information on standardization and dosage measurements to be obtained is regarded as basic.

Attention was directed to the importance of developing research in the various institutions throughout Canada so that in due course as the committee extends its work the required facilities and trained personnel may be available. To this end several assisted researches on a wide variety of subjects have been proposed, and the various medical institutions concerned are being invited to undertake this work under the auspices of the committee.

Sir Frederick Banting presided at the meeting and Major-General A. G. L. McNaughton, president of the National Research Council, and Dr. R. E. Wodehouse, deputy minister, Department of Pensions and National Health, were present as ex-officio members of the committee. The other members present included: Dr. Donald Mainland, professor of anatomy, Dalhousie University; Dr. J. E. Gendreau, director, Radium Institute, University of Montreal; Dr. J. B. Collip, professor of biochemistry, McGill University; Dr. A. Grant Fleming, dean of the faculty of medicine and professor of public health, McGill University; Dr. W. G. Penfield, professor of neurology and neuro-surgery, McGill University; Dr. G. H. Ettinger, professor in the department of physiology and embryology, Queen's University; Dr. T. H. Leggett, Ottawa; Dr. J. C. Paterson, director of the pathological department of the Civic Hospital, Ottawa; Dr. Duncan Graham, head of the department of medicine, University of Toronto; Professor V. E. Henderson, secretary-treasurer of the Banting Research Foundation, Toronto, and Dr. P. H. T. Thorlakson, assistant professor of surgery, University of Manitoba.

THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF BIOLOGY TEACHERS

DR. GEORGE W. HUNTER, III, secretary of the Union of American Biological Societies, writes that at the annual meeting of the Union of American Biological Societies in Richmond on December 28 membership in the union was voted to the newly formed National Association of Biology Teachers-an organization of those who teach secondary school biology and others with allied interests. This association was formally established on July 1, 1938, in New York, largely as the result of the activity of the Committee on the Teaching of Biological Science, of which Dr. Oscar Riddle is chairman. The association already has a membership of approximately 2,000, and has founded a journal-The American Biology Teacherissues of which have appeared monthly since last October. The committee is continuing its efforts to enroll teachers of secondary-school biology in this association and to increase the value and influence of its new journal. Professional biologists everywhere can now give valuable and much needed support to this enterprise. At the Richmond meeting the union formally adopted the recommendation "That professional biologists of the United States take notice of the very recent formation of a National Association of Biology Teachers, and that they assist this new organization by submitting suitable material to its journal and otherwise by encouraging or promoting the formation of local units of the association in their own communities."

Communications may be directed to the committee representative, Professor David F. Miller, the Ohio State University, Columbus, and other correspondence should be addressed to the Secretary-Treasurer of the National Association of Biology Teachers, P. K. Houdek, Robinson, Ill.

ELECTION OF RESIDENT MEMBERS OF THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

RESIDENT members of the Washington Academy of Sciences have recently been elected as follows:

Harry S. Bernton, practicing physician and professor of hygiene and preventive medicine, Georgetown University, in recognition of contributions in the field of protein sensitization.

Gerard Dikmans, parasitologist, Bureau of Animal Industry, in recognition of his contributions to parasitology, especially helminth parasites of ruminants.

Irvine T. Haig, principal silviculturist, U. S. Forest Service, in recognition of his contributions to forest research, particularly on the growth, yield and natural reproduction of the western white pine of the Northwest.

Elmer Higgins, chief of the Division of Scientific Inquiry, U. S. Bureau of Fisheries, in recognition of his contributions to marine biology as related to the fisheries.

Hugh Curtis McPhee, chief of the Division of Animal Husbandry, Bureau of Animal Industry, in recognition of his contributions in the field of genetics of plants and animals.

Elmer Martin Nelson, principal chemist of the Food and Drug Administration, in recognition of his researches in the field of nutrition and vitamins.

Walter Ramberg, physicist of the National Bureau of Standards, in recognition of his contributions to mechanics, in particular his researches in the mechanics of structures.

Sanford Morris Rosenthal, senior pharmacologist of the National Institute of Health, in recognition of his researches on the test for liver function, the pharmacology of arsphenamines and mercury and the chemotherapy of sulfanilamide.

Harry Waltner Titus, senior biological chemist of the Bureau of Animal Industry, in recognition of his contributions to the physiology and chemistry of nutrition, in particular the nutrition of poultry.

Everett Elmer Wehr, associate zoologist of the Bureau of Animal Industry, in recognition of his contributions to helminthology, particularly nematode parasites of birds.