tion attending the Indianapolis meeting will arrange to spend as much time as possible at the exhibition. Furthermore, he would like to be advised of other work that might be incorporated in the exhibition.

F. C. Brown
Director of Exhibits

OFFICERS OF THE SOUTHWESTERN DIVI-SION OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

Officers of the Southwestern Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for the coming year, elected at the business meeting held at Denver last June, are as follows:

President, F. E. E. Germann, department of chemistry, University of Colorado.

Vice-president, E. D. Ball, department of zoology, University of Arizona.

Secretary-Treasurer, V. C. Kiech, department of chemistry, University of New Mexico.

Executive Committee:

- (1938) O. C. Lester, department of physics, University of Colorado.
- (1939) E. F. Carpenter, department of astronomy, University of Arizona.
- (1939) S. A. Northrop, department of geology, University of New Mexico.
- (1940) D. S. Robbins, Las Cruces, New Mexico.
- (1940) F. W. Sparks, department of mathematics, Texas Technological College, Lubbock.

Section Officers

Biological Science Section:

Chairman, R. J. Gilmore, department of biology, Colorado College.

Vice-chairman, D. M. Crooks, department of botany, University of Arizona.

Secretary, R. H. Canfield, Las Cruces, New Mexico.

Mathematics Section (Southwestern Section, Mathematical Association of America):

Chairman, R. F. Graesser, department of mathematics, University of Arizona.

Vice-chairman, R. S. Underwood, department of mathematics, Texas Technological College, Lubbock.

Secretary, W. C. Risselman, department of mathematics, University of California at Los Angeles.

Physical Science Section:

Chairman, W. M. Craig, department of chemistry, Texas Technological College, Lubbock.

Secretary, C. W. Botkin, department of chemistry, New Mexico State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts. Social Science Section:

Chairman, D. D. Brand, department of anthropology, University of New Mexico.

Secretary, W. H. Hill, department of anthropology, University of New Mexico.

The meeting of the division for next year, beginning on April 25, will be held at Albuquerque, New Mexico, with the university as host. Other meeting places scheduled are as follows:

1939, Sul Ross Teachers College and McDonald Observatory, Alpine, Texas.

1940, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.

1941, Texas Technological College, Lubbock, Texas.

RECENT DEATHS AND MEMORIALS

Dr. P. W. Claassen, professor of biology at Cornell University, died on August 16 at the age of fiftyone years.

Dr. Judson Daland, emeritus professor of medicine in the Graduate School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania and president of the Philadelphia Institute of Medical Research, died on August 15 at the age of seventy-seven years.

Dr. Frederick D. Bullock, associate in research of the Crocker Institute for Cancer Research and assistant professor of medicine at Columbia University, died on August 15. He was fifty-eight years old.

Dr. George R. Dean, professor emeritus of mathematics at the School of Mines and Metallurgy at Rolla, Mo., died on August 18 at the age of seventy-two years.

NATHANIEL LYON GARDNER, associate professor of botany, emeritus, and curator of the herbarium, emeritus, at the University of California, died on August 15 at the age of seventy-three years.

The Journal of the American Medical Association calls attention to a jubilee celebration of the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of the birth of Jan Purkinje, the physiologist, which is being arranged in Prague for September under the patronage of Eduard Benes, president of the Republic of Czechoslovakia. Purkinje was born on December 17, 1787, in Libochovice in northwestern Bohemia and studied medicine at Charles University in Prague. After his graduation he was first appointed assistant in anatomy at his alma mater and later became professor of pathology at Breslau, at the age of thirty-three years. At Breslau in 1842 he established what is said to have been the first separate department of physiology in Europe. In 1850 he established a department of physiology at Prague, where he died on July 28, 1869.