of California; Austin L. Rand, New York; Alexander F. Skutch, Maryland; Herbert G. Deignan, Washington, D. C., and S. Gilbert Emilio, Massachusetts.

The 1939 meeting will be held in the San Francisco Bay region of California from June 19 to 23. Dr. Alden H. Miller, of Berkeley, is the chairman of the local committee. Dr. Alexander Wetmore, of the U. S. National Museum, has been named president of the eleventh International Ornithological Congress, which will hold a joint meeting with the American Ornithologists' Union at the Philadelphia Academy of Sciences in May, 1942.

> LAWRENCE E. HICKS, Secretary.

SYMPOSIA AT BROWN UNIVERSITY ON INTERMOLECULAR ACTION

A THREE-DAY meeting on "Intermolecular Action," sponsored by the Division of Physical and Inorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society, will be held at Brown University on December 27, 28 and 29. The members will attend the ceremonies dedicating the Metcalf Research Laboratory of the university on Wednesday afternoon, December 28.

In a series of twenty-two scientific papers, thirtyeight chemists will discuss "Gases and Pure Liquids," "Non-Polar Mixtures," "Highly Polar Mixtures," "Polar Mixtures" and "Ionic Solutions." Professor George Scatchard, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, chairman of the division, will preside.

Among the speakers will be Professor Joel H. Hildebrand, of the University of California, who was recently awarded the 1939 William H. Nichols Medal of the New York Section of the American Chemical Society for his studies of liquid and solid solutions; Professor John G. Kirkwood, of Cornell University, to whom was awarded the \$1,000 American Chemical Society Award in Pure Science for original contributions in the field of intramolecular forces; Dr. F. Loudon, of the Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris, at present visiting lecturer at Duke University; and Professor Charles A. Kraus, of Brown University, president-elect of the American Chemical Society.

Dr. Niels Bjerrum, professor of chemistry at the Royal Veterinary and Agricultural College, Copenhagen, visiting lecturer at Brown University, and Dr. Frederick G. Keyes, head of the department of chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will deliver the dedication lectures on Wednesday afternoon. Dr. Bjerrum's subject will be "The Development of the Theory of Electrolytes," and Dr. Keyes will speak on "Contrasts."

The committee on arrangements, in addition to Professor Scatchard, includes Professors Cohn, Eyring, Hildebrand, Kraus and LaMer; Professor Farrington Daniels, of the University of Wisconsin; Dr. Louis S. Kassel, of the U. S. Bureau of Mines Experiment Station, Pittsburgh; Professor Philip A. Leighton, of Stanford University; Professor Samuel C. Lind, of the University of Minnesota; Wilber G. Parks, of Rhode Island State College; Thomas H. Roberts, of Edgewood, R. I., and Professors Earle K. Strachan and Laurence S. Foster, of Brown University. Dr. Harold C. Urey, of Columbia University, is secretary of the division.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE hundred and third meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will be held at Richmond, Va., from December 27 to December 31. Dr. Wesley C. Mitchell, professor of economics at Columbia University, will preside, and the address of the retiring president will be given by Dr. George D. Birkhoff, professor of economics at Harvard University. The preliminary program of the meeting, edited by Dr. F. R. Moulton, permanent secretary of the association, will be printed in next week's issue of SCIENCE. The first event of the meeting, except the meeting of the executive committee, will be on Monday evening, when a dinner will be given to members of the National Association of Science Writers and to editors of Virginia newspapers in honor of Austin H. Clark, of the Smithsonian Institution, formerly director of the press service of the association. Sir Richard Gregory, editor of Nature, will be the principal speaker.

DR. BERNARD SACHS has been elected a corresponding member of the Société Suisse de Neurologie "for eminent scientific merits and the prolific influence of his research work on the progress of neurology."

DR. MORLEY FLETCHER will represent the Royal College of Physicians, London, at the opening of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. He will be presented with an illuminated address and a replica of the silver wand or caduceus, which was presented to the college by Caius in 1556.

ACCORDING to the Journal of the American Medical Association, the State Medical Society of Wisconsin at its annual meeting in Milwaukee presented the gold seal of the society to Dr. Eben J. Carey, dean of the School of Medicine of Marquette University, and to Dr. William Shainline Middleton, dean of the Medical School of the University of Wisconsin. Dr. Carey was honored for his "high accomplishments in medical edu-