THE FIELD MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY

The annual report of the director of the Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago, for the year 1936 has been published. This is the last report of the late Stephen C. Simms, formerly director, who died on January 28.

The report opens with a statement calling attention to the financial needs of the museum. In 1936, and during several preceding years, the growth and development of the museum has been seriously menaced by decreases in nearly all sources of income. Returns from corporate securities in which endowment funds have been invested, from taxes levied for the maintenance of museums, from paid admissions, from fees paid for museum memberships and contributions received from public-spirited citizens, all have been far below former years and below the needs of the institution. If the museum is to carry on its expeditions, research and dissemination of knowledge and its services to the public of Chicago and the Middle West, increases in revenue must be obtained. Among the larger contributions received during the year were securities valued at \$85,000 from Albert W. Harris, \$74,626 from Marshall Field, of New York, and \$59,-882 from Stanley Field, president of the museum.

The number of visitors during 1936 was 1,191,437, representing a small increase over 1935, when attendance was 1,182,349. Of the total number of visitors, only 68,375, or less than 6 per cent., paid the twenty-five cent admission fee charged on certain days. The others came on free days or belonged to classes such as children, students and teachers, to whom admission is free.

The educational influence of the museum was extended by extra-mural activities directed principally toward reaching school children. One division of the museum, the James Nelson and Anna Louise Raymond Foundation, sent lecturers to 444 school assemblies. Traveling exhibits, circulated among 446 schools and other institutions through the Department of the N. W. Harris Public School Extension, reached approximately 700,000 children in public, parochial and private schools and in community centers. The spring and autumn lecture courses for adults, the Raymond Foundation's free-motion picture programs for children in the James Simpson Theater of the museum and the guide-lecture tours of the exhibits, attracted audiences of 78,711 persons. The library of scientific publications, which is open to the public for reference, was increased to approximately 105,000 volumes. Each of the scientific departments continued to provide collections of study specimens for use as reference material by teachers, students and others.

The report contains detailed accounts of new exhibits, accessions, research and other activities of the departments of anthropology, botany, geology and zoology and the various other divisions of the museum. There is also a complete list of its 4,238 members.

THE MEDAL MEETING OF THE FRANKLIN INSTITUTE

THE medal meeting of the Franklin Institute of Philadelphia will be held on Wednesday afternoon, May 19, at 3:30 p.m. As has already been reported in Science, the Franklin Gold Medal and certificate of honorary membership will be awarded to Dr. Robert A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics and chairman of the Executive Council of the California Institute of Technology, and to Dr. Peter Joseph Wilhelm Debye, director of the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute of Physics, Berlin.

The Franklin Medal is awarded annually from the Franklin Medal Fund, founded on January 1, 1914, by Samuel Insull, "to those workers in physical science or technology, without regard to country, whose efforts, in the opinion of the institute, acting through its Committee on Science and the Arts, have done most to advance a knowledge of physical science or its applications."

The award is made to Dr. Millikan "In recognition of his isolation and measurement of the fundamental unit of electricity, the electron; the photoelectric determination of the fundamental constant of radiation, Planck's constant; the extension of the ultra-violet spectrum by two octaves to join the spectrum of soft x-rays; and the study of the nature and the properties of a very penetrating radiation of cosmic origin."

Dr. Debye will receive the medal "In recognition of his fundamental conception and masterly development of the theory that the molecules of many substances possess permanent dipole moments—a theory of great value in stimulating a vast amount of fruitful research on the electrical properties of insulators; his extension and generalization of Einstein's theory of the specific heats of solids, and his work, in collaboration with Huckel, on a theory of the thermodynamic properties of electrolytic solutions, work upon which the whole modern theory of electrolytes is based."

In addition to the Franklin Medal the following medals will be awarded:

The Longstreth Medals: Emile Monnin Chamot, Ph.D., professor of chemistry, Cornell University; Richard T. Erban, consulting engineer, New York City; John S. Haug, consulting gas engineer, United Engineers and Constructors, Inc., Philadelphia; Harold Sinclair, director, Hydraulic Coupling and Engineering Company, Ltd., England; Herbert L. Whittemore, chief, Engineering Mechanics Section, National Bureau of Standards.