tional meetings were held, with Dr. Philip Rudnick chairman for physics, Dr. L. C. Glenn for geology and Dr. H. M. Jennison for botany. At the academy dinner on Friday evening Dr. George R. Mayfield, of Vanderbilt University, was toastmaster, President Shaver made an address on the subject, "How to make a Great Man," and Professor D. M. Brown, of the State Teachers College, Johnson City, presented a moving picture of "Rhododendron Gardens of Roan Mountain." On Saturday morning the second general session was held, Vice-President Aaron W. Dicus presiding, and the reading of papers was resumed. Classification of the papers on the program shows fourteen from two universities, ten from three colleges for teachers, eight from other schools, nine from federal and state organizations, and three from other sources.

On adjournment at 12 o'clock, Saturday, President Shaver called the members to order for the annual business meeting. The report of the secretary showed the membership practically the same as one year ago---430, including 69 fellows and 34 annual members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The appointment of a boy and girl from science clubs in the state for annual honorary junior membership in the association was placed in the hands of the executive committee. A resolution was adopted thanking Governor Gordon Browning for his efforts in the line of state conservation during the past two years and requesting Governor-elect Prentice Cooper to continue the work under his administration. Nineteen applicants were elected to membership in the academy. Officers elected for the year 1938-39 were:

- President, Aaron W. Dicus, Tennessee Polytechnic Institute, Cookeville.
- Vice-President, William M. Mebane, State Teachers College, Murfreesboro.
- Secretary-Treasurer, John T. McGill, Vanderbilt University.
- Officers of the Sections: Botany—Chairman, George R. Gage, Vanderbilt University, and Secretary, Chester P. Freeman, State Teachers College, Memphis; Geology—Chairman, George M. Hall, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Secretary, Kendall E. Born, Department of Geology, Nashville; Physics—Cochairmen, Kenneth E. Hertel, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, and Newton Underwood, Vanderbilt University.

The 1939 spring meeting of the academy will probably be at some point in West Tennessee, the locality and date to be fixed by the executive committee.

> JOHN T. McGill, Secretary

## THE INDIANA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE fifty-fourth annual meeting of the Indiana Academy of Science was held at West Lafayette, Indiana, on November 3, 4 and 5, 1938, with Purdue University as host, and President Eli Lilly, of Indianapolis, in active charge. The first general session was largely devoted to honoring Dr. Joseph Charles Arthur and Dr. Stanley Coulter, both emeritus professors of Purdue University and former presidents of the academy. Dr. Frank D. Kern, dean of the Graduate School, Pennsylvania State College, paid tribute to Dr. Arthur in an address, "The Life and Work of Joseph Charles Arthur," and Dr. Ray C. Friesner, Butler University, honored Dr. Coulter with "A Tribute to Dean Stanley Coulter."

A total of 29 papers was presented at the general meetings and the nine divisional meetings. The attendance at these meetings was 450. Special action was taken by the academy to put into operation at the next annual meeting the plan for giving honorable mention to the authors of outstanding papers presented at the meeting.

The annual dinner meeting was attended by 250. following which President Lilly gave his president's address on "A Plan for Accomplishing More Effective Research." The officers chosen for 1939 are: T. G. Yuncker, DePauw University, President; Louis A. Test, Purdue University, Vice-President: William P. Allyn, Indiana State Teachers College, Secretary; William P. Morgan, Indiana Central College, Treasurer; Paul Weatherwax, Indiana University, Editor of the Proceedings; Will E. Edington, DePauw University, Press Secretary. The divisional chairmen for 1939 are: Paul Weer, Indianapolis, Archeology; W. A. Jamieson, Indianapolis, Bacteriology; Winona Welch, DePauw University, Botany; Herman T. Briscoe, Indiana University, Chemistry; Thomas M. Bushnell, Purdue University, Geology and Geography; P. D. Edwards, Ball State Teachers College, Mathematics; R. B. Abbott, Purdue University, Physics; F. B. Knight, Purdue University, Psychology; C. P. Hickman, DePauw University, Zoology.

The entomologists and taxonomists of the state held their meetings on Saturday, the latter group conducting a symposium on "The Concept of the Species."

The Junior Academy of Science also held its meetings on Saturday with an attendance of 250, representing forty high-school science clubs. A number of exhibits and demonstrations of the work of the highschool science clubs of the state was shown and also nine papers were read. Dean Howard E. Enders, Purdue University, is academy sponsor for the Junior Academy.

WILL E. EDINGTON, Press Secretary.