animals for a study of anterior-hypophyseal activity and effects.

Professor Rachel E. Hoffstadt, the University of Washington, \$250, in further support of a study of the virus of infectious myxomatosis of rabbits and of related viruses.

Professor Norton A. Kent, of Boston University, \$500, for assistance in further measurements of the wavelengths of molecular spectra of hydrogen isotopes.

Professor Donald H. Menzel, the Harvard Observatory, \$950, toward the cost of fabrication of an electric coronagraph of original design, for the study of the solar corona outside of total eclipse.

Dr. John Rock, the Free Hospital for Women, Brookline, Mass., and Dr. Austin H. Brues, Harvard Medical School, \$1,000, for continuation of a study of the electrical disturbances associated with human ovulation, and attempt to recover, fertilize and culture human ova.

Felix Saunders, the University of Chicago, \$200, for materials to continue studies of the relation between configuration of carbohydrates and their utilization by bacteria.

Professor Joseph H. Simons, the Pennsylvania State College, \$500, for technical assistance in continuing a study of the physical and chemical properties of the fluorocarbons.

Dr. Irwin W. Sizer and Dr. Bernard S. Gould, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, \$300, toward the cost of a Barcroft-Warburg apparatus in a further study of bacterial dehydrogenase.

Professor Carl G. Vinson, the University of Missouri, \$500, for special apparatus for use in further investigations of active crystalline virus fractions.

Income from the Permanent Science Fund of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, according to agreement and declaration of trust, shall be applied to such scientific research as shall be selected, in "such sciences as mathematics, physics, chemistry, astronomy, geology and geography, zoology, botany, anthropology, sociology and economy, history and philology, engineering, medicine and surgery, agriculture, manufacturing and commerce, education and any other science of any nature or description whether or not now known or now recognized as scientific; and may be applied to or through public or private associations, societies, or institutions, whether incorporated or not, or through one or more individuals."

Applications for grants under this indenture are considered by a committee of the academy on stated dates only. The next such meeting will be to consider applications received in proper order on blank forms furnished by the committee on October 1. Correspondence, including requests for application forms, should be addressed to the chairman of the committee on the Permanent Science Fund, Professor John W. M. Bunker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

COLLOID CHEMISTRY AT THE MASSA-CHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

THE fifteenth Colloid Symposium of the Division of Colloid Chemistry of the American Chemical Society is being held at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology on June 9, 10 and 11. An attendance of five hundred is expected. Twenty-five reports from leading college and industrial laboratories are to be presented.

Dr. Karl T. Compton, president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, delivered the opening address on Thursday morning. The first scientific paper was presented by Dr. Wolfgang Ostwald, of the University of Leipzig. His subject was "Colloid Coagulation and Electrolyte Activity."

Among those who are taking part in the symposia are: Dr. Wanda K. Farr, of the Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research; Professor William D. Harkins, of the University of Chicago; Professor James W. McBain, of Stanford University; Professor Arthur W. Thomas, of Columbia University; Dr. Alfred J. Stamm, senior chemist of the U. S. Forest Products Laboratory, Madison, Wis.; Dr. Maurice L. Huggins, of the Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N. Y.; Professor Wesley G. France, of the Ohio State University; Dr. Harry B. Weiser, of the Rice Institute, Houston, Texas, chairman of the Colloid Symposium Committee; and Professor Warren K. Lewis and Dr. Ernst A. Hauser, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Hauser is secretary of the Colloid Division.

Following the symposium, the third special summer program in theoretical and applied colloid chemistry and physics will be opened on June 13 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology under the direction of Dr. E. A. Hauser, associate professor of chemical engineering. This is offered to men actively engaged in industry or in research. It will last for five weeks and will consist of lectures, round table discussions and laboratory investigations. Guest speakers from various industries, as well as experts in the field of colloid chemistry and physics, will address the group during the course.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. VANNEVAR BUSH, vice-president and dean of engineering of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, was elected on June 2 president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, the appointment to take effect on January 1, 1939. He succeeds Dr. John C. Merriam, who was elected president in 1921 and will become president emeritus.

A DINNER in honor of Dr. Ross G. Harrison, since

524