One seemed to see the wings extended at an angle upward in a fluttering blur of movement. This was convincing evidence that the wings were not held rigidly at the side, as would be expected in a soaring animal.

EDWARD L. TROXELL

TRINITY COLLEGE, CONN.

SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

THE NEBRASKA ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE forty-seventh annual meeting of the Nebraska Academy of Sciences was held at the University of Nebraska on May 7 and 8, with headquarters at the Lincoln Hotel. The Nebraska Section of the Mathematical Association of America, the Nebraska Council of Geography Teachers, the Nebraska Science Teachers Association and the Nebraska Dietetic Association met jointly with the academy.

The first general session was held on Friday morning and consisted of an address on "Current Trends in Chemical Progress" by Dr. H. G. Deming, professor of chemistry at the University of Nebraska. The second general session followed the banquet on Friday evening and consisted of an illustrated address on "Life and Scenes along the Nile," by Dr. L. E. Melchers, head of the department of botany and plant pathology of the Kansas State College. The banquet was well attended and the past president, Dr. C. J. Shirk, professor of biology at Nebraska Wesleyan University, gave an address on "Factors in the Destiny of Man." Most of the sessions were held at the hotel, and the meeting was unusually successful. The committees responsible for the meeting are to be congratulated on their work.

One hundred and thirty papers were presented at the various sectional meetings in addition to fourteen projects presented at the junior division of the academy.

The following officers were elected: President, Dr. Harry R. James, Hastings College; Vice-president, Dr. A. L. Lugn, University of Nebraska; Councilor for three years, Dr. E. R. Wightman, Doane College; Secretary, M. P. Brunig, University of Nebraska; Treasurer, P. K. Slaymaker, University of Nebraska.

Announcement was made that the 1937 "grant-in-aid" awards had been made to Robert G. Coatney, of Peru, Nebraska, and to Joseph H. Robertson, of the University of Nebraska.

Chairmen of sections for the 1938 meeting will be: Biochemistry and Nutrition, Dr. Walter Militzer; Biology, Professor John M. Moulton; Chemistry, Dr. V. B. Fleharty; Earth Science, E. C. Reade; Nebraska Council of Geography Teachers, Dr. V. Calvon Mc-Kim; History of Science, Dr. T. J. Fitzpatrick; Mathematics, Professor R. M. McDill; Physics, Professor Chris Keim; Social Science, Professor David Dykstra; High School, Paul Jacobs.

M. P. Brunig,
Secretary

THE NEW ORLEANS ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

The New Orleans Academy of Sciences held its eighty-fourth annual meeting at Tulane University on March 19 and 20, with a registered attendance of 193 and a gross attendance at section meetings of approximately 400, plus 200 high-school students at a demonstration lecture by Dr. Raymond Freas, of the Tulane University Department of Chemistry, under the auspices of the Junior Academy Section. Lieutenant-Colonel William F. Tompkins, U. S. district engineer in charge of flood control, 2nd New Orleans District, addressed members and their guests at the annual banquet on "Flood Control in the Lower Mississippi Valley," presenting up-to-the-minute data on the effect of the Bonnet-Carre Spillway in reducing the 1937 flood crest that had passed New Orleans a few days before.

Forty-nine papers were presented at the various sections, distributed as follows: Physics, Engineering, Mathematics, Astronomy and Geology, 11; Chemistry, Biochemistry and Chemical Education, 9; Biological Sciences, 8; Medical Sciences, 5; Social Sciences, 6; Junior Academy Section, 10.

The 1936 and 1937 grants in aid of research received from the American Association for the Advancement of Science were awarded to Dr. Herbert Parkes Riley, department of biology, Sophie Newcomb College, and Dr. Robert W. Virtue, department of biochemistry, Louisiana State University Medical Center, for work in cytology and genetics and in metabolism of sulfur compounds, respectively.

Dean Douglas S. Anderson, who retired last summer from his position as head of the College of Engineering at Tulane and as acting president of the university, was elected to honorary membership in the academy. Ten new active members were elected, and three former associates were elevated to active grade. The total membership of the academy of all classes is now 227.

Dr. Ernest Carroll Faust, of the department of tropical medicine at Tulane, was reelected president for 1937–38, and Dr. D. S. Elliott, of the department of physics at Tulane, was reelected treasurer. Dr. Harold Cummins, of the department of anatomy at Tulane, was elected vice-president, and Mr. E. L. Demmon, of the Southern Forest Experiment Station, secretary.

PHILIP C. WAKELEY,

Acting Secretary