Lloyd W. Taylor, chairman, Oberlin College.Ralph W. Tyler, vice-chairman, the Ohio State University.

A. C. Kinsey, secretary, Indiana University.

H. J. Arnold, Columbia University.

Carey Croneis, University of Chicago.

Bert Cunningham, Duke University.

C. C. Furnas, Yale University.

Dr. Neil E. Gordon, Central College, Fayette, Mo.

Joel S. Georges, Wright Jr. College, Chicago.

M. F. Guyer, University of Wisconsin.

E. R. Hedrick, University of California.

C. J. Lapp, University of Iowa.

Kirtley Mather, Harvard University.

Homer C. Sampson, the Ohio State University.

Paul B. Sears, the University of Oklahoma.

Report submitted by the Committee on Place of Science in Education.

Otis W. Caldwell, Chairman

## AWARDS OF THE ELIZABETH THOMPSON SCIENCE FUND

AT a meeting of the trustees of the Elizabeth Thompson Science Fund held on April 20, the following grants were awarded:

\$200 to Dr. Kurt G. Stern, Yale University, for the continuation of his work on the constitution of catalase and the mechanism of enzyme action; \$257 to Dr. Ludvig G. Browman, the Montana State University, for studies of oestrous and activity rhythms of rats under various light conditions; \$59.41 to Dr. C. R. Johnson, the University of Texas, for research on atomic weights of various elements, particularly cadmium; \$200 to Dr. J. O. Pinkston, the American University of Beirut, for a study of the pharmacological relationship between certain sympathomimetic drugs and chemical mediators of the sympathetic nervous system; \$325 to Leigh Chadwick and Dr. H. E. Edgerton, Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, to obtain highspeed motion pictures of insects in flight; \$150 to Dr. L. T. Evans, the Montana State University, for work on the relation of the male sex hormone in mating and territory behavior and of anti-hormones in turtles and lizards; \$250 to Dr. Edward Girden, for a continuation of his study of auditory phenomena.

The trustees of the fund are as follows: G. P. Baxter, president; Jeffries Wyman, Jr., secretary; Charles P. Curtis, treasurer; G. B. Wislocki, J. C. Slater, A. C. Redfield, trustees. The next meeting will be held in April, 1939, and applications for grants should be made to the Secretary, Biological Laboratories, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass.

## CONFERENCE ON SPECTROSCOPY AT THE MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

A SIXTH spectroscopy conference will be held at the George Eastman Research Laboratories of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology on July 18, 19 and 20, repeating the type of program presented at the conferences held during the past five summers. Reports will be given by spectroscopists from university and industrial research and analytical laboratories, and by biologists, geologists, metallurgists, chemists and physicists who have found spectroscopic equipment useful in their investigations.

Morning and afternoon meetings will be held on three days. Papers and discussions on analysis of materials by the emission spectrum, absorption spectrophotometry, photographic photometry, biological and chemical effects of spectral radiation, and industrial applications of spectroscopy, are being prepared. Copies of the detailed program of the conference will be sent on request to anyone interested, but as the attendance at the conference is limited to two hundred, those expecting to attend from a distance are urged to signify in advance their intention of being present. No fee is charged in connection with the conference.

The usual summer courses on practical and applied spectroscopy will be offered at the institute between June 13 and July 23. Requests for fuller information regarding the conference, including titles of the papers to be presented, and for data regarding the summer courses, should be addressed to Professor George R. Harrison, Department of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

## AMERICAN ACADEMY OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, held on May 11 at its house, 28 Newbury Street, Boston, 37 new fellows and 16 foreign honorary members were elected. Following are those elected to the scientific sections:

## FELLOWS

Mathematical and Physical Sciences

Emile Monnin Chamot, Cornell University.

Alfred Victor de Forest, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

John Charles Duncan, Wellesley College.

Robert Casad Hockett, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

E. Morton Jellinek, Worcester.

John Moyes Lessells, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Harold Clayton Urey, Columbia University.

Natural and Physiological Sciences
Marland Pratt Billings, Harvard University.
Kenneth Vivian Thimann, Harvard University.
George Bernays Wislocki, Harvard University.

Foreign Honorary Members
Edgar Douglas Adrian, Cambridge, England.