has been directing research in aluminum ever since he was appointed to his present post in 1918.

Born in Minneapolis, he studied at the University of Minnesota, where the degree of analytical chemist was conferred on him in 1905; a year later he received a master's degree. After studying at the University of Berlin, he joined the teaching staff of the University of Minnesota. His postgraduate work resulted in a doctor's degree, received in 1912.

In 1915 Dr. Frary joined the staff of the Oldbury Electrochemical Company, Niagara Falls, N. Y., as research chemist. There he acquired a special experience in the production of phosgene, which led during the war to his selection, with Professor D. J. Demorest, to build and operate a phosgene plant at Edgewood Arsenal. At the close of the war, Dr. Frary was a major in the Chemical Warfare Service.

In December, 1918, he took up his work as director of research of the Aluminum Company of America. Starting at New Kensington with a small group of men, he gradually built up the Aluminum Research Laboratories to their present position. In the past nineteen years, Dr. Frary made important contributions to the chemistry and metallurgy of aluminum. Among the many achievements which have been credited to him may be mentioned the production, for the first time, of very pure aluminum (99.98 + per cent.) by an electrochemical process, and the production of pure aluminum oxide by an electrothermal process.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF TROPICAL MEDICINE

THE fourth annual meeting of the American Academy of Tropical Medicine convened in New Orleans on December 3. At the dinner Dr. George C. Shattuck, department of tropical medicine, Harvard University, Boston, Mass., presided as toastmaster. The presidential address, entitled "The Importance of Environment in the Study of Tropical Diseases," was delivered by Dr. Wilbur A. Sawyer, director of the International Health Division of the Rockefeller Foundation, New York City. The first award of the Theobald Smith Medal of Washington University was made by Colonel Charles F. Craig, past president of the academy, to Dr. Marshall A. Barber, staff member of the International Health Division of the Rockefeller Foundation, for his many significant laboratory and field contributions to tropical medicine. In announcing the award of this medal in the issue of SCIENCE for December 3, an error was made through which the names of Colonel Craig and Dr. Barber were reversed.

Colonel R. A. Kelser, the U. S. Army Medical Research Board, Ancon, Canal Zone; Dr. J. C. Bequaert, department of tropical medicine, Harvard Medical School, and Dr. Norman R. Stoll, Rockefeller Institute

for Medical Research, Princton, were elected members, and Sir S. Rickard Christophers, London School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, London; Professor Jerome Rodhain, Institut de Médecine Tropicale Prince Léopold, Anvers, Belgium, and Dr. Henrique do Rocha Lima, Instituto Biologico, São Paulo, Brazil, were elected honorary members. Newly elected officers and councillors were as follows: President, Colonel Joseph F. Siler, Army Medical School, Washington, D. C.; Vice-president, Professor W. W. Cort, School of Hygiene, the Johns Hopkins University; Secretary, Professor Ernest Carroll Faust, department of tropical medicine, Tulane University of Louisiana; Treasurer, Dr. Thomas T. Mackie, Cornell Medical Center, New York City; Councillors, Professor Malcolm H. Soule, Hygienic Laboratory, University of Michigan (1 year); Professor Alfred C. Reed, Pacific Institute of Tropical Medicine, University of California (5 years); academy representative on the council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. Malcolm H. Soule; academy representative on the council of the American Foundation for Tropical Medicine, Dean Earl B. McKinley, George Washington University.

> ERNEST CARROLL FAUST, Secretary

THE THIRD INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS FOR MICROBIOLOGY

THE third International Congress for Microbiology will be held at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel, New York City, from September 2 to 9, 1939, under the auspices of the International Association of Microbiologists.

Dr. T. M. Rivers, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, is president of the congress; Dr. M. H. Dawson, of the College of Physicians and Surgeons, Columbia University, is general secretary, and Dr. Kenneth Goodner, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, is general treasurer.

The congress will be composed of the following nine sections:

- General Biology: Variation and Taxonomy: convener, C.-E. A. Winslow.
- General Biology: Microbiological Chemistry and Physiology: convener, Stuart Mudd.
- Viruses and Viral Diseases: convener, W. A. Sawyer.
- Rickettsiae and Rickettsial Diseases: convener, Hans Zinsser.
- Protozoology and Parasitology: convener, H. W. Stunkard.

Fungi and Fungous Diseases: convener, B. O. Dodge.

- Medical and Veterinary Bacteriology: convener, F. P. Gay.
- Agricultural and Industrial Microbiology: convener, S. A. Waksman.

Immunology: convener, M. Heidelberger.