11 and 12. The honorary chairman of the local committee in charge of arrangements is Florus R. Baxter, formerly head of the laboratories of the Vacuum Oil Company; the general chairman is M. H. Eisenhart, of the Bausch and Lomb Optical Company, and the secretary is Dr. Earle M. Billings, of the Eastman Kodak Company.

The society will meet in seventeen divisions. These, with the names and addresses of the secretary of each, are as follows:

Agricultural and Food Chemistry. G. A. Fitzgerald, The Birdseye Laboratories, 3 Commercial St., Boston, Mass.

Biological Chemistry. W. C. Russell, Agricultural Experiment Station, New Brunswick, N. J.

Cellulose Chemistry. W. O. Kenyon, Research Laboratory, Eastman Kodak Co., Rochester, N. Y.

Chemical Education. N. W. Rakestraw, department of chemistry, Brown University, Providence, R. I.

Colloid Chemistry. L. H. Reyerson, Chemistry Bldg., University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minn.

Fertilizer Chemistry. H. C. Moore, P. O. Box 1685, Atlanta, Ga.

Gas and Fuel Chemistry. Alden H. Emery, Room 728, Mills Bldg., Washington, D. C.

History of Chemistry. Mildred W. Grafflin, Chemical Abstracts, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Industrial and Engineering Chemistry. Assistant Secretary, Howard S. Gardner, M. I. T. Station, Eastern Manufacturing Co., Bangor, Maine.

Medicinal Chemistry. W. H. Hartung, School of Pharmacy, University of Maryland, Baltimore, Md.

Microchemical Section. Walter R. Kirner, Coal Research Laboratory, Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh, Pa.

Organic Chemistry. Ralph L. Shriner, Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill.

Paint and Varnish Chemistry. G. G. Sward, 2201 New York Ave., N. W., Washington, D. C.

Petroleum Chemistry. C. R. Wagner, Pure Oil Co., 35 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, Ill.

Physical and Inorganic Chemistry. George Scatchard, Department of Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

Rubber Chemistry. C. W. Christensen, Rubber Service Laboratories Co., 1012 Second National Bldg., Akron, Ohio.

Sugar Chemistry. E. W. Rice, National Sugar Refining Co. of New Jersey, 129 Front St., New York, N. Y.

Water, Sewage and Sanitation Chemistry. C. R Hoover, 8 Pike Place, Middletown, Conn.

The only division that has not planned for a program at Rochester is that of oil and gelatin.

Titles for papers, which should be sent to the secretary of the appropriate division, must be received not later than July 14.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN INSTITUTE OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERS

W. H. Harrison, assistant vice-president of the department of engineering and operation of the American Telephone and Telegraph Company, New York, N. Y., was elected president of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers for the year beginning on August 1, at the annual meeting held in Milwaukee, Wis., during the annual summer convention of the institute. The other officers elected were: Vice-presidents, I. Melville Stein, Philadelphia, Pa.; Edwin D. Wood, Louisville, Ky.; L. N. McClellan, Denver, Colo.; J. P. Jollyman, San Francisco, Calif.; M. J. McHenry, Toronto, Canada. Directors, C. R. Beardsley, Brooklyn, N. Y.; V. Bush, Cambridge, Mass.; F. H. Lane, Chicago, Ill. National Treasurer, W. I. Slichter, New York, N. Y. (reelected).

These officers together with the following hold-over officers will constitute the Board of Directors for the next administrative year, beginning on August 1: A. M. MacCutcheon (retiring president), Cleveland; O. B. Blackwell, New York; L. T. Blaisdell, Dallas, Tex.; F. M. Farmer, New York; N. E. Funk, Philadelphia; H. B. Gear, Chicago, Ill.; C. Francis Harding, Lafayette, Ind.; F. Ellis Johnson, Columbia, Mo.; C. R. Jones, New York; W. B. Kouwenhoven, Baltimore; K. B. McEachron, Pittsfield, Mass.; C. A. Powel, East Pittsburgh; C. E. Rogers, Seattle; R. W. Sorensen, Pasadena; A. C. Stevens, Schenectady; J. B. Whitehead, Baltimore.

The annual report of the Board of Directors, presented at the meeting, showed a total membership on April 30 of 15,308. In addition to two national conventions and two district meetings, 1,984 meetings were held during the year by the local organizations of the institute in the principal cities and educational institutions in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

AWARD OF THE LAMME MEDAL OF THE SOCIETY FOR THE PROMOTION OF ENGINEERING EDUCATION

DEAN FREDERICK E. TURNEAURE, of the College of Engineering of the University of Wisconsin, was awarded the Lamme Medal, bestowed for outstanding accomplishment in the advancement of the art of technical training, at the forty-fifth annual dinner on July 1 of the Society for the Promotion of Engineering Education at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Dean Turneaure received the medal, in the presence of nearly a thousand members of the society, from Dr. E. B. Roberts, chairman of the Committee on the Lamme Medal Award, who announced that Dean Turneaure was chosen as recipient of the tenth Lamme