## MEDALLISTS AND OFFICERS OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY

THE following awards of medals have been made by the president and council of the Royal Society:

Royal Medals to Professor Nevil Vincent Sidgwick, F.R.S., in recognition of his distinguished, stimulating and continuous work on valency and on molecular structure, and to Professor Arthur Henry Reginald Buller, F.R.S., in recognition of his researches on the general biology and sexuality of the fungi.

The Copley Medal to Sir Henry Dale, F.R.S., in recognition of his important contributions to pharmacology, particularly to the pharmacology of muscle and of neuromyscular transmission.

The Davy Medal to Professor Hans Fischer, in recognition of his work on the chemistry of the porphyrins, particularly his determination of their detailed structure by degradation and his syntheses of porphyrins of biological importance.

The Buchanan Medal to General F. F. Russell in recognition of his work in relation to public health problems in many parts of the world on behalf of the International Health Division of the Rockefeller Foundation.

The Sylvester Medal to Professor A. E. H. Love, F.R.S., in recognition of his researches in classical mathematical physics, particularly the mathematical theories of elasticity and hydrodynamics.

The Hughes Medal to Professor Ernest O. Lawrence in recognition of his work on the development of the cyclotron and its application to investigation of nuclear distintegration.

The following is a list of those recommended by the president and council for election to the council of the Royal Society at the anniversary meeting on November 30:

Sir William Bragg, president; Sir Henry Lyons, treasurer; Sir Frank Smith and Professor A. V. Hill, secretaries; Sir Albert Seward, foreign secretary.

Other members of Council: Professor R. Whytlaw-Gray, Professor G. P. Thomson, Professor J. Proudman, Professor D. M. S. Watson, Dr. F. L. Pyman, Professor E. J. Salisbury, Professor S. P. Bedson, Professor M. Greenwood, Professor J. Mellanby, Sir Thomas Holland, Dr. G. T. Bennett, Professor J. Chadwick, Professor D. Keilin, Professor J. Graham Kerr, Sir Robert Pickard and Mr. H. R. Ricardo.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Carl Voegtlin, in addition to his present work as chief of the Division of Pharmacology in the National Institute of Health, has been appointed by Surgeon General Parran as director of cancer research in the U. S. Public Health Service.

THE retirement is announced of Dr. Rudolf Ruedemann, New York State paleontologist. Dr. Ruedemann was appointed assistant paleontologist in 1899 and has been state paleontologist since 1926.

The honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred upon Dr. Annie Jump Cannon, curator of astronomical photographs at the Harvard College Observatory, at the Mount Holyoke Founder's Day exercises, which marked the completion of the first hundred years of the college. Dr. Cannon made an address entitled "Stars over the Sea."

At the August commencement of the Texas Technological College the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred on Clifford Winslow Seibel in recognition of his researches on helium. Dr. Seibel is supervising engineer of the helium plant and cryogenic laboratory of the Bureau of Mines at Amarillo, Texas.

THE University of Sheffield has conferred the honorary degree of doctor of metallurgy on Dr. George B. Waterhouse, professor of metallurgical production at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and president of the American Society of Metals. The

degree was awarded in absentia at a recent congregation of the college.

Among the honorary degrees to be conferred by the University of Reading on the occasion of the installation of Sir Samuel Hoare as chancellor of the university on November 29 is the doctorate of science on Professor James Chadwick, director of research in radioactivity in the Cavendish Laboratory of the University of Cambridge, and on Sir Edward B. Poulton, formerly Hope professor of zoology at the University of Oxford, this year president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science.

THE Brewster Medal of the American Ornithologists Union "for outstanding ornithological achievement" during the year was awarded on November 17 at the Charleston meeting to Dr. Robert Cushman Murphy, of the American Museum of Natural History, for his work on "Oceanic Birds of South America."

KING LEOPOLD of Belgium decided several months ago to confer the Grand Cordon of the Order of Leopold on Guglielmo Marconi, but his death on July 20 occurred before this could be done. It will now be conferred posthumously. The insignia which the King intended to present personally to Marconi will be forwarded to his family through the Belgian Embassy in Rome.

THE Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society will hold a special meeting at the Stevens