Papers on high-speed vulcanizing to step up the production rate of rubber-insulated wire, tests of the efficiency of various types of rubber as vibration absorbers and a new type of hammer test for the elasticity of soft rubbers will be presented to the Rubber Division. The behavior of emulsions and the surface tensions of various liquids and their effect on each other will be among the subjects taken up at the meetings of the colloid division.

Other fields to be covered in divisional sessions through symposia and general papers are chemical education, gas and fuel developments, industrial and engineering progress, organic chemistry and water, sewage and sanitation chemistry.

Dr. Frank K. Cameron, professor of chemistry at the University of North Carolina, has been designated honorary chairman of a local committee to make arrangements for the convention. The general chairman is R. M. Grumman, of the university, and E. C. Markham will act as secretary-treasurer. Other committee members are: Housing, J. S. Bennett; meeting rooms, H. D. Crockford; registration and information, G. M. Hill; group dinners and luncheons, Haywood Duke; transportation, Herman Schnell; entertainment, Harry Comer; plant visits and sightseeing trips, J. Maryon Saunders; publicity, R. W. Madry; golf and tennis, R. B. Lawson; safety, P. L. Burch; women's activities, Mrs. Edward Mack, Jr.; women chemists, Miss Frances Brown.

THE JOHN SCOTT AWARDS

As has been already recorded in SCIENCE, Dr. W. D. Coolidge and Dr. Irving Langmuir, director and associate director, respectively, of the Research Laboratory of the General Electric Company in Schenectady, and Dr. Evarts A. Graham, of the School of Medicine of Washington University in St. Louis, were recipients of the John Scott 1937 awards granted by the City Trusts of the City of Philadelphia at a dinner of the American Philosophical Society on March 5. With each award went a certificate, a copper medal and \$1,000 in cash. The award to Dr. Coolidge was based on his application of a new principle in x-ray tubes; to Dr. Langmuir for his physical and chemical discoveries resulting in improved gas-filled incandescent lamps, and to Dr. Graham for his application of the x-ray to the study and diagnosis of gall bladder conditions.

In making the presentations, Ernest T. Trigg, chairman of the Board of City Trusts, explained that history had made but scant recordings of John Scott, the donor of the fund, and his reason for bequeathing to the City of Philadelphia in 1816 the sum of \$4,000, the income from which was to be "laid ont in premiums to be distributed among ingenious men and women who make useful inventions." It was originally stipulated that no award was to carry a cash premium of more than \$20 and the medal was to be inscribed "To the most deserving."

John Scott was a chemist in Edinburgh, Scotland, and why he chose Philadelphia for his grant is a mystery. It is thought his attention had been drawn to the city either through the American Philosophical Society or his admiration of Benjamin Franklin, whom he may have met when Franklin visited Scotland in 1769. When the fund was taken over by the newly created Board of City Trusts, the principal had grown to \$21,000, and in 1917, or 100 years after the original grant, it amounted to \$100,000. At this time the board appealed to the courts and received permission to increase the amount of the awards to a maximum value of \$2,000, but none has been for any amount greater than \$1,000.

In the period between 1920 and 1937, inclusive, 73 awards have been made to scientific men and inventors in all parts of the world, including Japan, Holland, England, France, Italy and South America. Among the recipients have been Madame Curie, Reginald A. Fessenden, Orville Wright, Lee de Forest, Thomas A. Edison, Guglielmo Marconi, Samuel M. Vauclain, W. L. R. Emmet, Nikola Tesla, Charles F. Kettering and Edward G. Budd.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. SIMON FLEXNER, director emeritus of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, New York, was elected a foreign associate of the Academy of Sciences, Institute of France, at a meeting held in Paris on February 22. He succeeds the late Emanuele Paterno, Marquis di Sessa, of Palermo, Sicily.

DR. CARL G. HARTMAN, of the department of embryology of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, has been elected to membership in the International Institute of Embryology at Utreeht. DR. REUBEN L. KAHN, since 1928 director of laboratories, University Hospital, and assistant professor of bacteriology at the University of Michigan Medical School, was recently presented with a gold medal by the Phi Lambda Kappa fraternity for his research work in tissue immunity. The presentation took place at the annual meeting of the fraternity in Detroit.

THE 1936 Manly Memorial Medal recently awarded to Raymond W. Young, assistant engineer of the Wright Aeronautical Corporation, Paterson, N. J.,