## SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

## THE U.S. WEATHER UNIT AT HARVARD

THE United States Weather Bureau on November 1 moved its headquarters for regular observing of the sun's radiation from Washington, D. C., to the Blue Hill Meteorological Observatory of Harvard University, in Milton, Mass.

Two government technicians and government solar observation equipment will henceforth be located at the Harvard station. Weather bureau instruments for solar observation will be calibrated at the Harvard station, and the routine solar reports of other government observatories will be received and edited there.

Harvard's observatory has been carrying on study of the intensity of solar radiation for eight years, initiated by Dr. Herbert H. Kimball, research associate, who retired from the government Weather Bureau in 1932, and from Harvard last year.

Solar observations made at the Harvard weather station include measurement of the intensity of solar radiation on a horizontal plane and on a plane perpendicular to the sun's rays, and also study of the dust and moisture content of the atmosphere. The observations are important in weather forecasting and also for increasing knowledge about the sun and the earth's atmosphere.

Professor Charles F. Brooks, director of the Harvard weather station, explains that in moving solar observation headquarters to the Harvard station the government weather officials considered both the advantageous observing conditions on Blue Hill, relatively free from city smoke; and also the intensive studies of solar radiation being carried on in this region by both Harvard and Massachusetts Institute of Technology under the auspices of foundations established by Dr. Godfrey L. Cabot, Harvard, 1882, of Boston.

The government technicians at Blue Hill will be Irving F. Hand and Mrs. Helen Cullinane, now of the Washington Bureau.

## THE CANAL ZONE BIOLOGICAL AREA

A MOVE to put the research laboratory on Barro Colorado Island on a permanent basis was successful when the act was passed directing the President of the United States to set aside within the Canal Zone an area in Gatun Lake known as Barro Colorado Island in which the natural features shall, except in event of declared national emergency, be left in their natural state for scientific observation and investigation, the area to be known in the future as the Canal Zone Biological Area. The act provides for a Board of Directors to consist of the Secretary of War, the Secretary of Agriculture, the Secretary of the Interior, the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, the president of the National Academy of Sciences and three distinguished biologists appointed by the president of the National Academy of Sciences with the approval of the Secretaries of War, Agriculture, Interior and the Smithsonian Institution; the president of the academy to be chairman of the board and the secretary of the Smithsonian Institution to be vicechairman. The Act also authorized an appropriation not to exceed \$10,000 each year as a contribution toward the expenses of running the laboratory.

Since the passage of the Act three biologists, Dr. Thomas Barbour, director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard College; Dr. Elmer D. Merrill, director of the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University, and Dr. Alexander Wetmore, assistant secretary of the Smithsonian Institution and director of the U. S. National Museum, have been appointed members of the board as provided by law, the President of the United States formally carrying out, under an Executive Order, the direction of Congress setting aside the Canal Zone Biological Area.

The first annual meeting was held on October 7 and the next annual meeting will be held on May 1, 1941.

## THE LALOR FOUNDATION

THE Lalor Foundation has announced the program of its fifth series of fellowship awards in chemistry for the academic year 1941–42. Four post-doctorate awards of a value of \$2,000 each and two awards of \$2,500 each have been authorized. They are open to both men and women. The recipient of an award must have the equivalent of a Ph.D. degree and the applicants will be judged by their previous training, demonstrated competence and promise in their special fields of work.

The six fellowship awards have been assigned one each to the following chemists notable for their leadership in research: Dr. Roger Adams, University of Illinois; Dr. Hans Clarke, Columbia University; Dr. Frederick G. Keyes, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Dr. Charles A. Kraus, Brown University; Dr. Arthur B. Lamb, Harvard University; Dr. E. K. Marshall, the Johns Hopkins University Medical School. Each of these men will have the responsibility for selection of the holder of the award at his respective institution.

Detailed information and application forms may be obtained by addressing C. Lalor Burdick, secretary of the Lalor Foundation, Wilmington, Del., or by direct communication with the above-named men. Applications should be filed before December 31. Appointments will be announced early in 1941.