cosis to be carried out in collaboration with Dr. L. U. Gardner, of the Saranac Lake Laboratory.

Professors George H. Parker and F. L. Hisaw, Harvard University, \$300 for the construction of two open sea live-cars (for keeping dogfish) to be used in their studies of color changes and of reproduction in elasmobranch fishes.

Dr. Roberts Rugh, Hunter College, New York City, \$125 for the purchase of materials to be used in a study of the relations and antagonisms of the pituitary and gonad hormones in Amphibia and Mammals.

Curtis W. Sabrosky, Michigan State College, East Lansing, \$300 in partial support of a visit to certain European museums as a basis of study preparatory to the writing, not for academic credit, of a monograph on the dipterous family Chloropidae.

Dr. A. W. Sellards, Harvard Medical School, a sum not to exceed \$325 for the purpose of having two colored plates (blocks) made to illustrate a paper on the histopathology of murine leprosy.

Dr. T. E. Sterne, Harvard College Observatory, \$300 to aid in building highly sensitive thermocouples for measuring thermal radiation of stars.

Inquiries and applications for grants should be addressed to the chairman of the Permanent Science Fund Committee, Professor John W. M. Bunker, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.

OFFICERS AND MEMBERS ELECTED BY THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, held in Washington on April 26, 27 and 28, under the presidency of Dr. Frank R. Lillie, of the University of Chicago, Dr. Arthur L. Day, of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, was reelected vice-president for a further term of four years, Dr. H. S. Jennings, Henry Walters professor of zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, was reelected a member of the council, and Dr. Oswald Veblen, professor in the school of mathematics of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton, was elected to succeed Dr. Roger

Adams, head of the department of chemistry at the University of Illinois.

Dr. August Krogh, professor of zoophysiology in the University of Copenhagen, was elected a foreign associate.

Members of the academy were elected as follows:

Section of Mathematics:

John von Neumann, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton.

Section of Astronomy:

Seth Barnes Nicholson, Mount Wilson Observatory, Pasadena; Otto Struve, Yerkes Observatory, Williams Bay, Wis.

Section of Physics:

Arthur Jeffery Dempster, University of Chicago.

Section of Engineering:

Oliver Ellsworth Buckley, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York City.

Section of Chemistry:

Duncan Arthur MacInnes, Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

Section of Geology and Paleontology:

Donnel Foster Hewett, U. S. Geological Survey.

Section of Botany:

Charles Thom, U. S. Department of Agriculture.

Section of Zoology and Anatomy:

Francis Bertody Sumner, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, La Jolla; Carl Gottfried Hartman, department of embryology, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Baltimore; Calvin Blackman Bridges, California Institute of Technology.

Section of Pathology and Bacteriology:

Leo Loeb, Washington University, St. Louis; Ernest William Goodpasture, Vanderbilt University; George Richards Minot, Boston City Hospital.

Section of Anthropology and Psychology:

Edward Chace Tolman, University of California, Berkeley.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The Royal Society of Canada has awarded the Flavelle Medal to Dr. Frank Dawson Adams, dean emeritus of the faculty of applied science at McGill University. The award is made in recognition of his researches in geology, particularly those concerned with the ancient metamorphic rocks of Canada and the flow of rocks under pressure.

Dr. Armin O. Leuschner, director of the Students' Observatory and chairman of the department of astronomy at the University of California, received the

honorary membership of the Rittenhouse Astronomical Society of Philadelphia at a special meeting held at the Franklin Institute on April 22. This was "in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the study of asteroids, comets and satellites." Following the ceremony Dr. Leuschner addressed the society on "The Long Range Prediction of the Motion of the Minor Planets."

AT the recent convention in Philadelphia of the Electrochemical Society, the Acheson Medal and Prize