tion will amount to \$300,000, so that it will be possible to make awards of at least 15 fellowships each year for a period of ten years.

A meeting of the Board of Directors will be called soon to formulate announcements in regard to applications and awards and to make such regulations as may be thought necessary to initiate the work of the foundation.

Members of the board of scientific directors are: Dr. Philip Bard, Dr. Curtis F. Burnam, Dr. John M. T. Finney, Dr. William A. Fisher, Dr. Wade Hampton Frost, Dr. William H. Howell and Dr. Warren Lewis, of Baltimore; Dr. Evarts A. Graham, of St. Louis; Professor E. L. Kenneway, of London; Dr. Jonathan C. Meakins, of Montreal, and Dr. Florence Sabin, of New York. The financial directors of the foundation are: Jesse N. Bowen, Frederick G. Boyce, Jr., and Lee E. Daly, all of Baltimore.

THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

At the annual meeting of the American Philosophical Society, held at Philadelphia on April 22, 23 and 24, the following members were elected:

Class I—Mathematical and Physical Sciences: Eric Temple Bell, Pasadena, Calif.; Vannevar Bush, Belmont, Mass.; James Franck, Baltimore; Ernest Orlando Lawrence, Berkeley; Charles Edward Kenneth Mees, Rochester, N. Y.; Otto Struve, Williams Bay, Wis. Foreign Nominee: Werner Heisenberg, Leipzig.

Class II—Geological and Biological Sciences: Thomas Barbour, Cambridge; Henry Bryant Bigelow, Cambridge; Herbert Spencer Gasser, New York; Ralph Stayner Lillie, Chicago; William Pepper, Philadelphia; Alfred Marston Tozzer, Cambridge; Hans Zinsser, Boston. Foreign Nominees: Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins, Cambridge; Hans Spemann, Freiburg.

Class III—Social Sciences: Herbert Eugene Bolton, Berkeley; Edmund Ezra Day, New York; Herbert Funk Goodrich, Philadelphia; Nathan W. Hayward, Philadelphia; Samuel Eliot Morison, Boston; George W. Norris, Philadelphia. Foreign Nominees: William E. Rappard, Geneva; Charles Rist, Paris; Harold William Vazeille Temperley, Cambridge.

Class IV—Humanities: William Scott Ferguson, Cambridge; Robert Frost, S. Shaftsbury, Vt.; Herbert Putnam, Washington, D. C.; Edward Sapir, New Haven; Preserved Smith, Ithaca, N. Y.; John S. P. Tatlock, Berkeley. Foreign Nominees: Charles Marie Joseph Bédier, Paris; Sir Frederic George Kenyon, London.

Officers reelected were: President, Roland S. Morris; Vice-presidents, Edwin G. Conklin, Robert A. Millikan and Henry H. Donaldson; Secretaries, John A. Miller and William E. Lingelbach; Curator, Albert P. Brubaker; Treasurer, Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Company; Executive officer, Edwin G. Conklin. Luther P. Eisenhart, Alfred N. Richards, John M. Scott and Edward Capps were elected members of the council.

RECENT DEATHS

Dr. LeRoy Wiley McCay, from 1892 to 1928, when he retired with the title emeritus, professor of chemistry at Princeton University, died on April 13. He was seventy-nine years old.

Dr. Robert Heywood Fernald, director of the department of mechanical engineering and dean of the Towne Scientific School at the University of Pennsylvania, died on April 24 at the age of sixty-six years.

Dr. O. P. Hood, who retired last June as chief of the technological branch of the Bureau of Mines, died on April 22. He was seventy-one years old.

Dr. Harry L. Hall, from 1925 to 1929 assistant professor of physiology at the Emory University School of Medicine, died on April 22 at the age of sixty-four years.

CHARLES T. AMES, for thirty-one years director of the Holly Springs, Miss., Experiment Station, died suddenly on April 18.

THE death at the age of seventy-three years is announced of Professor Paul Janet, director of the School of Electricity, Paris, formerly professor of physics in the University of Paris.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

On the occasion of the celebration of Founders' Day on June 1 at the University of Manchester, the honorary degree of doctor of science will be conferred on Sir Henry Dale, Nobel Laureate, director of the National Institute for Medical Research, Hampstead. As previously announced, Sir Henry will address the Academy of Medicine of Washington, D. C., on May 8 and will give the eighth Harvey lecture of the current series at the New York Academy of Medicine on May 20. He will speak on the chemical transmission of the nerve impulse from nerve to muscle.

Dr. Walter E. Garrey, professor of physiology at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, was elected president of the American Physiological Society at the recent meeting at Memphis.

Officers of the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics have been elected as follows: *President*, Professor A. L. Tatum, the University of Wisconsin; *Vice-president*, Professor E. M. K. Geiling, the University of Chicago; *Secretary*, Dr. G. Philip Grabfield, Harvard Medical School; *Trea*-