Anderson, of the California Institute of Technology; to the late Dr. Julius A. Nieuwland, of Notre Dame University, and to Dr. E. V. McCollum, of the Johns Hopkins University.

## THE SOUTHWESTERN DIVISION OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

The eighteenth annual meeting of the Southwestern Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science will meet in association with the Southwestern Section, Mathematical Association of America, at Albuquerque, New Mexico, from April 25 to 28. The University of New Mexico will be the host institution for this meeting. Dr. John D. Clark, University of New Mexico, is chairman of the general committee in charge of local arrangements.

On Monday evening, April 25, the John Wesley Powell Lecture will be given by Dr. E. R. Hedrick, provost of the University of California at Los Angeles, on "The Relation of Science to Economics and to War." This lecture is sponsored by the Southwestern Division as a courtesy to the community in which the meeting is held, and is open to the general public.

On Wednesday evening the presidential address will be delivered on the topic of "The Origin of Subterranean Carbon Dioxide" by Dr. F. E. E. Germann, University of Colorado.

On Thursday, April 28, an all-day excursion is planned which will be of general interest to all the sections of the division. The route of the excursion will include the historic camping site of Coronado, present-day and prehistoric Indian villages and some of the most interesting geological formations of the state. Much of the trip lies through national forests, and the Forestry Service staff, located at Albuquerque, is cooperating with the division in the matter of guides and transportation.

The opening general session of the meetings will be held on Monday morning at eleven o'clock, and sectional meetings start at two o'clock of the same day. A feature of Monday afternoon will be the reception tendered to the association and its guests by Dr. F. J. Zimmerman, president of the University of New Mexico, at his home. Sigma Xi is planning a dinner and address for Tuesday evening, April 26. In addition several other sectional dinners and luncheons are being planned. Numerous scientific and commercial exhibits are being scheduled which will place more than the usual emphasis upon this aspect of the program.

Titles of papers to be read at the meetings should be sent directly to the following section chairmen or secretaries:

Biological Science Section:

Chairman: R. J. Gilmore, Department of Biology, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Secretary: R. H. Canfield, Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Mathematics Section (Southwestern Section, Mathematical Association of America):

Chairman: R. F. Graesser, Department of Mathematics, University of Arizona, Tucson, Ariz.

Secretary: W. C. Risselman, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Los Angeles, California.

Physical Science Section:

Chairman: W. M. Craig, Department of Chemistry, Texas Technological College, Lubbock, Texas.

Secretary: C. W. Botkin, Department of Chemistry, New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts, State College, New Mexico.

Social Science Section:

Chairman: D. D. Brand, Department of Anthropology, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico. Secretary: W. H. Hill, Department of Anthropology, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico.

> VEON C. KIECH, Secretary

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The Bruce Gold Medal of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific has been awarded to Dr. Edwin P. Hubble, of the Mount Wilson Observatory. The Board of Directors of the society each year selects the recipient of the award from the nominations of the directors of six observatories: Greenwich, Paris, Córdoba, Harvard, Yerkes and Lick.

The cross of the Order of Leopold II has been conferred by King Leopold III of Belgium on Dr. Hugh S. Taylor, chairman of the department of chemistry of Princeton University, in appreciation of his services to education while occupant in 1937 of the Francqui chair at the University of Louvain.

THE gold medal of the International Faculty of Sciences, London, given in recognition of contributions to scientific advancement, was awarded on January 21 to Dr. Ellice McDonald, director of the Biochemical Research Foundation of the Franklin Institute, for his contributions to cancer research.

DR. EDWARD L. KEYES, JR., professor of urology in the Cornell University Medical School, in recognition of his "outstanding service to humanity," was presented with the William Freeman Snow medal of the American Social Hygiene Association at the twenty-fourth annual dinner meeting in New York City on February 3.