# OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

Dr. Samuel Colville Lind, dean of the Institute of Technology of the University of Minnesota, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society for 1940. Dr. Lind will take office as president-elect on January 1, 1939, at which time Professor Charles A. Kraus, of Brown University, becomes president, succeeding Dean Frank C. Whitmore, of Pennsylvania State College.

The new president-elect was chosen by the council from four nominees receiving the largest number of votes in a national poll by mail by more than 22,000 members of the society. The council includes national officers, directors, editors of publications, past presidents, chairmen of professional divisions and councilors of the eighty-five local sections.

Dr. Lind, who has been editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry since 1933, has been a leader of chemical research in the field of radioactivity, radium extraction and measurement, influence of radiation on chemical action, kinetics and chemical reactions, photochemistry and chemical effects in electrical discharge. He originated the ionization theory of the chemical effects of radium rays and invented the Lind interchangeable electroscope of radium measurements.

He taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1902–03 and at the University of Michigan from 1905 to 1915. He has been associated with the United States Bureau of Mines since 1913, first as chemist in radioactivity and since 1918 as physical chemist. He was chief chemist of the bureau from 1923 to 1925 and associate director of the Fixed Nitrogen Research Laboratory, Washington, D. C., in 1925–26. Before becoming dean of the Institute of Technology in 1935, he was director of its School of Chemistry for nine years.

Three directors and four councilors-at-large have been elected as follows:

### Directors

Dr. E. R. Weidlein, director of the Mellon Institute of Industrial Research, Pittsburgh, and past president of the society, elected from the third district, comprising Pennsylvania, Delaware and Ohio.

Thomas Midgley, Jr., of Worthington, Ohio, vice-president of the Ethyl Gasoline Corporation, reelected directorat-large.

Professor Arthur J. Hill, chairman of the department of chemistry of Yale University, reelected from the first district, including Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and Canada.

## $Councilors \hbox{-} at \hbox{-} large$

Dr. George D. Beal, assistant director of the Mellon Institute, Pittsburgh.

Dr. Henry Gilman, professor of organic chemistry at the Iowa State College.

Dr. Harry N. Holmes, head of the department of chemistry of Oberlin College.

Professor Harold C. Urey, professor of chemistry at Columbia University.

### THE AMERICAN GEOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY

At the regular monthly meeting of the American Geographical Society held in the auditorium of the American Museum of Natural History, Roland L. Redmond, president of the society, announced that Dr. John Kirtland Wright had been appointed director of the society. His appointment is effective immediately.

Dr. Wright graduated from Harvard College in 1913 and received the Ph.D. degree in 1922. He has been on the staff of the American Geographical Society since 1920, as librarian from 1920 to 1937 and since then as research editor. His main interests lie in the fields of historical geography, population studies and geographical bibliography, on which subjects he has published books and periodical articles. He has also edited several of the publications of the society, notably "New England's Prospect: 1933" and Dr. C. O. Paullin's monumental "Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States," which was published jointly with the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Founded in 1852, the American Geographical Society is the oldest geographical society in the United States and the leading research institution of its kind. In 1915, with a reorganization of the staff, Dr. Isaiah Bowman was appointed as the first director, a position that he held until 1935, when he assumed the presidency of the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore. During the twenty years of Dr. Bowman's directorship the activities of the society were greatly enlarged. Many projects of research were undertaken, among them the compilation and publication of a great map of Latin America in 107 sheets (now nearing completion), as well as studies of the polar regions and of the parts of the world that are still open to pioneer Some fifty authoritative books dealing settlement. with nearly all phases of geography have been issued by the society since 1915, and the society on several occasions has been called into consultation by the Government.

Included on its council are: Isaiah Bowman, Charles R. Crane, F. Trubee Davison, Lincoln Ellsworth, John H. Finley, William Hale Harkness, H. Stuart Hotchkiss, Archer M. Huntington, Arthur Curtiss James, Wesley C. Mitchell, Frank L. Polk, William A. Rockefeller, Carl C. Shippee.

# AWARD OF THE EDISON MEDAL OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ELEC-TRICAL ENGINEERS

Dr. Dugald C. Jackson, professor emeritus of electrical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been awarded the 1938 Edison Medal