Lectures on applied science centering around the theme "Franklin—Printer and Business Man" will be given from ten to twelve on Saturday. The speakers will be:

Dr. W. E. Wickenden, president of the Case School of Applied Science, Cleveland; Dr. Willis R. Whitney, vice-president in charge of research, General Electric Company; Dr. Abel Wolman, chief engineer, Maryland State Department of Health, Baltimore, and Dr. Harvey N. Davis, president of the Stevens Institute of Technology.

In the evening at 8:30 the ceremonies of the conferring of degrees by the University of Pennsylvania and the award of medals by the Franklin Institute will take place in Franklin Hall. There will be music by the Curtis Symphony Orchestra. A special program under the auspices of the Poor Richard Club of Philadelphia has been arranged for 2:30 on Saturday at which awards will be made to winners of an essay contest on "What Franklin Did for America and for Us Who Live To-day." The celebration will close with a banquet at the Bellevue-Stratford Hotel at which the Honorable Herbert C. Hoover will be the principal speaker.

Special exhibits in all departments of the museum showing the development of science from Franklin's day to the present, especially in the fields in which he was interested, will be placed on display beginning on May 19 and continuing for a limited period thereafter.

MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences held in Washington on April 25, 26 and 27 members were elected as follows:

Section of Mathematics:

Marshall Harvey Stone, Harvard University. Section of Astronomy:

John Adam Fleming, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington. Section of Physics: Carl David Anderson, California Institute of Technology.

George Walter Stewart, University of Iowa. Section of Engineering:

Theodor von Kármán, California Institute of Technology.

Warren Kendall Lewis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Section of Chemistry:

Carl Shipp Marvel, University of Illinois. Worth Huff Rodebush, University of Illinois. Section of Geology and Paleontology:

Walter Hermann Bucher, University of Cincinnati. Section of Botany:

Lewis John Stadler, University of Missouri. Section of Zoology and Anatomy:

Theophilus Shickel Painter, University of Texas. Section of Physiology and Biochemistry:

William deBerniere MacNider, University of North Carolina.

Edward Adelberg Doisy, St. Louis University. Section of Pathology and Bacteriology:

Simeon Burt Wolbach, Harvard University.

Section of Anthropology and Psychology:
Louis Leon Thurstone, University of Chicago.

Foreign members elected were:

Alfred Fowler, professor of astrophysics, Imperial College, University of London.

Pierre Janet, professor of psychology, College of France, Paris.

S. P. L. Sorensen, director of the chemical division of the Carlsberg Laboratory, Copenhagen.

D. M. S. Watson, Jodrell professor of zoology and comparative anatomy, University College, London.

Dr. F. K. Richtmyer, professor of physics and dean of the Graduate School of Cornell University, and Dr. E. D. Merrill, professor of botany, administrator of botanical collections and director of the Arnold Arboretum at Harvard University, were elected members of the council for a three-year term, beginning on July 1, 1938.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the recent meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, the Alexander Agassiz Gold Medal for contributions to oceanography was presented to Dr. Edgar Johnson Allen, for forty-two years director of the Plymouth Laboratory of the Marine Biological Association of Great Britain. The Public Welfare Medal for eminence in the application of science to the public welfare was presented to Dr. Willis R. Whitney, vice-president in charge of research of the General Electric Company. The presentation address for the Agassiz Medal was made by Professor Edwin G. Conklin, of Princeton University, executive vice-president

of the American Philosophical Society, and the presentation address for the Public Welfare Medal was made by Dr. Albert W. Hull, of the General Electric Company, chairman of the committee that recommended the award.

The John F. Lewis Prize of \$300 and an illuminated diploma awarded "to the American citizen who shall announce at any general or special meeting of the American Philosophical Society and publish among its papers, some truth which the council of the society shall deem worthy of award" was given at its recent meeting to Professor Arthur J. Dempster, of the Uni-