usual area of sand dunes in the Arkansas River valley, south of Syracuse in Hamilton County, be made a state park for preservation as a natural area.

A new section—a College Students' Section—was added by request for next year with M. W. Allen, Coffeyville Junior College, as chairman.

The committee on research awards of the academy made grants for the year 1940–41 totaling \$207.50 to the following persons: John Breukelman, Kansas State Teachers College, Emporia; Stuart Pady, Ottawa University, Ottawa; Lawrence Oncley, Southwestern College, Winfield; Dean R. Isaacs, Fort Hays Kansas State College, Hays; Allen C. Olsen, Kansas State College, Manhattan, and M. D. Wheatley, University of Kansas, Lawrence. The source of the funds was \$32.50 from the Albert T. Reagan Memorial Endowment, \$75.00 from the American Association for the Advancement of Science and \$100.00 from the academy treasury.

Volume 42 of the "Transactions," which was a cloth-bound book of 517 pages, was distributed to the membership on February 23, 1940. There are approximately 600 persons, 28 Junior Academy groups and 9 libraries now on the academy membership roll. The deaths of two life members—Larry M. Peace and Joshua W. Beede and one annual member, F. H. Dickinson, were reported. Dr. Edward Weidlein and Dr. Charles E. Burt were elected life members.

The academy will meet at Manhattan next year and at Hays in 1942. The following officers were elected: President, E. O. Deere; President-elect, F. C. Gates; Vice-president, R. H. Wheeler; Secretary, Roger C. Smith; Treasurer, H. A. Zinszer; additional members to the Executive Council, W. H. Schoewe, John Breukelman and H. H. Hall; Managing Editor, W. J. Baumgartner; Editorial Board, Geo. Kelley and D. J. Ameel, the latter serving as academy librarian.

The excellent rooms, largely in recently constructed buildings, with their equipment and furnishing provided by the University of Wichita, contributed much to the success of the meeting.

ROGER C. SMITH, Secretary

THE IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE fifty-fourth annual meeting of the Iowa Academy of Science was held at Cornell College at Mount Vernon, Iowa, on April 19 and 20, with 258 members and visitors in registered attendance.

The presidential address, "Science and Progress," was presented by Dr. R. B. McClenon, professor of mathematics at Grinnell College. Other papers on the general program were "Chemical Transformations by Acetobacter," by Nandor Porges, of the United States Department of Agriculture and "Chemical Evidence of Alcoholic Intoxication," by Professor R. W.

Getchell, of Iowa State Teachers College. The annual address, "Television," was presented by Dr. H. H. Sheldon, of the New York University and the American Institute of the City of New York.

Two symposia were high-lights in the Friday afternoon session. The first of these under the chairmanship of Dr. C. J. Lapp, of the physics department of the State University of Iowa, was entitled "Basic Factors in Achievement at the College Level." Dr. Martin F. Fritz, of Iowa State College, and Drs. James B. Stroud and John A. McGeoch, of the State University of Iowa, led the discussion. The second, on "Vitamins," was sponsored jointly by the Academy and the Iowa State Medical Society. The chairman was Dr. W. M. Hale, of the State University of Iowa, and Dr. Norman A. Clark, of the Iowa State College, and Drs. P. C. Jeans and K. M. Brinkhous, of the Medical School of the State University, presented papers on "Vitamins in Plants," "Vitamin D in Human Nutrition" and "Vitamin K," respectively.

In addition to these symposia, the Academy met in eight sections for the presentation of 110 papers of special interest, and the Junior Academy of Science of Iowa met with the Academy. Dr. E. J. Cable and Dr. R. L. Abbott, of Iowa State Teachers College, and Dr. Nellie Naylor, of the Iowa State College, presented talks on their programs.

The following officers and section chairmen were elected for the next meeting which will be held at Simpson College, Indianola, Iowa:

President, Charles Carter, Parsons College; vice-president, Roy A. Nelson, Cornell College; secretary-treasurer, J. C. Gilman, Iowa State College; editor, Mrs. F. W. Nichols, Ames; botany and bacteriology, J. E. Sass, Iowa State College; chemistry, general and physical, Jacob Cornog, State University of Iowa; chemistry, organic and biological, J. B. Culbertson, Cornell College; geology, Louise Fillman, Simpson College; mathematics, J. Fred Robertson, Iowa State College; physics, Robert G. Wilson, Dubuque University; psychology, Paul C. Greene, Coe College; science teaching, R. M. Getchell, Iowa State Teachers College; zoology, F. G. Brooks, Cornell College. Cornelius Gouwens, Iowa State College, and H. E. Jaques of Iowa Wesleyan College were re-elected to the executive committee.

JOSEPH C. GILMAN

IOWA STATE COLLEGE

THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

The eighteenth annual meeting of the Virginia Academy of Science was held at the Virginia Military Institute on May 2, 3 and 4 with a registration of 426. One hundred and eighty-three papers were read before the eight sections.

There was a Symposium on Jaundice in the Medical Section, and the Sections of Biology and Geology held a combined meeting to hear Dr. W. H. Camp, of the