APRIL 23, 1937

THE MEETING OF THE AMERICAN ELEC-TROCHEMICAL SOCIETY AT PHILADELPHIA

THE seventy-first meeting of the American Electrochemical Society will be held at the Hotel Benjamin Franklin, Philadelphia, on April 28, 29 and 30.

One of the main sessions will be devoted to the electrochemical phenomena which have been observed in living cells. Among those who will participate in the discussion are: Professor A. H. Abramson, of Columbia University; Messrs. W. J. V. Osterhout, L. Michaelis, D. A. MacInnes and L. G. Longsworth, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, and Professor E. J. Cohn, of the Harvard Medical School.

Speakers at a session on the problems of industrial catalysis will be: P. K. Frolich, of the Standard Oil Development Company; V. N. Ipatieff, of the Universal Oil Products Company; A. T. Larson, of the du Pont Company; H. S. Taylor, of Princeton University, and Messrs. P. H. Emmett and S. Brunauer, of the U. S. Department of Agriculture.

There will be also technical sessions on electrode phenomena in aqueous solutions and on organic electrochemistry.

On Thursday evening Dr. Detlev W. Bronk, since 1929 Johnson professor of biophysics at the University of Pennsylvania, will give an address on "Electrical Methods in the Study of Nerve and Muscle." The retiring president, Dr. Duncan A. MacInnes, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, will deliver his address, entitled "The Contribution of Willard Gibbs to Electrochemistry," on Friday evening. At the luncheon on Saturday Dr. H. C. Rentschler, of the Westinghouse Lamp Company, will give an address entitled "Photo Cells."

Friday morning will be devoted to visits to industrial firms, including the Edward G. Budd Manufacturing Company and the Leeds and Northrup Company, followed by a luncheon given by the latter company.

THE RESEARCH FOUNDATION OF THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

IN SCIENCE for November 27 an account is given of the organization of the Ohio State University Research Foundation. The corporation is not for profit and none of the officers of the corporation nor of its members receive remuneration in any form. Its object is to bring about a closer cooperation between the university and industry, particularly in making the laboratory and research facilities of the university of greater helpfulness in solving the problems of industry.

Officers elected to initiate the foundation are: George W. Rightmire, *president*; Carl E. Steeb, *treasurer*;

Hurlbut S. Jacoby, secretary and director. All officers are on the university staff, Dr. Rightmire being president, Mr. Steeb, business manager, and Mr. Jacoby, director of industrial research. The directors are: Charles E. MacQuigg, New York City; Thomas Midgely, Jr., Detroit; Charles F. Kettering, Detroit; J. L. Morrill, Columbus; Harry A. Toulmin, Jr., Dayton; Arno C. Fieldner, Washington, D. C.; Charles F. Michael, Bucyrus; E. E. Ware, Cleveland; James F. Lincoln, Cleveland; Harry A. Caton, Coshocton, and Julius F. Stone, Mr. Rightmire, W. W. Charters, John F. Cunningham and William McPherson, Columbus.

The foundation has a membership of fifty-five, including ten councilors as follows: from national industries, ten Ohio State alumni members, ten councilors from Ohio industries, members of the university board of trustees, deans of the various Ohio state colleges, directors of campus research bureaus and the director of the Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station at Wooster.

National councilors are: Willard Chevalier, McGraw-Hill Publishing Co., New York; L. W. Chubb, Westinghouse and Manufacturing Co., East Pittsburgh; Saul Dushman, General Electric Co., Schenectady; Harvey Fletcher, Bell Telephone Laboratories, New York; C. F. Hirshfeld, Detroit Edison Co., Detroit; C. F. Kettering, General Motors Corporation, Detroit; Henry G. Knight, Bureau of Chemistry and Soils, Washington, D. C.; C. E. MacQuigg, National Carbide and Carbon Corporation, New York; Thomas Midgely, Jr., Ethyl Gasoline Corporation, Detroit; Robert B. Sosman, U. S. Steel Corporation, Kearny, N. J.

Industrial councilors are: R. K. Brodie, Procter and Gamble Co., Ivorydale; Harvey Firestone, Jr., Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., Akron; William V. Fisher, Hocking Glass Company, Lancaster; W. J. Harshaw, Harshaw Chemical Co., Cleveland; W. T. Holliday, Standard Oil Co. of Ohio, Cleveland; Charles R. Hook, American Rolling Mills Co., Middletown; J. F. Lincoln, Lincoln Electric Co., Cleveland; Charles F. Michael, Ohio Locomotive Crane Co., Bucyrus; Alexander Thomson, Champion Paper and Fibre Co., Hamilton; E. E. Ware, Sherwin-Williams Co., Cleveland.

Alumni members of the foundation are: Firman E. Bear, American Cyanamid Co., New York; D. J. Brumley, American Railway Engineering Association, Chicago; H. R. Drackett, Drackett Co., Cincinnati; A. C. Fieldner, U. S. Bureau of Mines, Washington, D. C.; William N. King, New York Central Railroad, Cleveland; Roy D. McClure, Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit; J. L. Morrill, Ohio State University, Columbus; F. H. Riddle, Champion Spark Plug Company, Detroit; G. F. Schlesinger, National Paving Brick Association, Washington, D. C.; H. A. Toulmin, Jr., Toulmin and Toulmin, attorneys, Dayton.