THE AUSTRALIAN NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE reorganization of the Australian National Research Council is announced in the Australian Journal of Science. The officers elected are: Chairman, Sir David Rivett; Honorary Treasurer, Professor O. U. Vonwiller; Honorary Secretary, Dr. A. B. Walkom.

The Executive Committee of the reorganized council consists of these three officers elected by the full council and two members from each state and from the Australian Capital Territory elected by the members of the council in that state or territory. The president, the honorary general treasurer and the honorary general secretary of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science, if resident in Australia, are also *ex-officio* members of the executive committee. Any member of the executive committee not resident at the headquarters of the association has the right to appoint a proxy from among the members of the Australian National Research Council resident there.

The representatives of the Australian Capital Territery and of all states, with the exception of Tasmania, have now been elected, and the list is as follows, including proxies where such have been chosen:

- New South Wales: Professor W. J. Dakin, Professor R. D. Watt.
- Victoria: Professor E. W. Skeats (proxy, Mr. C. A. Sussmileh), Mr. W. E. Wainwright (proxy, Mr. A. J. Gibson).
- South Australia: Sir William Mitchell (proxy, Professor J. P. Madsen), Sir Douglas Mawson (proxy, Dr. C. Anderson).
- Western Australia: Professor E. de C. Clarke (proxy, Professor L. A. Cotton), Dr. G. L. Sutton (proxy, Dr. W. L. Waterhouse).
- Queensland: Dr. D. A. Herbert (proxy, Mr. E. Cheel), Professor H. C. Richards (proxy, Mr. E. C. Andrews).
- Australian Capital Territory: Dr. B. T. Dickson (proxy, not yet appointed), Dr. W. G. Woolnough (proxy not yet appointed).

Provision has also been made for the appointment of a deputy chairman when the chairman does not happen to reside in the state where the executive meets, and Professor R. D. Watt has been elected to that office.

The objects of the new Australian National Research Council are stated as follows:

1. In general to promote and assist the advancement of research in Australia, and in particular to obtain financial support for research work of a national character.

2. To act as a body which can advise the Commonwealth and State Governments as to the direction in which research is necessary and financial assistance advisable.

3. To advise the Commonwealth and State Governments as to suitable persons to undertake inquiry, investigation or research in certain national problems. 4. To act as the collective voice of scientific thought in Australia when it is considered necessary and advisable to bring under the notice of Governments, public bodies and organizations, matters in which scientific direction can affect the well-being and culture of the community.

5. To organize scientific bodies and workers into an effective unit for use in national emergencies.

6. To safeguard the interests and status of scientific workers throughout Australia.

RETIREMENT FUND OF THE FIELD MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

DETAILS of a plan whereby retirement incomes will be provided for employees of Field Museum of Natural History have been made public. Because of the museum's status as an educational institution, its employees do not come under the provisions of social security legislation. The plan inaugurated independently by the museum management offers the employees benefits many times more generous than those provided under such laws.

Under the plan, which operates through a contract with the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, and is now in effect, men employees will retire at age sixtyfive years, and women employees at age sixty. All employees under those ages at the time the plan was instituted are eligible, and since the plan was announced a few weeks ago, and participation invited on a purely voluntary basis, it has been unanimously accepted by all those eligible.

The plan is outlined by Dr. Clifford C. Gregg, director of the museum, in the October issue of *Field Museum News*, as follows:

For many years it has been the desire of the management of Field Museum to establish a pension plan which might insure a regular retirement income for faithful employees after their period of active service had been completed. As early as 1916, Mr. Stanley Field, president of the museum, established a Museum Employees' Pension Fund, the proceeds of which gave to the employees the benefit of insurance protection for their dependents. While this benefit was greatly prized at the museum, it was still felt by those responsible for the operation of the institution that the employee himself was entitled to protection and leisure in his declining years, as well as some security for his dependents.

Recently Mr. Marshall Field, a trustee of the museum who always has been deeply interested in the welfare of the employees, provided the means by which such a pension plan might be established. Under the plan each employee pays approximately 4 per cent. of his salary to the pension fund. The museum contributes a much larger sum, and with the combined contributions purchases annuities amounting to $1\frac{1}{2}$ per cent. of the employee's salary for each year of his membership in the plan. Annuities for past service, amounting to 1 per cent. of the current salary for each year of service prior to the beginning of the plan, will be purchased by the museum without employee contribution. Normal retirement ages have been