American Society of Civil Engineers—Alonzo J. Hammond, George S. Davison, Arthur S. Tuttle, Daniel W. Mead.

American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers—Frederick M. Becket, Howard N. Eavenson, Henry A. Buehler, John M. Lovejoy.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers—A. A. Potter, Paul Doty, Ralph E. Flanders, William L. Batt.

American Institute of Electrical Engineers—John B. Whitehead, Arthur W. Berresford, A. M. MacCutcheon.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. Will Scott, professor of zoology at Indiana University, died on October 17 at the age of sixty years. Dr. Scott is known for his work in Indiana caves and lakes. He was a past president of the Indiana Academy of Science.

Dr. Louis Gross, director of the laboratories of Mount Sinai Hospital, New York City, was killed in the United Air Lines plane disaster in northeastern Utah on October 17. He was forty-two years old.

COLONEL DAVID ALEXANDER LYLE, retired engineer

and inventor, died on October 12 at the age of ninety-two years.

Dr. Harold Benjamin Fantham, Strathcona professor of zoology at McGill University, died on October 26 in his sixty-second year.

SIR JOHN THOMSON-WALKER, British surgeon, a specialist on urological diseases, died on October 6 at the age of sixty years.

A MEMORIAL service was held at Cornell University on October 18 in honor of the late Professors Cyrus R. Crosby and Peter W. Claassen. The speakers included Professor James G. Needham, emeritus, and Professor Liberty Hyde Bailey, emeritus.

Nature states that J. W. O. Hamilton, who has offered sums to found prizes for radio research at the Universities of Cambridge, Melbourne, Sydney and Tasmania, has written to the vice-chancellor of the University of Cambridge, offering the sum of £500 for this purpose. Mr. Hamilton has expressed a desire that the names of James Clerk Maxwell and Sir Ambrose Fleming, both Cambridge men, should be associated with the prize.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

An Associated Press dispatch dated from Stockholm on October 28 reports that Dr. Albert von Szent-Györgyi, professor of medicine at Szeged University, Hungary, has been awarded the Nobel Prize for Physiology and Medicine for 1937, in recognition of "his discoveries on the biological process of combustion, especially in relation to vitamins A and C."

Dr. Simon Flexner, George Eastman visiting professor at the University of Oxford, has been elected to a professorial fellowship at Balliol College. Others elected were Professor J. A. Gunn, director of the Nuffield Institute of Medical Research, and Professor J. H. Burn, who succeeded Professor Gunn in the chair of pharmacology.

Dr. Louis Alan Hazeltine, professor of mathematics at the Stevens Institute of Technology, at the annual dinner in New York City of the Radio Club of America on October 29 was presented with the Armstrong Medal and citation for 1937 "in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the art and science of radio communication." He is the first to receive the award, which was established by the Radio Club in 1935 in honor of the achievements of Major Edwin H. Armstrong, professor of electrical engineering at Columbia University.

THE Cuban Order of Carlos Manuel de Cespedes has been conferred on Van Campen Heilner, field representative of the department of ichthyology of

the American Museum of Natural History, in recognition of his friendship for the Cuban people and for the work that he has done to promote game fishing in that country.

Henry R. Luce, president of Time, Inc., was presented with the first Clement Cleveland Medal of the New York City Cancer Committee of the American Society for the Control of Cancer at a dinner given on October 21 at the Town Hall Club. The medal, awarded for "outstanding work during the year in the campaign to control cancer," was in recognition of the "March of Time" sequence on "Conquering Cancer," and for articles on the subject in *Time*, *Life* and *Fortune*.

The gold medal of the Medical Association of South Africa (affiliated with the British Medical Association), awarded for "meritorious services rendered to the profession," has been given to Dr. William Thomas Frederick Davies, of Natal, president of the South African Medical Council.

At the thirty-third annual meeting of the directors of the National Association of Audubon Societies, held in New York City on October 26, Dr. Robert Cushman Murphy, of the American Museum of Natural History, was elected president, to succeed Kermit Roosevelt. At the annual meeting of the Long Island Biological Association, held at Cold Spring Harbor on Septem-