- "The Student of Life," Dr. Robert E. Spiller, professor of English, Swarthmore College.
- "Adventure in Agriculture," Dr. Carl R. Woodward, secretary of Rutgers University.
- "Dr. Franklin as the English Saw Him," Dr. Conyers Read, professor of English history, University of Pennsylvania.

"Dr. Franklin and Science," Dr. R. A. Millikan, physicist, California Institute of Technology.

Closing address, Dr. Carl Van Doren.

THE EIGHTH AMERICAN SCIENTIFIC CONGRESS

THE eighth American Scientific Congress will be held in Washington, D. C., from May 10 to 18, 1940, under the auspices of the government of the United States of America.

Pursuant to a special act of the Congress of the United States, invitations on behalf of the President have been extended to the governments of the American Republics who are members of the Pan American Union to participate in the forthcoming meeting. Scientific institutions and organizations are also cordially invited to send representatives.

On April 14, 1940, the Pan American Union will celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of its founding. Although the eighth American Scientific Congress will convene a few weeks subsequent to the anniversary date, the congress will be one of the important phases of that celebration. It is hoped that the presence in Washington of many distinguished investigators from all the American republics as participants in this congress will serve as one of the many tributes to the Pan American Union on the occasion of celebrating the completion of a half century of invaluable service in the fostering of good-will and better understanding among the republics of the Western Hemisphere.

This series of inter-American meetings, serving as a medium for the exchange of scientific information of particular interest and importance to the governments and peoples of the Americas, has enjoyed a long and distinguished history, dating from the first Latin American Scientific Congress held at Buenos Aires in April, 1898.

The Honorable Cordell Hull, Secretary of State of the United States, has requested the following government officials and scientific men to serve upon an organizing committee, which is collaborating with the Department of State in formulating definite plans for the congress:

- The Honorable Sumner Welles, Under Secretary of State, chairman.
- Dr. Warren Kelchner, acting chief, Division of International Conferences, Department of State, vice-chairman.
- Dr. Alexander Wetmore, assistant secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, *secretary*.

- Dr. C. G. Abbot, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.
- Dr. Isaiah Bowman, president, The Johns Hopkins University.
- Dr. Vannevar Bush, president, Carnegie Institution of Washington.
- Dr. Ben M. Cherrington, chief, Division of Cultural Relations, Department of State.
- Laurence Duggan, chief, Division of the American Republics, Department of State.
- Dr. Ross G. Harrison, chairman, National Research Council.
- Dr. Waldo G. Leland, secretary, American Council of Learned Societies.
- Archibald MacLeish, librarian of Congress.
- Dr. Thomas Parran, Jr., surgeon general, United States Public Health Service.
- Dr. Stuart A. Rice, chairman of the Central Statistical Board.
- Dr. Leo S. Rowe, director general, Pan American Union.
- Dr. James Brown Scott, trustee and secretary, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace.

Dr. Wetmore has been designated also as secretary general of the congress.

The congress will be divided into the following sections, each to be in charge of a chairman, assisted by a vice-chairman, secretary and section committee:

- I. Anthropological Sciences.
- II. Biological Sciences.
- III. Geological Sciences.
- IV. Agriculture and Conservation.
- V. Public Health and Medicine.
- VI. Physical and Chemical Sciences.
- VII. Statistics.
- VIII. History and Geography.
- IX. International Law, Public Law and Jurisprudence.
- X. Economics and Sociology.
- XI. Education.

The chairman of the respective sections will be selected at an early date, after which the detailed agenda of each section will be announced. The official languages of the congress will be English, Spanish, Portuguese and French.

The Department of State and the organizing committee are preparing an entertainment program which will include visits to places of scientific and general interest in Washington and its environs.

AWARDS OF THE AMERICAN SOCIETY OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERS

THE American Society of Mechanical Engineers will hold its fifty-ninth annual meeting at the Hotel Bellevue-Stratford, Philadelphia, from December 4 to 8. A list of the 1939 honors and awards to be presented on December 6 to members and junior members of the society has been made public. They are:

The Melville Medal, presented annually for an original paper or thesis of exceptional merit presented before the society, to L. M. Goldsmith.