reelected president; R. E. Zimmerman, vice-president, United States Steel Corporation, reelected vice-president; R. P. Anderson, secretary of the division of refining of the American Petroleum Institute, elected chairman of the Standards Council; H. S. Osborne, engineer in charge of operating results of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, elected vice-chairman of the Standards Council.

CONVENTION OF THE AMERICAN INSTI-TUTE OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS

THE winter convention of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers will be held in the Engineering Societies Building, New York City, from January 22 to 26.

The technical sessions will include papers on the following subjects: Electric Welding, Basic Sciences and Automatic Stations, Lightning Protection, Use of Radio for Airplane Navigation and Weather Forecasting, Circuit Breakers, Industrial Power Applications, Relays, Power Generation, Transportation, Electronics, Production and Application of Light, Power Transmission, Instruments and Measurements, Electrical Machinery, Insulation Co-ordination. There will be conferences on Electric Welding, Feedback Amplifiers, Networks, Sound, Test Code for Synchronous Machines, Transportation, the Use of Electronic Devices, Standards, Definitions.

On Wednesday evening, January 24, both the Edison and Hoover Medals will be presented in the Engineering Auditorium. The Edison Medal was awarded to Philip Torchio "for distinguished contributions to the art of central station engineering and for achievement in the production, distribution, and utilization of electrical energy." The Hoover Medal "awarded by engineers to a fellow engineer for distinguished public service" will be presented to Gano Dunn.

After the presentations a popular lecture on "Atomic Disintegration" will be delivered by Dr. Enrico Fermi, of Columbia University. His lecture will be followed by demonstrations of atomic disintegration by Dr. John R. Dunning. Dr. Fermi has been working with Dr. Dunning and the research group in physics at Columbia University, using the cyclotron in experiments on the physics of atomic nuclei.

Preceding the technical sessions on relays and communication on Tuesday afternoon a general session will be held for the presentation of the Alfred Noble Prize to Claude E. Shannon, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He was awarded the prize for his paper entitled "A Symbolic Analysis of Relay and Switching Circuits."

Inspection trips of general interest will be available to members and guests attending the convention. The dinner honoring the "Outstanding Young Electrical Engineers" for 1939 will be held on Monday evening, January 22, at the Town Hall Club, New York. Larned A. Meacham, of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inc., New York, is the winner of the 1939 Eta Kappa Nu Award. Carl K. Gieringer, of the Liebel-Flarsheim Company, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Jesse E. Hobson, of the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company, E. Pittsburgh, Pa., will receive the Honorable Mention Award.

Following the convention there will be a post-convention cruise. The party will sail from New York at noon on January 27 on the S. S. Robert Lee and will return on the afternoon of January 30. It is planned to visit Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown and Virginia Beach.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIA-TION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

A FULL account of the Columbus meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the scientific societies associated with it, edited by the permanent secretary, will be printed in the issue of Science for February 2.

Officers for 1940 were elected as follows:

President: A. F. Blakeslee, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y.

Vice-presidents of the association and chairmen of the sections:

Mathematics: A. B. Coble, University of Illinois.

Physics: A. L. Hughes, Washington University, St. Louis.

Chemistry: George Scatchard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Astronomy: Robert R. McMath, McMath-Hulbert Observatory, Pontiac, Mich.

Geology and Geography: Hugh D. Miser, U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C.

Zoological Sciences: L. J. Cole, University of Wisconsin. Botanical Sciences: M. L. Fernald, Harvard University. Anthropology: W. Duncan Strong, Columbia University. Social and Economic Sciences: Holbrook Working, Stanford University.

Historical and Philological Sciences: Chauncey D. Leake, University of California Medical School, San Francisco.

Engineering: Robert L. Sackett, Pennsylvania State College.

Medical Sciences: Paul R. Cannon, University of Chicago.

Agriculture: W. H. Chandler, University of California at Berkeley.

Education: E. S. Ashbaugh, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio.

Members of the Sectional Committees:

Mathematics: J. L. Walsh, Harvard University.

Physics: George R. Harrison, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.