Consumers' Project, U. S. Department of Labor National Bureau of Standards Association of Consulting Chemists and Chemical Engineers

National Electrical Manufacturers Association

National Retail Dry Goods Association

National Federation of Textiles

THE OTTAWA MEETING OF THE SOCIETY OF CHEMICAL INDUSTRY

THE annual meeting of the Society of Chemical Industry will be held at Ottawa from June 20 to 24, in conjunction with the twenty-first Canadian Chemical Convention. *Industrial and Engineering Chemistry* reports that a large party of British chemists, including representatives of government technical departments, professors and industrialists, headed by Lord Leverhulme, governor of Lever Brothers, Ltd., and of Uni-Lever, Ltd., will visit Canada on this occasion and will be joined by chemists from the United States. Canadian chemists from all parts of the Dominion will be the hosts of the British and American visitors.

Other prominent British visitors will be J. Davidson Pratt, general manager of the Association of British Chemical Manufacturers; L. Jordan, director of the British Paint Research Laboratories; Foster Sproxton, an authority on plastics, who will deliver the Jubilee Memorial lecture on June 20; L. H. Lampitt, chief chemist of Messrs. Lyons, and W. A. S. Calder, a director of Imperial Chemical Industries.

Technical sessions will be held each morning. Visits to plants and to places of interest around Ottawa and various social functions complete the program. Dr. L. H. Baekeland will be the recipient of the Messel Medal, and Dr. Marston T. Bogert, of Columbia University, will deliver an address. On the twenty-first there will be a symposium on "The Utilization of Canada's Natural Resources through Chemical Research," at which several prominent industrialists and chemists will present summaries of the great advances made in the last ten years in the production of chemicals and related products derived from Canadian fields, forests, mines and water powers. Papers dealing with road and building materials, foods, industrial and chemical engineering developments will be presented at sectional meetings on June 22, as well as accounts of the latest research in pure chemistry and biochemistry in Canada.

From Quebec, where the British party is to land on June 17, the visitors will proceed to Shawinigan Falls and then to Ottawa. After the meeting, the party will visit Sudbury, Toronto, Port Hope, Kingston, Hamilton and Niagara Falls, where they will be entertained by the American section of the society. From Niagara Falls, they travel to Montreal, spending three days inspecting places of scenic and technical interest in the neighborhood, before returning to Great Britain on July 1.

The members of the American Section of the Committee on Arrangements for the Niagara Falls visit include: Frank J. Tone, of Niagara Falls, *chairman*, James G. Vail, Wallace P. Cohoe, C. S. Kimball and J. W. H. Randall.

THE AMERICAN COMMITTEE FOR INTER-NATIONAL WILD LIFE PROTECTION

THE American Committee for International Wild Life Protection, which for seven years has had office space in the Museum of Comparative Zoology in Cambridge, Massachusetts, has transferred its headquarters to the administration offices of the New York Zoological Society in the New York Zoological Park, New York City. The new executive committee consists of Childs Frick, *chairman*, Harold J. Coolidge, Jr., Warren Kinney, Dr. John C. Phillips and Laurance Rockefeller. Dr. W. Reid Blair succeeds Harold J. Coolidge, Jr., as executive secretary. There have been additions to the advisory board, which is made up as follows:

Thomas Barbour, for the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Frederick R. Burnham, for the California Academy of Sciences; Charles M. B. Cadwalader, for the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia; James L. Clark, for the Camp Fire Club of America; Harold J. Coolidge, Jr., for the American Society of Mammalogists; W. Redmond Cross, for the New York Zoological Society; Stanley Field, for the Field Museum of Natural History; Frank B. Foster, for the Philadelphia Zoological Society; Childs Frick, for the American Museum of Natural History; Joseph Grinnell, for the Museum of Vertebrate Zoology, University of California; William P. Harris, Jr., for the Museum of Zoology, University of Michigan; Edward House, for the Carnegie Museum; Edward Mallinckrodt, Jr., for the Washington University, St. Louis; John T. McCutcheon, for the Chicago Zoological Society; Robert T. Moore, for the California Institute of Technology; John C. Phillips, for the American Wildlife Institute; Kermit Roosevelt, for the National Association of Audubon Societies; Dean Sage, Jr., for the Boone and Crockett Club; Rodolphe M. de Schauensee, for the Wilderness Club; Alexander Wetmore, for the Smithsonian Institution.

The American committee will continue to operate independently as heretofore, and this transfer of the office to new quarters in the New York Zoological Park will in no way affect the status or continuing policies. The committee has recently issued its ninth publication, the title of which is "The Organization of Nature Protection in the Various Countries," by G. A. Brouwer.