School of Liberal Arts, for purchase of test animals in a determination of the distribution of the pituitary hormone, intermedin, \$75.

Professor Robert H. Lowie, Department of Anthropology, University of California, for an investigation by Snr. Curt Nimuendaju, of the Kayapo Indians, and their cogeners in the region west of the Araguaya River, Brazil, \$500.

William G. Lynn, associate in zoology, The Johns Hopkins University, for the cost of illustrations of a monograph on amphibians of Jamaica, B. W. I., which has been accepted for publication, \$170.

Professor Thomas L. Patterson, Department of Physiology, Wayne University College of Medicine, for purchase of animals for his study of the effect of changed emotional states on body activity, \$60.

Professor William B. Redmond, Department of Biology, Emory University, for the purchase of animals required in a further study of a new method of immunization against malaria, \$350.

Edward J. Schremp, instructor in physics, Washington University, for materials and equipment to be used in the determination of directional distribution of cosmic rays at St. Louis, \$500.

Professor C. Richard Soderberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for his investigation of the plastic properties of polycrystalline metals, the award to be contingent upon the securing by the applicant of sufficient funds to assure the continuation of this project for at least one year, \$500.

David M. Steven, Henry fellow, Harvard University, for his investigation of night blindness as an index of vitamin A deficiency among the population of Labrador and North Newfoundland, \$400.

Martin D. Whitaker, instructor of physics, New York University, for one year's rental of a radium-beryllium source of neutrons for his studies on differential effects in slow neutron scattering, \$850.

## THE WESTERN SOCIETY OF NATURALISTS

The twelfth annual winter meeting of the Western Society of Naturalists was held in the San Carlos Hotel in Monterey, California, December 20, 21, 22 and during the morning of December 23. Preceding a smoker on the evening of December 20, Dr. Harald U. Sverdrup, director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, talked briefly of the recent work and forthcoming program of the institution's scientific operations at sea, and then showed colored motion pictures taken by Dr. Roger Revelle, of the staff, during a research cruise last spring in the Gulf of California.

Two symposia were given in honor of two respective octogenarian members. An evening dinner was given also in their honor. The first symposium was "The Biological Basis of Social Problems," honoring Dr. William E. Ritter, professor emeritus of zoology in the University of California and first director of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography; contrib-

utors to this symposium were: Dr. C. M. Child, Dr. F. B. Sumner, Dr. S. J. Holmes, chairman, Dr. E. B. Copeland and Dr. H. S. Jennings. Contributors to the second symposium, honoring Dr. Douglas H. Campbell, and entitled "The Evolution of Land Plants," were: Dr. A. W. Haupt, Dr. G. M. Smith, chairman, Dr. I. L. Wiggins and Dr. H. F. Copeland.

Besides some twenty-seven contributed papers, two other symposia were presented. They were "Nutrient Requirements of Microorganisms," under the chairmanship of Dr. C. B. van Niel, Hopkins Marine Station, Pacific Grove, and "Animal Migration," under the chairmanship of Dr. R. C. Miller, California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco.

The following officers were elected: President, Professor George E. MacGinitie, Kerckhoff Marine Biological Laboratory of the California Institute of Technology, Corona del Mar; Vice-president, Dr. Robert C. Miller, director of the California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. Denis L. Fox, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla; Members of the Executive Committee, Dr. Gilbert M. Smith, Stanford University, and Dr. S. F. Light, University of California, Berkeley.

D. L. Fox

## THE PRIZE OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

THE American Association prize of \$1,000 was awarded at the Columbus meeting to Dr. I. I. Rabi, professor of physics at Columbia University. The nominating committee in announcing the award made the following statement:

As in past years the committee found it difficult to choose from almost equally meritorious contributions in scientific fields so different that comparison and contrast were impossible.

Notwithstanding this difficulty, the committee reached a unanimous decision in favor of Dr. Rabi's research as outlined in his paper, "Radio Frequency Spectra of Atoms and Molecules" because it extends the range of scientific knowledge regarding atoms in a very significant way.

Dr. Rabi has not only discovered radiations, emitted by atoms, that are pitched lower than any hitherto observed but also devised a method of measuring them. Although they lie within the range of radio, they are too feeble by far for detection by even the most sensitive devices now known in radio.

Dr. Rabi's work has opened a way of measuring such subtle properties of atoms and molecules as the magnetism of their component parts a hundred times more accurately than was possible by any instrument available up to the present time. Of special significance is his conclusion that "there are no forces between the nucleus and the electrons because of their spins, other than those arising from the fact that the nucleus, as well as the electron, is a magnet."