Naval Observatory, Washington, D. C., and to Paul Sollenberger, Naval Observatory, Washington, D. C., "in consideration of their invention of a device combining a crystal controlled clock with a stroboscopic reading element and apparatus for emitting radio time signals, whereby the accuracy of these signals has been increased and the labor of preparing for their transmission reduced."

The Longstreth Medal jointly to Norman F. S. Russell, president, United States Pipe and Foundry Company, Burlington, N. J., and to Dr. Frederick C. Langenberg (deceased), "in consideration of the development of means for reducing the rate of cooling of iron pipe cast by the centrifugal process in externally cooled metal molds"; to Clarence W. Balke, director of research, Fansteel Metallurgical Corporation, Chicago, "in consideration of his scientific work in chemistry and metallurgy which resulted in the development of processes for the production and commercial utilization of Columbium and Tantalum."

As previously announced the Franklin Medals will be awarded to Dr. William Frederick Durand, professor emeritus of mechanical engineering at Stanford University, and to Dr. Charles A. Kraus, professor of chemistry and director of research in chemistry at Brown University.

The medals will be presented on Friday, May 20, in Franklin Hall, at the foot of the heroic white marble statue of Benjamin Franklin, sculptured by James Earle Fraser, which is to be unveiled on May 19. All recipients of medals will be guests of the Franklin Institute at the dedication banquet on Saturday, May 21, at 8:00 p.m., at the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel, when Mr. Hoover will make the address.

RECENT DEATHS

Dr. Maurice Crowther Hall, chief of the Zoological Division of the National Institute of Public Health,

U. S. Public Health Service, died on May 1 in his fifty-seventh year.

Dr. Wade Hampton Frost, professor of epidemiology at the School of Hygiene and Public Health of the Johns Hopkins University, of which he was dean from 1931 to 1934, died on April 31 at the age of fiftyeight years.

Dr. Robert Tait McKenzie, J. William Wright research professor of physical education at the University of Pennsylvania, sculptor and physician, died on April 28 at the age of seventy years.

Dr. Ross V. Patterson, Sutherland M. Prevost professor of therapeutics and dean of the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, died on May 2 at the age of sixty years.

Dr. Francis Baker Laney, since 1920 head of the department of geology at the University of Idaho, died on April 24 at the age of sixty-three years.

Dr. John M. Buck, senior bacteriologist and assistant superintendent of the Federal Animal Disease Station at the Experiment Station at Bethesda, Md., died on May 2 at the age of fifty-nine years.

Dr. Lewis Webb Crigler, surgeon director for ophthalmology of the Manhattan Eye, Ear and Throat Hospital, died suddenly on April 31. He was sixtyone years old.

Nature reports the death of Professor F. Mesnil, of the Pasteur Institute of Paris, member of the Section of Anatomy and Zoology of the Paris Academy of Sciences, aged seventy years, and of Professor Otto Naegeli, professor of internal medicine and director of the Medical Clinic in Zurich, known for his work on diseases of the blood, aged sixty-seven years.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Thomas Parran, surgeon-general of the U. S. Public Health Service, has been awarded the Mendel Medal of Villanova College, "in recognition of his scientific approach to the problems of public health."

THE George M. Kober Medal for distinguished service to medicine was presented on May 4, at the meeting of the Association of American Physicians held in Atlantic City, to Dr. Rufus Cole, member emeritus of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York, formerly director of its hospital.

The Howard Taylor Ricketts prize of the University of Chicago has been awarded to John Marshall Weir, Ph.D. (Chicago, '37), last year assistant professor of anatomy at the University of Mississippi, for his researches on long reactions on blood vessels. The

Ricketts prize was established in 1913 to honor Dr. Howard Taylor Ricketts, of the University of Chicago, who discovered the typhus germ and died a martyr to his discovery in Mexico.

The annual dinner of the trustees of the American Museum of Natural History was given in honor of Dr. Frank M. Chapman, curator of the department of birds, who has completed a half century of service to the museum. An illuminated scroll was presented to him.

A SPECIAL feature of the thirteenth annual meeting of the Midwestern Psychological Association at the University of Wisconsin on April 22 and 23 was a golden anniversary dinner, at which Dr. Joseph Jastrow and Dr. Clark L. Hull were the guests of honor.