Dr. Ellery addressed members and guests at a banquet on "The Urge to Know." He pointed out that what is called form in these days of 1938 is an appreciation and acknowledgment and encouragement on the part of men everywhere of the irrepressible and irresistible urge to know, the eternal characteristic of human intelligence, always and inevitably pushing on into the unknown.

Officers of the newly installed chapter are: Dr. P. H. Senn, *president*; Dr. C. F. Byers, *vice-president*; Dr. R. B. Becker, *secretary*, and Dr. J. E. Hawkins, *treasurer*. The new chapter has 49 petitioners, whose membership in the national society was earned previously in chapters scattered widely over the United States.

TROPICAL MEDICINE

DR. ERNEST CARROLL FAUST, secretary of the American Academy of Tropical Medicine, writes that the fifth annual meeting of the academy was held on November 17 in Oklahoma City in conjunction with the American Society of Tropical Medicine and the Southern Medical Association. At the after-dinner program of the academy, of which Dr. Henry E. Meleney, of Vanderbilt University, acted as toastmaster, the presidential address, "Some of the Unsolved Problems in Research and Disease Control in the Tropics," was delivered by the retiring president, Colonel Joseph F. Siler, Army Medical School, Washington, D. C. Perry Burgess, president of the Leonard Wood Memorial, delivered a "Tribute to Dr. E. B. McKinley." At the business session the following officers were elected for the coming year:

. President, William Walter Cort, the Johns Hopkins University.

Vice-president, Admiral C. S. Butler, Washington, D. C.

Secretary, Ernest Carroll Faust, Tulane University.

Treasurer, Thomas T. Mackie, New York City.

Councillor (5-year term), Herbert C. Clark, Gorgas Memorial Laboratory, Panama.

- Councillor (1-year term), George W. Bachman, School of Tropical Medicine, San Juan, Puerto Rico.
- Representative on the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Malcolm H. Soule.
- Representative on the American Foundation for Tropical Medicine, Thomas T. Mackie.

The following were elected to active membership in the academy:

- Dr. Justin Andrews, malariologist, Georgia State Board of Health.
- Dr. George Dunham, lieutenant-colonel, U. S. A., Army Medical School, Washington, D. C.
- Dr. Paul Hudson, professor of bacteriology, the Ohio State University.
- Dr. L. L. Williams, senior surgeon in charge of malaria control, U. S. Public Health Service, Washington, D. C.

The American Society of Tropical Medicine met from November 15 to 18. The third Charles Franklin Craig Lecture on tropical medicine on "Progress in the Study of Infections Due to Bartonella and Rickettsia" was given by Dr. Richard P. Strong, and there was a symposium on "Newer Clinical Aspects of Deficiency Diseases," which was a joint session of the society with the Section on Medicine of the Southern Medical Association. The presidential address was delivered by Dr. Mark F. Boyd on "The Malaria Problem: Retrospect and Prospect." Officers elected for the year 1939 were:

President, Dr. Alfred C. Reed, San Francisco.

- President-elect, Dr. L. L. Williams, Jr., Washington, D. C.
- Vice-president, Dr. Sterling S. Cook, Norfolk, Va.
- Secretary-treasurer, Dr. E. Harold Hinman, Wilson Dam, Ala.

Editor, Colonel Charles F. Craig, San Antonio, Texas.

New councilors, who were elected for a term of two years, are Dr. Mark F. Boyd and Dr. L. T. Coggeshall.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

IN accordance with the recommendations made to the King of England by the Council of the Royal Society, London, Royal Medals have been awarded to Dr. Francis William Aston, F.R.S., in recognition of his discovery of the isotopes of non-radioactive elements, and to Professor Ronald Aylmer Fisher, F.R.S., in recognition of his contributions to the theory and practice of statistical methods.

ACCORDING to the *Bulletin* of the American Society for Testing Materials, L. F. Rader, associate professor of civil engineering at the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, N. Y., has been awarded the prize of Belgium in a competition sponsored by the Permanent International Association of Road Congresses. This prize was founded by the Government of Belgium and is awarded at meetings of the congress to the author of the most striking paper submitted containing suggestions for promoting progress in construction, maintenance and exploitation of roads and for facilitating traffic. Dr. Rader's paper gave the results of investigations of the physical properties of asphalt pavements at low temperature.

THE Roebling Medal of the Mineralogical Society of America will be presented to Dr. Waldemar T.