requested to make hotel reservations by writing to the Observatory, Fort Davis, Texas.

The Southwestern Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will hold its annual meeting at Alpine, Texas, from May 2 to 5, immediately preceding the dedication ceremony. On Thursday evening, May 4, Professor Arthur H. Compton will deliver the annual John Wesley Powell Lecture of the Southwestern Division on "Physics Views the Future." On Thursday morning and afternoon the sessions of the Section on Physical Sciences will be reserved for astronomical papers. Contributions to this program are invited from all observatories. Titles should be sent to Dr. C. T. Elvey, McDonald Observatory, Fort Davis, Texas, before April 1.

On Friday morning there will be an astronomical symposium at the McDonald Observatory at which the presiding officer will be Professor Henry Norris Russell, director of the Princeton University Observatory. The speakers will be Professor Harlow Shapley, of the Harvard College Observatory; Dr. J. Gallo, of the National Observatory of Mexico, and Dr. J. S. Plaskett, director emeritus of the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory.

The program at the dedication on Friday afternoon of the McDonald Observatory will be as follows:

Tender of completed observatory to the director by President P. E. Bliss, of the Warner and Swasey Company.

Acceptance of the completed observatory by Professor Otto Struve, Yerkes Observatory.

"The Cooperative Enterprise," President Robert Maynard Hutchins, of the University of Chicago.

Acceptance for the University of Texas by a member of the Board of Regents.

"Some Features of the New Mirror," Dr. J. S. Plaskett, director emeritus of the Dominion Astrophysical Observatory.

"The First of the Sciences," Professor Arthur H. Compton, University of Chicago.

Dedication of the observatory, President J. W. Calhoun, of the University of Texas.

On Saturday there will be a symposium on "Galactic Structure." In the morning Professor S. A. Mitchell, of the McCormick Observatory, will preside, and Dr. J. H. Oort, of the Leiden Observatory, and Dr. R. J. Trumpler, of the University of California, will take part. In the afternoon the presiding officer will be Professor H. G. Gale, of the University of Chicago, and the speakers will be Dr. Otto Struve, of the Yerkes Observatory; Dr. Bart J. Bok, of the Harvard College Observatory; Dr. C. T. Elvey, of the McDonald Observatory, and Dr. G. P. Kuiper, of the Yerkes Observatory. Dr. E. A. Milne, of the University of Oxford, will speak on "Cosmological Theories" at the

evening session, over which Dr. Edwin Hubble, of the Mount Wilson Observatory, will preside.

A further symposium on "Galactic and Extragalactic Structure" will he held on Sunday presided over in the morning by Professor E. F. Carpenter, of the Steward Observatory, with Dr. Walter Baade, of the Mount Wilson Observatory, and Professor Harlow Shapley, of the Harvard College Observatory, as speakers. In the afternoon Dr. W. S. Adams, of the Mount Wilson Observatory; Dr. Cecilia Payne Gaposchkin, of the Harvard College Observatory; Dr. W. W. Morgan, Yerkes Observatory; Dr. Bertil Lindblad, Stockholm Observatory and Morrison research associate at the Lick Observatory, and Dr. S. Chandrasekhar, of the Yerkes Observatory, will take part in the discussion. In the evening Dr. Arthur H. Compton, of the University of Chicago, will preside, and Dr. Edwin Hubble, the Mount Wilson Observatory, will be the speaker. In the final session on Monday morning Dr. W. H. Wright, of the Lick Observatory, will be the presiding officer, and the speakers will be Dr. Joel Stebbins, of Washburn Observatory, and Professor Henry Norris Russell, of Princeton University Observatory.

## AWARD OF THE HILLEBRAND PRIZE OF THE CHEMICAL SOCIETY OF WASHINGTON

The Hillebrand Prize of the Chemical Society of Washington, for 1938, has been awarded to Raleigh Gilchrist and Edward Wichers, of the National Bureau of Standards, for their paper entitled "A New System of Analytical Chemistry for the Platinum Metals," presented before the ninth International Congress of Pure and Applied Chemistry at Madrid.

The work represents the first general advance in the analytical chemistry of the platinum group since Deville and Stas devised methods for the analysis of the platinum alloys used in fabricating the international prototype meter and kilogram, over sixty years ago. The new system enables the chemist to separate and determine these six closely related metals with a degree of accuracy equal to that of the more exact procedures used for the common metals.

Related procedures applied to refining have resulted in the preparation of the platinum metals in an exceptionally high degree of purity. These pure metals and some of their alloys are used to establish certain important standards based on natural constants, such as freezing points in the upper range of the temperature scale, standards of radiation, of electrical resistance and of thermal electromotive force.

The prize will be awarded at the annual dinner of the society, which will be held at the Cosmos Club on March 9.