressure of other duties, Dr. Robert Cushman Murphy, of the American Museum of Natural History, was elected to succeed him as president of the association.

## MEDALISTS OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY

KING GEORGE has approved the recommendations made by the Council of the Royal Society for the award of the two Royal Medals for the current year as follows:

To Professor P. M. S. Blackett, F.R.S., for his studies of cosmic rays and the showers of particles which they produce, for his share in the discovery of the positive electron, for his work on mesons and many other experimental achievements.

To Dr. F. H. A. Marshall, F.R.S., for his contributions to the physiology of animal reproduction. The following awards of medals have been made by the president and council of the society:

The Copley Medal to Professor P. Langevin, For. Mem. R.S., for his pioneer work in the electron theory of magnetism, his fundamental contributions to discharge of electricity in gases and his important work in many branches of theoretical physics.

The Rumford Medal to Professor K. M. G. Siegbahn for his pioneer work in high precision x-ray spectroscopy and its applications.

The Davy Medal to Professor H. C. Urey for his isolation of deuterium, the heavy hydrogen isotope, and for his work on the use of this and other isotopes in following the detailed course of chemical reactions.

The Darwin Medal to Professor J. P. Hill, F.R.S., for his contributions to problems bearing on the interrelationships of the main groups of the Mammalia and on the phylogenetic history of the Primates.

The Sylvester Medal to Professor G. H. Hardy, F.R.S., for his important contributions to many branches of pure mathematics.

The Hughes Medal to Professor A. H. Compton for his discovery of the Compton effect, and for his work on cosmic rays.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

SIR HENRY DALE, director of the National Institute for Medical Research, London, has been elected president of the Royal Society.

WILLIAM BENJAMIN GREGORY, professor emeritus of experimental engineering and hydraulics at Tulane University and consulting engineer, was presented with the Worcester Reed Warner Medal at the sixty-first annual meeting of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. This medal is awarded annually for contributions to permanent engineering literature. It is named in memory of W. R. Warner, co-founder of The Warner and Swasey Company, who was a charter member of the society and its president in 1897. Its establishment was made possible by a provision in Mr. Warner's will.

DR. WILLIAM CROCKER, director of the Boyce Thompson Institute of Plant Research and president of the Yonkers Board of Education, was the guest of honor on December 2 at a dinner in the City Club, tendered him by the members of the Yonkers Inner Circle, which has designated him as the outstanding citizen of Yonkers.

FRANCIS C. FRARY, director of research for the Aluminum Corporation of America, was elected president of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers at the New Orleans meeting. He succeeds Dr. Webster N. Jones, of Pittsburgh. Sidney D. Kirkpatrick was elected vice-president, Stephen L. Tyler was reelected executive secretary, and Carl R. DeLong was reelected treasurer.

THE following officers of the New York Academy of Medicine were elected on December 5: President, Dr. Malcolm Goodridge, professor of clinical medicine at the Cornell University Medical College; Vice-president, Dr. Henry Cave, assistant professor of surgery, Columbia University; Trustees, Drs. George Baehr and Arthur F. Chace; Members of Committee on Library, Drs. Alfred E. Cohn, Howard R. Craig and Jerome P. Webster; Members of Committee on Admission, Drs. J. William Hinton, John E. Scarff, William E. Studdiford and Edward Tolstoi.

OFFICERS of the American Pharmaceutical Association have been elected as follows: *President-elect*, B. V. Christensen; *First Vice-president*, J. K. Attwood; *Second Vice-president*, L. W. Rowe; *Members of the Council*, R. L. Swain, P. H. Costello and F. E. Bibbins. The next annual meeting of the association will be held in Detroit from August 17 to 23.

WALTER L. WIRTH, superintendent of parks of New Haven, Conn., was elected president of the American Institute of Park Executives at the recent Cleveland meeting.

It is reported in *Nature* that at the annual statutory meeting of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, held on October 28, the following officers were elected: *President*, Professor E. T. Whittaker; *Vice-presidents*, Dr.