Angeles. "Protoplasm and Colloids," L. V. Heilbrunn, University of Pennsylvania. "Structural Units," J. D. Bernal, University of London.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

The annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences was held at its house at 28 Newbury Street, Boston, on May 10. At this meeting it was voted to award the Rumford Medals to Professor George Russell Harrison, professor of physics and director of the Research Laboratory of Experimental Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, in recognition of his notable work in spectrum photometry and spectrum analysis. Professor Harrison is the thirty-ninth person to receive the Rumford Premium, which was established by a gift to the academy in 1796 from Sir Benjamin Thompson, Count Rumford. By the terms of the gift the medals are to be awarded "to the author of any important invention or useful improvement in heat or light."

The meeting was addressed by Professor August Krogh, head of the department of animal physiology of the University of Copenhagen. Dr. Krogh is a foreign honorary member of the academy and the recipient in 1920 of the Nobel prize in physiology and medicine.

Thirty-three new fellows and seven foreign honorary members were elected, the following being added to the scientific sections of the academy:

FELLOWS

Mathematical and Physical Sciences:

Bart Jan Bok, Harvard College Observatory.

Lyman James Briggs, the National Bureau of Standards.

Harry Edward Farnsworth, Brown University.

Clifford Burrough Purves, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

C. Richard Soderberg, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Frank Clifford Whitmore, Pennsylvania State College.

Natural and Physiological Sciences:

Gregory Pincus, Clark University. Arturo Rosenblueth, Harvard Medical School. Frederick Fuller Russell, Brookline. William Thomas Salter, Harvard Medical School.

FOREIGN HONORARY MEMBERS

Sir Aldo Castellani, London School of Tropical Medicine. Arnaud Denjoy, professor of mathematics, University of Paris.

The officers elected for the year 1939-1940 were:

President, Harlow Shapley.

Vice-president for Class I, James Flack Norris.

Vice-president for Class II, Walter Bradford Cannon.

Vice-president for Class III, George Grafton Wilson.
Vice-president for Class IV, Arthur Stanley Pease.
Corresponding Secretary, Leigh Hoadley.
Recording Secretary, Hudson Hoagland.
Treasurer, Horace Sayford Ford.
Librarian, Hervey Woodburn Shimer.
Editor, Charles Henry Blake.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. ALEXANDER LAMBERT, professor of clinical medicine at the Cornell University Medical College, from 1898 to 1932, died on May 9 at the age of seventy-seven years. He was a brother of Dr. Samuel W. Lambert, dean emeritus of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University, and of Adrian V. S. Lambert, professor of clinical surgery at Columbia University.

Dr. W. Cramp, professor of engineering in the University of Birmingham, England, died on April 20 at the age of sixty-three years.

RUDOLPH BLASCHKA, German artist in glass, maker for more than fifty years of the glass flowers of the Harvard University Museum, died on May 1 at the age of eighty-two years. Mr. Blaschka was compelled to cease work on account of ill health some time ago.

A fund is being raised at the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute to found a William Pitt Mason fellowship in chemical engineering and a William Pitt Mason annual prize for the best senior thesis in chemistry. Dr. Frederick W. Schwartz, professor of analytical chemistry at the institute, has asked all former students of Dr. Mason to aid in establishing a fund of \$17,500. Dr. Mason retired as head of the department of chemical engineering and chemistry in 1925, after he had served as a member of the faculty for fifty years.

Tuesday, April 25, 1939, marked the hundredth anniversary of the birth of Thomas Jonathan Burrill. In commemoration of this occasion, graduate students and members of the various departments at the University of Illinois which had their origin in Professor Burrill's early leadership met with the seminar of the department of botany to listen to an address by Professor J. C. Blair, dean of the College of Agriculture and head of the department of horticulture. Dr. Burrill was at one time professor of botany, horticulture and entomology. He was professor of botany and horticulture (until 1903) and remained head of the department of botany until his retirement in 1913. Our correspondent writes: "He was known for his early work in microscopy and bacteriology, and was probably the first person in this country to introduce the use of microscopes in laboratory instruction. He is generally recognized as the first to demonstrate (in 1879) that a plant disease may be due to bacteria."