adequate standards for the professional training of public health laboratory personnel; to encourage constant effort toward the improvement and standardization of technical methods; to collect and make accessible to all persons in official administrative positions in public health laboratories such information and data as might be of assistance to them in the proper fulfilment of their duties.

It is proposed in the by-laws that the conference continue to meet annually at the place of the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association on the day preceding the opening date. Scientific and business meetings open to the entire membership have been provided for, as well as executive sessions limited to full members for action on matters of policy affecting state or provincial public health laboratories. The conference will continue issuing annually a mimeographed volume of proceedings which will be furnished to members and sold to others as in the past.

The officers and councilors elected for 1939-40, all directors of state laboratories, are: *Chairman*, Dr. Friend Lee Mickle, Connecticut; *Vice-chairman*, L. F. Ey, Ohio; *Secretary-Treasurer*, Miss K. E. Cox, West Virginia; *Councilors*, Dr. T. F. Sellers, Georgia, and Dr. E. S. Robinson, Massachusetts.

IN HONOR OF DR. EVARTS AMBROSE GRAHAM

The former and present pupils and associates of Dr. Evarts Ambrose Graham, Bixby professor of surgery at Washington University, Saint Louis, celebrated recently the twentieth anniversary of his professorship. Scientific sessions were held on October 11 and 12, and a dinner in his honor was given on the night of the twelfth.

At this dinner public tributes were given by Dr. Philip A. Shaffer, dean of the department of medicine at Washington University; Dr. Allen O. Whipple, professor of surgery, Columbia University, and president of the American Surgical Association; Dr. J. A. Hayden, of Melbourne, Australia, and by Dr. Malvern B. Clopton, clinical professor of surgery of Washington University and president of the corporation of this institution.

In addition to the presentation of a scrapbook and silver, there was announced the establishment of the Graham Lectureship to be given annually in Saint Louis. Dr. Graham received tributes by letter and telegram from all over the world. There were present about forty-five of his former pupils from scattered points. Several guests expected from abroad were prevented from attending by the war. An abstract of the proceedings is to be published in Surgery.

NOMINATIONS FOR PRESIDENT-ELECT OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Local sections of the American Chemical Society

have proposed for nomination for president-elect the following members:

H. S. Booth, professor of chemistry, Western Reserve University.

Sidney M. Caldwell, director of Development Division, Tire Department, U. S. Rubber Company.

William Mansfield Clark, professor of physiological chemistry, the Johns Hopkins University.

M. L. Crossley, director of research, the Calco Chemical Company, Bound Brook, N. J.

Gustavus J. Esselen, president and treasurer, Gustavus J. Esselen, Inc.

William Lloyd Evans, professor of chemistry and chairman, the Ohio State University.

Francis C. Frary, director of research, Aluminum Company of America.

Per K. Frolich, director of the Chemical Laboratories, The Standard Oil Development Company.

Harry N. Holmes, professor of chemistry and head of the department at Oberlin College.

Henry G. Knight, since 1927 chief of the Bureau of Agricultural Chemistry and Engineering, U. S. Department of Agriculture.

Townes R. Leigh, acting vice-president of the College of Arts and Sciences, University of Florida.

R. E. Swain, head of the department of chemistry, Stanford University.

Floyd E. Bartell, professor of chemistry, the University of Michigan.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. Margaret Floy Washburn, professor emeritus of psychology at Vassar College, died on October 29 at the age of sixty-eight years.

Henry Clay Anderson, dean of the College of Engineering of the University of Michigan, died on October 14 at the age of sixty-six years.

Professor William Jordan Sweetser, since 1915 head of the department of mechanical engineering at the University of Maine, died on October 15. He was sixty-five years old.

Dr. Rodolpho von Ihering died in São Paulo, Brazil, on September 15, at the age of 56 years. At the time of his death he was chief of the Serviço Federal de Piscicultura, Rio de Janeiro.

R. S. TROUP, professor of forestry in the University of Oxford and fellow of St. Johns College, from 1924 to 1935 director of the Imperial Forestry Institute, died on October 1, aged sixty-four years.

Dr. G. M. Murray, emeritus professor of medicine in the Victoria University of Manchester, known for his work on diseases of the thyroid gland, died on September 21.

Dr. EDOUARD BUGNION, professor emeritus of the Medical Faculty and the University Faculty of Lausanne, died on July 4 in his ninety-fourth year. He was known for his work on the anatomy and histology of invertebrates.