On

be considered fresh water from Nicaragua and Brazil. Brues<sup>2</sup> cited some of these records from Rathbun's previous papers.

The blue crab invades pure fresh water and probably

## SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

## THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE eighteenth annual meeting of the Mineralogical Society of America was held at the Hotel Washington, Washington, D. C., from December 28 to 30, 1937, in conjunction with the Geological Society of America. Over one hundred and fifty members of the society, from all parts of the United States, were present.

The following officers for the coming year, 1938, were elected: President. Ellis Thomson. of the University of Toronto; Vice-president, Kenneth K. Landes, of the University of Kansas; Secretary, Paul F. Kerr, of Columbia University; Treasurer, Waldemar T. Schaller, of the United States Geological Survey; Editor, Walter F. Hunt, of the University of Michigan. R. C. Emmons, of the University of Wisconsin, was elected councilor for the period 1938-1941.

The following members were elected to fellowship: Henry R. Aldrich, assistant secretary of the Geological Society of America; Donald M. Fraser, of Lehigh University; William T. Gordon, of Kings College, London; M. S. Krishnan, of the Geological Survey of India; Donald H. McLaughlin, of Harvard University; James A. Noble, of the Homestake Mining Company; Frederick H. Pough, of the American Museum of Natural History; V. Rosicky, of the University Masaryks Brno, Czechoslovakia; Quentin D. Singewald, of the University of Rochester; Benjamin M. Shaub, of Smith College; Lloyd W. Staples, of Oregon State College; Edward H. Watson, of Bryn Mawr College.

The retiring address of the president, Dr. Norman L. Bowen, of the University of Chicago, was delivered before a joint session of the Geological Society of America and the Mineralogical Society of America on Tuesday, December 28. Dr. Bowen's topic was "Mente et Malleo atque Catino." Dr. Bowen stressed the importance of the coordinated three-fold attack on experimental problems in the development of mineralogical science.

Four sessions for the presentation of papers were held. On Tuesday afternoon, December 28, a joint session with the Geological Society of America and the Society of Economic Geologists was held for the presentation of papers on petrography and economic phases of mineralogy, with William S. Bayley, vicepresident of the Geological Society of America, as chairman. After the joint session, a regular session for the presentation of papers dealing with new developments in scientific equipment was held. A number

does so over its whole range from Nova Scotia to Uruguay. GORDON GUNTER

MATAGORDA BAY OYSTER FARMS, INC., MATAGORDA, TEXAS

of novel optical developments in the application of polarized light to the microscope were offered. Wednesday afternoon, December 29, papers dealing with new developments in mineralogy were presented. Among other contributions, the new mineral yeatman-

ite from Franklin, New Jersey, was described. On Thursday morning, December 30, a session was held for the presentation of papers on geometrical crystallography, structure of crystals and mineral optics. President Bowen, together with past presidents E. T. Wherry, of the University of Pennsylvania, and A. L. Parsons, of the University of Toronto, presided over the various technical sessions of the society.

On Wednesday, December 29, the annual luncheon of the society took place in the Sun Parlor of the Hotel Washington. During the luncheon, President Bowen introduced Dean Edward H. Kraus, who presented the Roebling Medal to its first recipient, Dr. Charles Palache, of Harvard University. The Roebling Medal is named in honor of the late Colonel Washington A. Roebling and is awarded for "meritorious achievement in mineralogy and allied sciences."

The nineteenth annual meeting of the society will be held from December 28 to 30, 1938, in New York City.

> PAUL F. KERR, Secretary.

## THE AMERICAN ORNITHOLOGISTS' UNION

THE fifty-fifth annual meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union was held at the Charleston Museum, South Carolina, from November 15 to 18, 1937. The three days of program sessions included a like number of evening entertainments: Open house at the museum, the annual dinner and a tour of a selected group of colonial homes in Charleston. On the fourth day more than two hundred ornithologists in attendance visited Bull's Island of the U.S. Biological Survey, Cape Romain Refuge.

Officers elected for the new year were as follows: President, Dr. Herbert Freidmann, Washington, D. C.; Vice-presidents, Dr. J. P. Chapin, New York City, and Dr. J. L. Peters, Cambridge; Secretary, Dr. Lawrence E. Hicks, Columbus; Treasurer, W. L. McAtee, Washington, D. C.; Council, Dr. R. C. Murphy, New York City, Dr. T. S. Palmer, Washington, D. C., Hayes Lloyd, Ottawa, and Dr. Josselyn Van Tyne, Ann Arbor.

The Brewster Medal Award was made to Dr. Robert