the company's distributors, at a salary of \$125 a month.

An additional 725 students will be placed on an honor roll and places will be found for them as quickly as possible, with special attention paid to opportunities in their own home communities, where they will best be able to advance the community as well as their own position in it.

The foundation, it is further explained, does not in any way conflict with the work being done by the 4-H Clubs and the Smith-Hughes vocational agricultural high schools, but rather supplements them by affording special training and experience to young men who have already passed the age groups of those organizations.

The scholarships are open to farm youths between the ages of eighteen and twenty-five years.

MEDICAL FELLOWSHIPS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THIRTEEN fellowships in the medical sciences, including five renewals, for study in the United States during the year 1940–1941, were awarded at the recent meeting of the Medical Fellowship Board of the National Research Council, Washington, D. C., of which Dr. Francis G. Blake, Sterling professor of medicine, Yale University, is the chairman. A list of the successful candidates and institutions where they are to work follows:

Reginald M. Archibald, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

Frederik B. Bang, Vanderbilt University.

Lindsay E. Beaton, Northwestern University.

Albert H. Coons, Harvard Medical School.

J. Russell Elkinton, Yale University.

Hugh W. Garol, Yale University.

Arden Howell, Jr. (renewal), Duke University.
Carl A. Moyer, Massachusetts General Hospital.
Abe Ravin (renewal), Harvard Medical School.
Joseph Shack (renewal), the Johns Hopkins University.
William M. Wallace (renewal), Harvard Medical School.
Richard J. Winzler (renewal), Cornell University Med-

ical College.

Earl H. Wood, University of Pennsylvania.

MEDAL DAY OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE annual presentation of the awards of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia took place on the afternoon of May 15. In the evening a subscription dinner was given in Franklin Hall in honor of the medalists. The program follows:

Presentation of Certificate of Merit, George H. Ernsbarger, Honolulu, and Frank Lee McCarty, Ogden, Utah.

Presentation of Longstreth Medals, Leopold Godowsky, Jr., and Leopold Damrosch Mannes, Eastman Kodak Company; Games Slayter, vice-president, Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corporation, Newark, Ohio; Richard L. Templin, chief engineer of tests, Aluminum Company of America, New Kensington, Pa.; Maxwell Mayhew Upson, president, Raymond Concrete Pile Company, New York City.

Presentation of Wetherill Medals, Laurens Hammond, president, Hammond Instrument Company, Chicago; Edward Ernst Kleinschmidt, president, Kleinschmidt Laboratories, Incorporated, Highland Park, Ill., and Howard L. Krum, Beverly Hills, Calif.

Presentation of Henderson Medal, William E. Woodard, vice-president in charge of design, Lima Locomotive Works, Incorporated, New York City.

Presentation of Levy Medal, Charles Rosenblum, instructor in physical chemistry, Princeton University, and John F. Flagg, instructor in chemistry, University of Rochester.

Presentation of Cresson Medals, Frederick M. Becket, consultant, Union Carbide and Carbon Corporation, New York City, and Robert R. Williams, chemical director, Bell Telephone Laboratories, Incorporated, New York City.

As already announced in SCIENCE, the Franklin Medal and Certificate of Honorary Membership was awarded to Dr. Arthur Holly Compton, of the Ryerson Physical Laboratory of the University of Chicago, who was represented at the ceremonies by his brother, Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and to Dr. Leo Hendrik Baekeland, president, retired, of the Bakelite Corporation. Addresses were presented by Dr. Compton on "What We Have Learned from Scattered X-Rays" and by Dr. Baekeland on the "Career of a Chemist."

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held on May 8, at its House, 28 Newbury Street, Boston, Dr. Clarence C. Little spoke on "Cancer Research and the National Health Problem." The following officers were elected for the year 1940-41:

President, Harlow Shapley.

Vice-president for Class I, Percy W. Bridgman.

Vice-president for Class II, S. Burt Wolbach.

Vice-president for Class III, Sidney B. Fay.

Vice-president for Class IV, Arthur S. Pease.

Corresponding Secretary, Abbott P. Usher.

Recording Secretary, Hudson Hoagland.

Treasurer, Horace S. Ford.

Librarian, Hervey W. Shimer.

Editor, Robert P. Blake.

For Councilors for Four Years: Arthur A. Blanchard, of Class I; William B. Castle, of Class II; Henry P. Kendall, of Class III; Charles H. Taylor, of Class IV.

For Councilor for Three Years: Arthur N. Holcombe, of Class III.

For Councilor for Two Years: Austin W. Scott, of Class III.