- C. H. Best, professor of physiology, University of Toronto.
- W. Brown, professor of plant pathology, Imperial College of Science and Technology.
- J. W. Cook, professor of chemistry, the Research Institute, Royal Cancer Hospital.
- T. L. Eckersley, research physicist, Marconi's Wireless Telegraph Company.
- G. I. Finch, professor of applied physical chemistry, Imperial College of Science and Technology.
- W. E. Gye, director of the laboratories of the Imperial Cancer Research Fund.
- W. V. D. Hodge, Lowndean professor of astronomy and geometry, University of Cambridge.
- J. S. Huxley, secretary of the Zoological Society of London.
 - J. Jackson, H.M. astronomer at the Cape.
 - Sir Robert Mond, chemist and Egyptologist.
 - J. E. Richey, district surveyor, H.M. Geological Survey.
- F. S. Russell, naturalist at the Marine Biological Association.
- B. F. J. Schonland, professor of physics, University of Cape Town.
- F. S. Sinnatt, director of fuel research, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.
- K. M. Smith, senior research assistant, Plant Virus Station, Cambridge.
- E. Stedman, lecturer in department of chemistry in relation to medicine, University of Edinburgh.
- C. E. Tilley, professor of mineralogy and petrology, University of Cambridge.
- W. E. S. Turner, professor of glass technology, University of Sheffield.
- H. H. Woollard, professor of anatomy, University College, London.

THE FEDERATION OF AMERICAN SOCIETIES FOR EXPERIMENTAL BIOLOGY

THE Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology will meet in Baltimore on March 30 and 31 and April 1 and 2. The federation is composed of the American Physiological Society, the American Society of Biochemists, the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics and the American Society for Experimental Pathology.

This annual meeting will be unique in that it will celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the American Physiological Society. The addresses at the banquet will be devoted to commemorating the work of the three men who organized the society and directed the first three physiological laboratories in the country. Dr. Walter B. Cannon, of Harvard University, will speak on Henry P. Bowditch; Dr. Anton J. Carlson, of the University of Chicago, on S. Weir Mitchell, and Dr. William H. Howell, of the Johns Hopkins University, on H. Newell Martin. Dr. Walter E. Garrey, president of the society, will introduce Dr. William T. Porter, honorary president, who will act as toastmaster.

All the original members of the society now living, together with the past presidents, representatives of other biological societies in this country and of the English and Canadian physiological societies, are expected to attend as guests. To further commemorate the occasion an illustrated history of the American Physiological Society is in process of publication. It will contain articles by William H. Howell and Charles W. Greene, with a foreword by Walter J. Meek.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. H. C. Christensen, secretary of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, has been awarded the Remington Medal for 1938. The presentation will be made at a coming meeting of the New York Branch of the American Pharmaceutical Association. The medal is awarded annually to the "man or woman who has done most for American pharmacy during the preceding year or during a longer period of outstanding activity and of fruitful achievement."

PROFESSOR F. E. TURNEAURE, dean emeritus of the College of Engineering of the University of Wisconsin, and Dr. D. W. Mead, professor emeritus of hydraulic and sanitary engineering, were presented with honorary memberships in the Engineering Society of Wisconsin at the annual convention, which was held from March 17 to 19. At a banquet in the evening of March 17 the speakers were: President C. A. Dykstra, Colonel E. E. Gesler and C. R. Martin, of Milwaukee.

Dr. Ross G. Harrison, Sterling professor of biology at Yale University, has been elected a foreign member of the Zoological Society of London.

Dr. George B. Barbour, associate professor of geology in the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences of the University of Cincinnati, has been elected an honorary member of the Geological Society of Belgium.

An honorary degree will be conferred on Dr. Harry Steenbock, professor of agricultural chemistry at the University of Wisconsin, at the eighty-fifth commencement exercises of the university on June 20.

The honorary membership of the Rittenhouse Astronomical Society of Philadelphia was conferred upon Dr. Knut Lundmark, director of the observatory at the University of Lund, Sweden, at a joint meeting of the society with the Franklin Institute on March 24. Dr. John H. Pitman, of the Sproul Observatory, president