THE NATURAL SCIENCE MUSEUM OF SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY

THE task of restoring the Natural Science Museum of Syracuse University, which was partially destroyed in the Lyman Hall fire on January 11, is now under way and is expected to be completed by February 1 of next year. The museum is to be rebuilt and enlarged to serve primarily as a museum for instruction, not only for classroom purposes but for the education of the general public.

Although many valuable exhibits were destroyed or damaged in the January fire, much was saved and many additions to the collection have been made since the fire.

Dr. Ernest Reed, head of the plant science department in the university and leader of two South American expeditions, is at the head of the museum board, which is directing the work of rehabilitation. A director will not be selected until the task of restoration is complete.

Other members of the board are Dr. Earl T. Apfel, director of museum programs; Dr. Paul J. Sedgwick, director of the visual education program; Dr. Sidman P. Poole, director of publicity; Dr. Verlus Lindeman, chairman of the membership drive, and E. E. Thompson, university purchasing agent, in charge of maintenance and equipment.

Dr. Reed and W. B. Reid, of Rome, N. Y., who returned in April from the second Syracuse University Andean expedition in South America, have added a comprehensive collection of pottery, artifacts and photographs. Collections from this expedition will be arranged in a separate exhibit.

One of the most complete collections of non-metallic minerals known in science, a collection of several hundred bird skins and mounted birds and several mounted mammals were saved from the fire. The most valuable collection lost was the collection of metallic minerals gathered from mines throughout the world by Dr. Charles H. Richardson over a period of forty years. This collection included several thousand specimens.

FELLOWSHIPS OF THE LALOR FOUNDATION

THE Lalor Foundation has announced a program of five fellowship awards of \$2,500 each which will be granted for the academic year 1938–39. Applications should be in the hands of the secretary, Dr. C. Lalor Burdick, Wilmington, Delaware, by December 31; appointments will be made in February, 1938.

The awards will be for research work in various fields of chemistry and related sciences. They may be used for work anywhere in the United States or abroad. However, as a memorial to the late Dr. Arthur A. Noyes, founder of the Research Laboratory

of Physical Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, one of the awards will be specifically assigned to work at that institution. The trustees have established this series of awards to aid men of established competence working in fields of pure science, thereby laying needed emphasis on scientific endeavor of a fundamental character as distinct from industrial research and research in applied science.

Appointment is open to both men and women residents of the United States. No age limit is prescribed, but the usual range of ages will be between 22 years and 40 years. Men and women in academic service who are on sabbatical leave or other leave of absence are among those eligible for appointment. High intellectual and personal qualifications as well as creative ability and capacity for productive scholarship are essential elements in the appraisal of candidates. Except in unusual cases the minimum requirement for consideration for the award will be the attainment of the Ph.D. degree, or its equivalent, prior to the submission of application.

Five fellowships are being currently administered by the foundation, which was organized in 1935. The activities of the holders of present fellowship awards are in the fields of bioorganic chemistry, cryogenics, immunochemistry, photochemistry and radioactivity, and the institutions at which the researches are being conducted are the California Institute of Technology, the Imperial College of Science and Technology in London, the Johns Hopkins University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the University of California.

The Board of Trustees of the foundation comprises: Dr. Charles Lee Reese, *president*; Hon. John P. Nields, Federal District Judge; Elwyn Evans, executive vicepresident of the Wilmington Trust Company; Dr. C. Lalor Burdick, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, all of Wilmington, Delaware; Mrs. Anna Lalor Burdick, U. S. Office of Education, Washington, D. C.; Henry Allen Moe, secretary of the Guggenheim Foundation, and Dallas S. Townsend, attorney, both of New York City.

THE NATIONAL ADVISORY CANCER COUNCIL

THE appointment has been announced by Dr. Thomas Parran, surgeon-general of the United States, with the approval of the Secretary of the Treasury, of six scientific men as members of the National Advisory Cancer Council. They will direct the activities of the newly established National Cancer Institute, a division of the National Institute of Health of the Public Health Service. Members of the committee are:

Dr. Arthur H. Compton, professor of physics at the University of Chicago.