ogy; "The Electronic Diffraction Method," by Dr. Louis R. Maxwell, of the Department of Agricultural Chemistry and Engineering of the U. S. Department of Agriculture; "The Band Structure Method," by Dr. R. Bowling Barnes, of the American Cyanamid Company, and "The Raman Spectra Method," by Dr. George M. Murphy, of Yale University.

The sessions of the Optical Society for the reading of papers will open on Wednesday, February 21.

The sessions of the Inter-Society Color Council will be held on Wednesday and Thursday, in the Hendrick Hudson Room of the Roosevelt Hotel and in the auditorium of the Electrical and Gas Association, 480 Lexington Avenue. On Wednesday there will be an afternoon technical session on "Spectrophotometry in the Pulp and Paper Industry" sponsored jointly by the Technical Association of the Pulp and Paper Industry, and an evening popular session, a Parade of Color, to consist of recent or interesting color developments in the fields covered by the various member bodies of the council. On Thursday there will be a morning discussion session for which topics will be announced, and an afternoon business session.

A joint dinner of the three organizations has been planned for Friday evening. A *Bulletin* of the American Physical Society containing a program of the meeting, including abstracts of contributed papers and details of the session, will be mailed to members about February 2.

## AWARDS OF THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY, LONDON

THE council of the Geological Society, London, has made the following awards:

The Wollaston Medal.—Henry Woods, formerly university lecturer in paleontology in the University of Cambridge, in recognition of the value of his researches into the mineral structure of the earth, especially his studies of fossil Mollusca and Cretacea from the Cretaceous formations of Great Britain, Africa and New Zealand.

The Murchison Medal.—Dr. Arthur Holmes, professor of geology in the University of Durham, in recognition of the value of his petrological researches and of his stimulating studies concerning the composition and physical state of the earth's interior.

The Lyell Medal.—Dr. H. L. Hawkins, professor of geology in the University of Reading, for his eminence in paleontology, particularly in his studies of the Echinoidea, and for his researches in Eccene stratigraphy.

The Wollaston Fund.—Miss Dorothea M. A. Bate, for her investigations of Pleistocene mammalian faunas in Palestine and the Mediterranean.

The Murchison Fund.—Archibald Gordon Macgregor, for his petrological researches into Scottish rocks and his work on the geology of Monserrat.

A moiety of the Lyell Fund.—Miss Dorothy Hill, for her researches on Paleozoic corals.

A second moiety of the Lyell Fund.—L. H. Tonks, for his work on the Carboniferous rocks of Lancashire and Northumberland.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE seventy-fifth birthday of Dr. George H. Parker, professor emeritus of zoology at Harvard University, which occurred on December 23, was celebrated by presenting to him a volume of letters from students, associates and friends. He was further honored by a reception on January 8, held at the Harvard Faculty Club, at which time his portrait, the work of Charles Hopkinson and a gift from students and colleagues, was presented to the university. The portrait will be hung in the Biological Laboratories. Professor Parker graduated from Harvard College in 1887. He joined the faculty in 1888 and became professor emeritus in 1935.

AT the luncheon of the American Science Teachers Association, held in Columbus on December 31, a volume of letters was presented from associates, friends and former students to Dr. Otis W. Caldwell, professor emeritus of Teachers College, Columbia University, formerly professor of botany at the University of Chicago, now general secretary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The address at the luncheon was made by Dr. Walter B. Cannon, professor of physiology at Harvard University, president of the association.

MATTHEW W. STIRLING, chief of the Bureau of American Ethnology of the Smithsonian Institution, and Bradford Washburn, director of the New England Museum of Natural History, Boston, have been awarded Franklin L. Burr Prizes of \$1.000 each by the National Geographic Society. The prize to Mr. Stirling was in recognition of his discovery in 1939, in the State of Vera Cruz, Mexico, of a monument bearing the earliest recorded date yet discovered in the New World-a date in Maya symbols corresponding to 291 B.C. of the Christian calendar, and the uncovering of other carvings and artifacts shedding light on early civilization in Mexico. The prize to Mr. Washburn was for his exploration by air and for his aerial photography during the last three years of glaciers and parts of glacier systems not previously known to exist in Alaska near Mount St. Elias.

GEORGE JACKSON MEAD, vice-president and director of the United Aircraft Corporation, vice-chairman of the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics,