May 4, Dr. R. A. Gortner, chief of the Division of Agricultural Biochemistry at the University of Minnesota, "Recent Advances in Chemistry in Relation to Agriculture."

Speakers each year will be chosen by a Foster Lecture Committee composed of five members appointed by the chancellor. Members of the committee, who have just been appointed, are as follows: Dr. Groves H. Cartledge, head of the department of chemistry at the university, *chairman*; Dr. Harold G. Hewitt, assistant professor of chemistry; Dr. David F. Smith, professor of chemistry; Dr. Wilson D. Langley, associate professor of bio-chemistry; Dr. Preston Hoff, manager of chemical research at the du Pont-Rayon Research Laboratories in Buffalo.

## THE INSTALLATION OF A CHAPTER OF SIGMA XI AT THE GEORGE WASH-INGTON UNIVERSITY

At the winter convocation of the George Washington University on February 22 a chapter of the Sigma Xi was installed. Dr. Edward Ellery and Dr. G. B. Pegram, who are national officers of Sigma Xi, conducted the exercises. Dr. Paul Bartsch, president of the petitioning group at the George Washington University, read the petition. Dr. Ellery presented the charter of the new chapter to its secretary, Dr. Paul Bowman, assistant professor of biology in the university. Dr. Pegram delivered the charge to the new chapter.

Forty-three members of the university faculty who were members of Sigma Xi chapters at universities where they took their degrees, and who formed the petitioning group, are charter members of the chapter. Fifty members have been elected. Delegates representing thirty-one chapters of the Society of the Sigma Xi in colleges and universities throughout the country were present at the convocation. Three hundred and fifteen students were graduated from the various colleges and schools of the university. The convocation address was delivered by Dr. William Alanson White, professor of psychiatry at the George Washington University and superintendent of St. Elizabeth's Hospital. He spoke on "The Function of Education as Viewed from the Standpoint of the Present World Crisis."

At the ceremonies honorary degrees were conferred, President Marvin reading the following citations:

## DOCTORATES OF SCIENCE

CHARLES GREELEY ABBOT: Persistent and courageous investigator in the field of astrophysics, in whom scientific thinking and religious reflections are not separated; secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

PAUL BARTSCH: Eager scientist; teacher; quick to appreciate human values; who, for years, has devotedly served in the George Washington University.

WILLIAM BOWIE: Graduate of Trinity College (Connecticut); cheerful colleague and tried friend of those who seek for truth; to whom long experience in scientific endeavor has brought recognized leadership.

LYMAN JAMES BRIGGS: Sincere scholar and worthy public servant, in whom firmness of conviction and tolerance toward the beliefs of others go hand in hand; chosen to direct the Bureau of Standards.

GEORGE BRAXTON PEGRAM: Son of the South; well known investigator and expounder of physical sciences; worthy servant of Columbia University; acting-president of the Society of the Sigma Xi.

## DOCTORATES OF LAWS

EDWARD ELLERY: Teacher, administrator and man of science, skillful in encouraging scientific endeavor, general secretary of the Society of Sigma Xi.

JOHN CAMPBELL MERRIAM: Master in the field of paleontology, painstaking leader in scientific investigation, philosopher and man of letters; devoted to the principles of natural law and fully cognizant of their application in the life of to-day; president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

WILLIAM ALANSON WHITE: Productive scholar, devoted teacher, enlightened executive, able to make knowledge a saving power in the lives of men; to know him is to desire his friendship.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. EJNAR HERTZPRUNG, director of the University Observatory at Leiden, has been awarded the Catharine Wolfe Bruce Gold Medal for 1937 of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific. He has also been appointed to the newly established Alexander F. Morrison memorial research associateship in the Lick Observatory.

DR. SELMAN A. WAKSMAN, professor of soil microbiology at Rutgers University, has been elected a corresponding member of the Academy of Sciences, Institute of France. He fills the place in the section of rural economy vacant by the death of Sir Arnold Theiler. DR. A. N. WINCHELL, professor of mineralogy and petrology at the University of Wisconsin, and Dr. Douglas Johnson, professor of physiography at Columbia University, have been elected corresponding members of the Geological Society of China, Nanking.

DR. WILLIAM BERRYMAN SCOTT, professor of geology, emeritus, at Princeton University, celebrated his seventy-ninth birthday on February 12.

DR. HOWARD A. KELLY, professor of gynecology, emeritus, at the Johns Hopkins University, the only surviving member of the group that was instrumental