in the Psychological Laboratory at the University of Cambridge.

Dr. Anderson proposes to work in Germany, the others at centers in the United States. Dr. Rawdon-Smith will hold his fellowship for six months only.

FIRST AWARD OF THE FRANCIS P. GARVAN MEDAL

DR. EMMA P. CARR, head of the department of chemistry at Mt. Holyoke College, was awarded on September 8 the first Francis P. Garvan Gold Medal, established "to honor outstanding women chemists." Of those starred in American Men of Science 4.6 per cent. are women. The award, announced by the American Chemical Society at its ninety-fourth meeting, was given to Dr. Carr in recognition of "her work in physical chemistry, especially on the structure of organic molecules by means of absorption studies in the far ultra-violet portion of the spectrum."

According to the Committee of Award, of which Dean Frank C. Whitmore, of Pennsylvania State College, president-elect of the society, was chairman, Dr. Carr has become an authority in this field of chemistry. She developed at Mt. Holyoke an unusual research technique in which organic chemists, physical chemists and physicists cooperate closely.

Dr. Carr, now in San Francisco, will sail soon for Australia on an educational mission. A paper describing the results of her work and that of her coworkers was read by Professor Mary L. Sherrill, of Mt. Holyoke College, before the Division of Organic Chemistry. The report confirmed the configuration of two different forms of hydrocarbon molecules, the principal constituents of gasoline. By means of absorption spectra, the theory of the structure of the

cis and trans 2-butene isomers, or compounds with an identical number of hydrogen and carbon atoms but different arrangement of atoms around the double bond, was borne out. Dr. Carr has also identified for the first time the pure cis and trans isomers of 2-pentene, a third hydrocarbon molecule. This additional data of a purely scientific nature will aid the petroleum chemist. Dr. Carr's reported researches have dealt with the energy relationships of the hydrocarbon molecules, especially of the double bond, involving the olefins.

Dr. Carr was born in Holmesville, Ohio, in 1880. She began the study of chemistry under Professor William McPherson, of the Ohio State University, continuing at Mt. Holyoke College and at the University of Chicago. From the latter institution she received the degrees of bachelor of science and doctor of philosophy, studying under Dr. Julius Stieglitz.

She became head of the department of chemistry at Mt. Holyoke in 1913 after some years of teaching and research and began her spectrographic work in 1919. She has traveled widely, and has carried on research under A. W. Stewart in Belfast, Ireland, and Victor Henri, of the University of Zurich, Switzerland. Last year she was delegate from the National Research Council to the International Chemistry Union meeting in Lucerne.

The work of Dr. Carr and her associates at Mt. Holyoke has been supported by the National Research Council, which provided a vacuum spectrograph and technical assistance, and by the Rockefeller Foundation, which has granted financial aid for absorption spectra research with unsaturated hydrocarbons. The medal will be formally presented to Dr. Carr at the ninety-fifth meeting of the society at Dallas, Texas, on April 18, 1938.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Simon Flexner, director-emeritus of the laboratories of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, will sail for England on September 25 to take up his work as Eastman visiting professor at the University of Oxford.

Dr. James Rowland Angell, formerly professor of psychology at the University of Chicago and later president of Yale University, recently appointed educational director of the National Broadcasting Company, will leave for Europe early in October. He will make a study of educational broadcasting in England, Belgium, Holland and the Scandinavian countries.

Dr. Louis Martin, director of the Pasteur Institute, has been elected a member of the French Academy of

Sciences to succeed Dr. Jean Charcot, who was drowned when the *Pourquoi Pas?* foundered off the coast of Iceland. Dr. Charcot is succeeded in the French Academy of Medicine by the author Dr. Georges Duhamel.

Presentation of the first German national prizes, established in 1936 as a substitute for the Nobel prizes as part of the protest of the German Government against the award of the Nobel peace prize to Carl von Ossietzky that year, was made on September 7 at a cultural session of the Nazi Party Congress. A prize of \$40,000 was awarded to Dr. Alfred Rosenberg, official philosopher of national socialism; one prize was divided between Professor August Bier, for his work with new methods in surgery, and Professor Ferdinand Sauerbruch, for his work in the sur-