present there are two scientific men from abroad: Kaare M. Ström, Norwegian limnologist from the Geological Museum at Oslo, who will present a paper on "The Sediments of Norwegian Lakes," and Dr. S. F. Snieszko, formerly professor of bacteriology at the University of Krakow, Poland, who will read a paper on "Pond Fish Farming in Poland." Dr. Snieszko is now at the University of Maine.

A dinner in honor of the eighty-ninth birthday of Dr. E. A. Birge, president emeritus of the University of Wisconsin, at which Dr. C. A. Dykstra, president of the university, will preside, will be given on September 5.

THE OPTICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE twenty-fifth annual meeting of the Optical Society of America will be held in Rochester, N. Y., with headquarters at the Hotel Sagamore, on October 3, 4 and 5. It is pointed out in the official announcement that the selection of Rochester for the twenty-fifth annual meeting is a natural one, in view of the importance of the city in the optical industry and of the part which Rochester members have played in the organization and development of the society. Special arrangements are being made to commemorate the twenty-fifth annual meeting, and a local committee, appointed by the Rochester Section, is active in plans to make the meeting successful.

The program as tentatively arranged is as follows:

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 3

Morning-Contributed papers.

Afternoon-Reserved for visits to industrial plants in Rochester.

Evening—Lecture by Edwin H. Land illustrated by experiments and by exhibits of Polaroid and some of its applications in the field of photography.

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 4

- Morning—Symposium of invited papers. These are intended to comprise a review of the development of optics with emphasis on recent significant advances in the field, thus endeavoring to present both the historical and contemporary aspects.
- Afternoon-Reserved for visits to industrial plants in Rochester.
- Evening—Complimentary dinner at the Oak Hill Country Club, at which members and their wives will be the guests of the Bausch and Lomb Optical Company. The dinner, at which informal dress will be in order, will be featured by a recognition of the active Charter Members of the Society and the award of the first Adolph Lomb Medal.

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 5

Morning-Contributed papers.

Afternoon—Reserved for additional contributed papers as required.

Members desiring to read papers at the meeting are requested to send abstracts to Arthur C. Hardy, Secretary, Optical Society of America, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts. They should be in his hands not later than September 11. The chairman of the program committee is A. W. Kenney, of the E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company. Mr. Hardy has been filling, until the next annual meeting, the vacancy created by the resignation as secretary of L. B. Tuckerman.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. THOMAS BARBOUR, director of the Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University, has been elected a foreign member of the Linnean Society of London.

THE retirement is announced of Dr. Charles Albert Browne, supervisor of chemical research in the Bureau of Chemistry and Soils of the U. S. Department of Agriculture. Dr. Browne has been connected with the Department of Agriculture since 1906.

G. G. BROWN, professor of chemical engineering at the University of Michigan, was recently the recipient of the Hanlon Award of the Natural Gasoline Association of America for "outstanding contributions in the field of natural gasoline."

THE title of dean emeritus has been conferred on Dr. Langley Porter, of the Medical School of the University of California. He had been associated with the school since 1918. COLONEL HAROLD W. JONES, librarian of the Army Medical Library, Washington, D. C., was reelected president of the Medical Library Association at its annual meeting in Portland, Ore., which was held on June 25, 26 and 27. Dr. Robert E. Schlueter, St. Louis, was elected vice-president and Miss Anna C. Holt, Harvard Medical School Library, Boston, was reelected secretary. The convention in 1941 will be held at the Medical School of the University of Michigan.

THE following officers for the year 1940–41 were elected at the annual meeting of the Royal Society of Queensland: *President*, Dr. F. W. Whitehouse; *Vice-presidents*, H. A. Longman and Professor H. R. Seddon.

DR. C. E. MCCLUNG, who recently retired as director of the biological laboratories at the University