May 6: "The Eclipse Expedition Weighs Anchor." Entire program from deck of U.S.S. Avocet at Honolulu. Dr. Gilbert Grosvenor, president of the National Geographic Society; Governor Poindexter, of Hawaii; Admiral Orin G. Murfin, commandant, Navy Yard, Pearl Harbor, and Dr. S. A. Mitchell. Appropriate Hawaiian music as background.

May 10: "At Sea with the Eclipse Expedition." Midocean auditions from the U.S.S. Avocet. Members of the expedition personnel and ship's crew—preparations for "Crossing the Line."

May 16: "The Eclipse Expedition Arrives in the South Seas and Chooses Its Island." The broadcast will be direct from the island and will include general description of the landing of the expedition.

May 22: "The Eclipse Expedition at Home in the South Seas." Academic discussion by the scientific personnel and general discussion and interesting sidelights by the non-scientific personnel.

May 25: "News from Home" and "Entertainment for the Eclipse Exiles." The program opens in New York with music (seven minutes) and press radio news (five minutes). It then shifts to Washington, where eight minutes will be devoted to messages to the expedition from the National Geographic Society and to personal messages to individuals. The program will then return to New York for ten minutes of music and variety.

May 30: "The Eclipse Expedition Celebrates Decoration Day in the South Seas." Reporting news items from the expedition, interesting observations and personal messages from individual members.

June 1: Duplicate of Broadcast of May 25.

June 7: "Dress Rehearsal for the Eclipse." Roll call and a quick report from each member as to his final preparations.

June 8: Preliminary to the main program (which will follow several hours later) primarily for the purpose of establishing contact channels for the principal broadcast. Announcer George Hicks will make a general commentary, discuss the weather, etc.

June 8: "Description of the Total Eclipse of the Sun from the Area of Totality in the South Seas." Announcer George Hicks and members of the scientific staff.

June 8: "What the Eclipse Expedition Saw." Ten minutes devoted to a brief report to the National Geographic Society by Dr. S. A. Mitchell and his scientific staff, following which the program shifts to Washington, where National Geographic Society officials reply for five minutes.

APPOINTMENTS AND PROMOTIONS AT THE MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

PROMOTIONS and new appointments have been made at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology as follows:

Members of the faculty promoted to the rank of full professor are: Professors Ralph D. Bennett and Edward L. Bowles, department of electrical engineering; Karl D. Fernstrom, department of business and engineering administration; Philip Franklin, department of mathematics; Murray P. Horwood, department of biology and public health; George Scatchard, department of chemistry, and Edward R. Schwarz, department of mechanical engineering.

Promoted from assistant professorships to associate professor are: Edward S. Taylor and Arthur L. Townsend, department of mechanical engineering; Raymond D. Douglass, department of mathematics; Bernard E. Proctor, department of biology and public health; John B. Wilbur, department of civil and sanitary engineering; Murray F. Gardner, Richard H. Frazier and Parry H. Moon, department of electrical engineering, and John Wulff, Wayne B. Nottingham and Nathaniel H. Frank, department of physics.

Members of the staff promoted to the rank of assistant professor are: Herbert C. Moore and Charles W. MacGregor, department of mechanical engineering; Ernest N. Gelotte, department of architecture; Robert S. Harris, department of biology and public health; Ronald H. Robnett, department of business and engineering administration; George G. Marvin and Edmund L. Gamble, department of chemistry; Arthur C. Ruge, department of civil and sanitary engineering; William M. Hall, department of electrical engineering; Paul C. Eaton, department of English; Robert H. Cameron, department of mathematics, and Morris Cohen, department of mining and metallurgy.

Promoted to the rank of instructor are: Archibald Williams, business and engineering administration; George A. Akin, chemical engineering; Edward R. Livernash, department of economics and social science; Henry E. Kiley, Leopold R. Michel, Blake Mills and Roger L. Putney, department of mechanical engineering, and Reinhardt Schuhmann, Jr., department of mining and metallurgy.

New appointments include: H. W. Fairburn as assistant professor of geology; Niels H. Larsen, instructor in architecture; Robert V. Lukes, instructor in chemical engineering; Alberto F. Thompson, Jr., instructor in chemistry, and James G. Baker, assistant director of the School of Chemical Engineering Practice.

GRANTS AWARDED BY THE AMERICAN PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY

THE committee on research of the American Philosophical Society, at meetings held on December 11 and February 12, made grants as follows:

Ralph A. Beebe, Amherst College, for the direct measurement of heats of adsorption at low temperatures and the measurement of rates of adsorption under accurately controlled pressures of gas 1,000