At the University of Pennsylvania Roland Morris, formerly U. S. Ambassador to Japan, will preside. The speakers will include Dr. Edward P. Cheyney, professor of history at the University of Pennsylvania; Dr. Marion Park, president of Bryn Mawr College, and Dr. E. G. Conklin, professor emeritus of zoology, Princeton University, and executive vice-president of the American Philosophical Society. In Boston, Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will preside at a similar meeting, and at the University of Illinois, the meeting, sponsored by seven members of the National Academy of Sciences, will be presided over by Professor Roger Adams.

Plans are under way for meetings at the University of California, Stanford University, the University of Wisconsin, the University of Nebraska, the University of Oklahoma, Purdue University, the University of Kentucky, Miami University, the University of Virginia, Duke University, Connecticut State College, Dartmouth College, Syracuse University, the University of Pittsburgh and other institutions.

## THE SECOND ANNUAL WILLIAM LOWELL PUTNAM MATHEMATICAL COMPETITION

PROFESSOR W. D. CAIRNS, secretary of the Mathematical Association of America, announces that the second annual William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition will be held on March 4, 1939. This competition was held for the first time last April, and aroused much interest among colleges and universities in the United States and Canada, sixty-seven of which entered one hundred and sixty-three competitors. At that time the University of Toronto won the \$500 first prize, with the University 'of California and Columbia University winning the \$300 second and \$200 third prizes, respectively. Individual winners were scattered over the continent and were about evenly divided between colleges and universities.

Colleges and universities may enter teams of three or individual contestants; applications may be secured from the Secretary of the Mathematical Association of America and must be filed with him by February 15, 1939.

The competition consists of two three-hour examinations, constructed to test originality as well as technical competence. Questions will be taken from the fields of calculus (with applications to geometry and mechanics), higher algebra, elementary differential equations and geometry.

The first prize is \$500 to the department of mathematics with the winning team; second and third prizes are \$300 and \$200, respectively. Each member of the three winning teams receives \$50, \$30 or \$20 according to the standing of his team.

Each of the five highest-ranking individuals receives a prize of \$50, and from this group is selected the one to receive the \$1,000 William Lowell Putnam Prize Scholarship at Harvard University (or Radeliffe College, if the winner is a woman). Medals also are awarded to the five highest-ranking individuals as well as to the members of the three winning teams.

Honorable mention will be given this year to the three departments whose teams rank next after the winning three and to the five individuals ranking next after the winning five.

The competition, open to undergraduates in colleges and universities of the United States and Canada, is made possible by the trustees of the William Lowell Putnam Intercollegiate Memorial Fund, left by Mrs. Putnam in memory of her husband, a member of the Harvard Class of 1882. It is designed to stimulate a healthful rivalry in undergraduate work in mathematics.

Complete details concerning the rules of the competition will be found in the January, 1938, issue of the *American Mathematical Monthly* and in pamphlets being distributed to colleges and universities in the United States and Canada. All correspondence should be sent to W. D. Cairns, secretary of the Mathematical Association of America, Oberlin, Ohio.

## AWARDS OF THE GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY, LONDON

THE Council of the Geological Society, London, has made the following awards:

The Wollaston Medal.—Frank Dawson Adams, emeritus professor of geology and paleontology in McGill University, for his researches on the pre-Cambrian rocks and on the influence of high temperatures and pressures on the properties of rocks at great depths in the earth's crust.

The Murchison Medal.—Harold Jeffreys, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S., in recognition of the value of his researches on the constitution and physics of the earth's interior, and, in particular, of the deductions he has drawn from the analysis of records of distant earthquakes.

The Lyell Medal.—William Noel Benson, B.A., D.Sc., professor of geology in the University of Otago, N. Z., in recognition of the wide range and excellence of his geological researches, particularly in New Zealand.

The Prestwich Medal.—Samuel Hazzledine Warren, F.G.S., in recognition of his researches on the geology and archeology of East Anglia, particularly of the Lea Valley.

The Bigsby Medal.—Arthur E. Trueman, D.Sc., professor of geology in the University of Glasgow, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the knowledge of paleontology and stratigraphy, particularly of the coal measures and the lias.

The Wollaston Donation Fund.—Ivan Sydney Double, M.Sc., for his work on the petrology of sedimentary rocks, especially the Tertiary rocks of the East of England, the glacial deposits, the chalk and the trias.

The Murchison Geological Fund.—Arthur Lennox Coulson, D.Sc., in recognition of his geological work in India, especially that concerned with earthquakes and meteorites and the survey of Rajputana.