changes, with special reference to the chemistry and physiology of lactation.

Two of three projected wings of the new laboratory building, costing \$100,000 each, are now completed. The building was designed by the University Department of Buildings and Grounds with Carl C. Tallman as consulting architect, and was constructed by the Federal Government on a site leased from the university.

## FELLOWSHIPS OF THE E. I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY

E. I. DU PONT DE NEMOURS AND COMPANY has awarded six postdoctorate fellowships for research in organic chemistry and twenty postgraduate fellowships for research in the field of chemistry for the academic year 1941–42. Twenty institutions will benefit. The postdoctorate fellowships are for \$2,000 each, and the postgraduate fellowships are for \$750 each.

The postdoctorate fellowships will be placed under the direction of R. T. Arnold, instructor, University of Minnesota; Paul Bartlett, assistant professor, Harvard University; Ralph Connor, assistant professor, University of Pennsylvania; R. C. Elderfield, assistant professor, Columbia University; C. B. Purves, assistant professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and H. R. Snyder, instructor, University of Illinois. These men will succeed an equal number of faculty members who have held the grant in the past few years. This is in accord with the policy of rotating the grants so that especially meritorious younger instructors and professors may participate in the plan.

Appointments to the postgraduate fellowships will be made later in the academic year by the heads of the chemistry departments of the respective universities. The twenty institutions to which awards have been granted are:

The University of California, University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Harvard University, University of Illinois, the Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, Northwestern University, Ohio State University, Pennsylvania State College, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton University, Purdue University, Stanford University, University of Virginia, University of Wisconsin and Yale University.

Fellowships for advanced work in chemistry were established by the du Pont Company in 1918, when there was a dearth of men adequately trained for chemical research. Through the fellowship plan, the company sought to prepare promising young men for a career in this phase of science. These grants, which with one interruption have been maintained since 1918, differ from the average industrial fellowship in that the selection of the beneficiary and the subject of research are left to the discretion of the university.

There is no actual or implied obligation as to future employment of the fellowship holder. The success of this plan is evinced by the fact that its beneficiaries have been widely employed.

Through the postdoctorate phase of the plan, the company provides funds with which gifted younger instructors and professors may carry on broad and difficult researches by employing highly qualified assistants. This assistance is intended not only to increase contributions to science, but also to perfect the technique of these men in teaching chemical research, thus enhancing their interest in remaining in the academic field. The company is mindful of its debt to university chemical faculties and desires its postdoctorate program to open larger avenues of service to promising younger teachers.

## THE PAN AMERICAN CONGRESS OF OPHTHALMOLOGY

The Pan American Congress of Ophthalmology was organized on a permanent basis at the meeting of the first congress, which was held in Cleveland, on October 11 and 12, under the auspices of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology.

Dr. Harry S. Gradle, Chicago, was elected president of the congress. Drs. Conrad Berens, New York, and Moacyr E. Alvaro, São Paulo, Brazil, who served with Dr. Gradle as members of the committee that organized the initial meeting, were elected executive secretaries.

The following vice-presidents were elected: Drs. S. Hanford McKee, Montreal; Frank E. Brawley, Chicago; Edward Jackson, Denver; Tomas R. Yanes, Havana; A. Vasquez-Barriere, Montevideo, Uruguay; Jose Pereira Gomes, São Paulo, and Enrique Demaria, Buenos Aires.

There will also be a council, which is to be formed by one representative from each of the twenty-one American republics. The representative from each country is to be elected by the national ophthalmological society or societies, if such exist; if there is no such society, the government of the country will be asked to appoint a member of the council.

Montevideo was tentatively selected as the place of the next meeting, to be held in 1943.

Eighteen delegates representing governments, universities, hospitals and medical societies in Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Colombia, Guatemala, Panama and Puerto Rico were present in Cleveland. An extensive program of scientific papers was presented, about equally divided between English, on the one hand, and Spanish and Portuguese on the other. English papers were discussed by Latin American speakers; those in Spanish or Portuguese by the English-speaking physicians.

The language difficulty was overcome successfully by the use of slides. Extensive summaries of the papers