SOCIETIES AND MEETINGS

THE VIRGINIA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE Virginia Academy of Science held its fifteenth annual meeting at the University of Virginia, on May 6, 7 and 8, with a registration of 376. The public address on Friday night was given by Professor Ernest Orlando Lawrence, of the University of California, under the joint auspices of the academy and the University of Virginia Chapter of the Society of Sigma Xi. The subject of his address was "Atoms, New and Old."

The Academy Prize of \$50.00 was awarded to Professor R. G. Henderson, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute, for a paper entitled "Studies on the Downy Mildew Disease of Tobacco," and the Jefferson Gold Medal was awarded to Dr. William Branch Porter, of the Medical College of Virginia, for a paper entitled "Heart Changes and Physiologic Adjustment in Hookworm Anemia." Honorable mention was also accorded to J. R. Dietrich for a paper entitled "Propagation of Potential in Discharge Tubes" and to R. W. Quarles and A. F. Benton for a paper entitled "Heats of Absorption of Gases on Sodium Fluoride." One hundred and seventy-nine papers were presented in the sectional meetings, 39 being in the Section of Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics, 50 in Biology, 29 in Chemistry, 11 in Education, 25 in Geology, 17 in Medical Sciences and 8 in Psychology. There were also very interesting demonstrations in some of the sections.

The following officers were elected for the coming year:

President: Professor D. Maurice Allan, of Hampden-Sydney College.

Secretary-Treasurer: Dr. E. C. L. Miller, of the Medical College of Virginia.

President-elect: Dr. F. L. Robeson, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute.

Member of the Council: Dr. Robert F. Smart, of the University of Richmond.

The following are the officers of sections for the coming year:

Astronomy, Mathematics and Physics:

Dr. Preston Edwards, of Sweet Briar College, chairman.

Dr. Charles H. Wheeler, III, of the University of Richmond, Secretary.

Biology:

Professor L. L. Hill, of Washington and Lee University, chairman.

Dr. Paul M. Patterson, of Hollins College, sub-chairman for botany.

Dr. W. L. Threlkeld, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute, secretary.

Chemistry:

Dr. M. J. Murray, of Lynchburg College, chairman.

Professor Wm. E. Trout, Jr., of Mary Baldwin College, secretary.

Education:

Dr. A. M. Jarman, of the University of Virginia, chairman.

Dr. C. E. Myers, of the State Board of Education, secretary.

Geology:

Dr. A. A. Pegau, of the University of Virginia, chairman.

Wm. M. McGill, of the Virginia Geological Survey, secretary.

Medicine:

Dr. H. B. Haag, of the Medical College of Virginia, chairman.

Dr. I. D. Wilson, of the Virginia Polytechnic Institute, secretary.

Psychology:

Dr. Helen Peak, of Randolph-Macon Woman's College, chairman.

Dr. R. H. Henneman, of the College of William and Mary, secretary.

Following the meeting there were two field trips, one by the geologists, on Saturday afternoon, and one by the Claytonia Club (botanists) extending over Saturday afternoon and Sunday.

> E. C. L. MILLER, Secretary-Treasurer

THE ALABAMA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

THE fourteenth annual meeting of the Alabama Academy of Science met on the campus of the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, on April 2 and 3, with Dr. Walter B. Jones, state geologist and president of the academy, presiding. This was one of the most successful meetings in the history of the academy, for which 140 members and 60 visitors registered. The meetings were held in the Chemistry and in the new Bureau of Mines Buildings. The Junior Academy, which held its fifth annual meeting at the same time in Smith Hall, was attended by 151 members and visitors, with Dr. James L. Kassner, University, and Mr. Matt J. Lawler, Murphy High School, Mobile, acting as counselors.

Registration began at 8:00 A. M. on Friday. A meeting of the executive committee was held at 10:30; a preliminary business meeting at 11:15, with the final business meeting at 5:15 P. M. The reports of the various committees were given and routine business conducted. A resolution in memoriam for Reverend Bede Knapke, of St. Bernard College, Cullman, who died in January, was read by P. H. Yancey, academy councilor to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The following officers were elected for 1937-1938.