ment of Science, consisting of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate and \$3,000 in eash, awarded to Sir William Bragg, of the Royal Institution, London. Sir William is distinguished by his fundamental work in x-ray crystal analysis. He has shown how to reveal the constitution of crystalline forms and accurately measure them, and his studies have given birth to a new tool which is bringing to light important facts regarding such complex structures as the larger organic molecules. Dr. Frank B. Jewett, chairman of the Committee on the Carty Fund, stated the reasons for the award, and Dr. A. H. Compton, of the University of Chicago, spoke on Sir William's work.

## ELECTIONS OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, held in Washington on April 24, 25 and 26, Dr. Frank B. Jewett, president of the Bell Telephone Laboratories, was elected president for a term of four years, to succeed Dr. Frank R. Lillie, emeritus professor of zoology of the University of Chicago, who will retire on June 30.

New members of the academy were elected as follows:

Gregory Breit, professor of physics, University of Wisconsin.

Detlev Wulf Bronk, Johnson professor of biophysics and director of the Johnson Foundation, University of Pennsylvania.

William Bosworth Castle, associate professor of medicine, Harvard Medical School, director of the Thorndike Memorial Laboratory, Boston City Hospital.

Frederick Gardner Cottrell, president, Research Associates, Incorporated, Washington, D. C., consulting chemist, Bureau of Chemistry and Soils.

Frederick Parker Gay, professor of pathology and bacteriology, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University.

Albert Baird Hastings, Hamilton Kuhn professor of biochemistry, Harvard University.

Vladimir Nikolaevich Ipatieff, research director of the Universal Oil Products Company, professor of chemistry, Northwestern University.

Merkel Henry Jacobs, professor of general physiology, University of Pennsylvania.

Zay Jeffries, General Electric Company, Cleveland, Ohio. Donald Forsha Jones, geneticist, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven.

George Bogdan Kistiakowsky, professor of chemistry, Harvard University.

Warren Judson Mead, professor and head of the department of geology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Oscar Riddle, investigator, department of genetics, Station for Experimental Evolution, Carnegie Institution, Cold Spring Harbor, N. Y.

Adolph Hans Schultz, associate professor of physical anthropology, School of Medicine, the Johns Hopkins University.

Philip Edward Smith, professor of anatomy, College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University.

Foreign associates elected were:

Sir Joseph Barcroft, professor of physiology, the University of Cambridge.

Sir William Bragg, director, the Royal Institution of Great Britain and Fullerian professor of chemistry and director of the Faraday Research Laboratory.

Dr. F. A. Vening Meinesz, professor of geodesy and cartography, the University of Utrecht.

Dr. Frederick E. Wright, of the Geophysical Laboratory, Carnegie Institution of Washington, was reelected home secretary for a term of four years, and Dr. Charles August Kraus, professor of chemistry at Brown University, and Dr. Alfred Newton Richards, professor of pharmacology at the University of Pennsylvania, were elected members of the council to succeed Dr. Simon Flexner, director emeritus of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, and Dr. J. B. Whitehead, director of the school of engineering of the Johns Hopkins University.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The John L. Lewis Prize of the American Philosophical Society has been conferred on Dr. Henry Norris Russell, professor of astronomy and director of the observatory at Princeton University, "in appreciation of his contribution on 'stellar energy,' at the society's symposium on astrophysics in February." The presentation was made by Dr. Harlow Shapley, director of the Harvard College Observatory, at the annual dinner of the society on April 22. Dr. Roland S. Morris, formerly United States Ambassador to Japan and president of the society, presided. The speakers included Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington; Dr. Victor G. Heiser, of the International Leprosy Commission, and

Professor Jesse S. Reeves, of the University of Michigan.

At the closing session of the meeting in Washington of the American Geophysical Union, Dr. William Bowie was made the first recipient of a newly established Bowie Medal, named in his honor, "for distinguished attainment and outstanding contribution to the advancement of cooperative research in fundamental geophysics." Dr. Bowie joined the U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey in 1895 and from 1909 until his retirement in 1936 was chief of the Division of Geodesy.

THE British Society of Antiquaries, London, will